Sweet Style Noodles, the sixth!

Sweet-Style Pancit Canton (Sweet Style Noodles) 

I’ve been experimenting on Canton Noodles for a long time. If I am not mistaken, this is my sixth attempt. Finally, I got it right – the right texture of the noodles and the sweet taste I was looking for. The first five did not turned out well. It’s either the noodles are so soft or the noodles are not fully cooked. And in other case, I did not like the sauce or I think the seasoning or the ingredients I used, I really can’t remember. Then one day, I really had this bad craving. I checked my pantry for available seasoning or sauce and I found a sweet soy sauce and oyster sauce. So, I went to the grocery to buy noodles and the veggies I need. I told myself, I will try again… I have to.

Pansit Canton

Ingredients:

227g/8oz canton noodles (I used UFC Canton Noodles)
500g frozen cooked shrimp
1 cup carrot, julienned
2 cups cabbage, shredded
½ cup green beans
½ cup sliced red bellpepper
¾ cup oyster sauce
1 tbsp. sweet soy sauce
Salt, to taste
Onion & garlic, chopped
Cooking oil
Hot water

Instructions:

1) Put the noodles in a strainer and pour hot water (or in a bowl, pour hot water and remove the water). You just want to soften your noodles. Set aside.

2) In a wok, sauté garlic and onion in oil.

3) Add shrimp and cover for two minutes.

4) Add veggies. Add oyster sauce, sweet soy sauce and salt. Cover.

5) When veggies are ready, add the noodles and mix until you reached the desired texture, about a minute.

6) Remove the excess/unwanted liquid.

7) Drizzle some sesame oil, if desired. Serve.

Note: If you want your noodles to have a little liquid, don’t remove all and save some. My father wants his noodles with a little liquid in it. 

****

Related Articles:
Pancit Bihon Recipe (http://jojo922.wordpress.com)
Pancit (http://rubyzkitchen.wordpress.com)
Kitchen Diaries: Pancit (http://ashleyadores.com)
2 thoughts on “Sweet Style Noodles, the sixth!

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

