Beef and Broccoli

When I go to a Chinese fast-food or restaurant, Beef and Broccoli is one of my orders. I usually order Orange Chicken or Sweet and Sour Chicken, Beef and Broccoli and fried rice – same order every time. One day when I was listing what food to cook during the month, I included Beef and Broccoli on my list. The problem is I don’t want any oyster sauce in it. I don’t know… maybe I just need a new recipe to try. I have one, but my printed compilation of recipes was out of my reach. I was in front of a computer so I searched through the internet. It took me a while to find a recipe coz I was looking for something “perfect”. I don’t know how I will know it without even tasting it. Out of the many recipes I found, I chose the one from Filipino Food Lovers. I just made a bit of changes but you can always check the source.

thenotsocreativecook-wordpress-com-beefbroccoli

 

 

Beef and Broccoli

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 500g beef sirloin, thinly sliced across the grain
  • 250g broccoli florets, washed and drained
  • 1 carrot, julienned
  • 1 thumb size ginger, julienned
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp dry chili flakes
  • Cooking oil, for stir frying

For the marinade:

  • 6 tbsp soy sauce (I used the Silver Swan brand)
  • 1 tbsp white sugar
  • ½ tbsp. salt

For the sauce:

  • 3 tbsp cornstarch
  • 3 tbsp soy sauce (I used the Silver Swan brand)
  • ¾ cup beef broth or water (or ½ cup beef cubes dissolved in ¾ cup water)
  • 1 tbsp white sugar
  • 3 tbsp sesame oil

Instructions

  1. In a container or ziplock bag, mix together soy sauce, sugar, salt, and the beef. Let it sit inside the fridge for at least 30 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, make the sauce while the beef is marinating. In a bowl, dissolve the cornstarch in soy sauce, then add beef broth (or water or ½ cup beef cubes dissolved in ¾ cup water), sugar and sesame oil.
  3. When everything is ready: Heat the wok in high heat, then add oil. Stir fry beef in batches (if necessary) until no longer pink. Remove the beef from the wok and place in a container.
  4. Using the same pan with medium-high heat, add garlic, ginger and dry chili flakes. Cook for few seconds. Add beef with its juices and cook until tender.
  5. Add broccoli and carrots, and let simmer for one minute.
  6. Increase heat to high, add 1/2 cup beef broth or water, cover, and let it simmer for another minute.
  7. Add the sauce and cook until thick.
  8. Serve with white rice.

Source recipe: Beef and Broccoli by Filipino Food Lovers

I was right in choosing this recipe. For me, this is a perfect Beef and Broccoli recipe and became one of my favorites. Thanks to Filipino Food Lovers for sharing.

6 thoughts on “Beef and Broccoli

  1. I love this dish! I have to admit, though, that I never had it in a restaurant, a friend made it for me and I have been following her instructions since. It’s very similar but she didn’t thicken the sauce. I just love the combination of flavours!

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

