Egg Sandwich Spread

A childhood favorite…

thenotsocreativecook.wordpress.com-EggSandwichSpread

My mom used to make the best ever Egg Sandwich Spread. She used to put about two cups (500 ml) of spread in a separate food containers. If I remember it correctly, she would put it in five separate food containers. Of course, one is only for me and the others can share on the remaining. 😀 I enjoy the sandwich spread so much that I even eat it without bread. It was like I was eating a dessert, like some kind of ice cream. I always take a peek at the spread inside the fridge… get a spoon and eat a spoonful of it. I do the same thing until I finish mine and take from other’s share. 🙂

Image

I am sharing you now the recipe I got from my mom.

Egg Sandwich Spread Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 4 hard-boiled eggs
  • ½ cup cheese, grated or chopped
  • ½ cup crushed pineapple, reserve syrup
  • ½ cup mayonnaise
  • ¼ cup red bell pepper or pimiento
  • 3 tbsp commercialized sandwich spread (the one with pickles)*
  • 3 tbsp condensed milk
  • 1 tbsp pineapple syrup

Instructions:

  1. Crush the hard-boiled eggs using a fork.
  2. Add cheese, crushed pineapple, red bell pepper (or pimiento).
  3. Add mayonnaise, sandwich spread, pineapple syrup and condensed milk.
  4. Give it a good mix. Chill for at least an hour.
  5. Spread on your favorite bread.

thenotsocreativecook.wordpress.com-EggSandwich

I’d love to serve mine on a bread with lettuce and slice of cucumbers. I don’t mind if the bread is toasted or not.

Note: *If commercialized sandwich spread is not available, you can replace it with pickle relish. I haven’t tried it but let me know if you’ll give it a shot. I used Lady’s Choice Sandwich Spread. If you cannot find one, you can add more mayo and some pickle relish. It will be just perfect.

I added some Red Bell Pepper (Sweet Pepper) to my mom’s original recipe to make it yummier. And let me tell you, I still do the take-a-peek thing until now. 😀

So, what is the difference between bell peppers, capsicum and pimiento?

According to my friend, Google, bell peppers and capsicum are the same. Some countries call it bell pepper or sweet pepper and some call it capsicum. Pimiento, on the other hand, is a cherry pepper and more aromatic than bell peppers according to Wiki. So, that is why some of the sandwich spreads uses pimiento instead of bell peppers. In addition to that, pimiento is more appealing to the ears when it comes to sandwich spread names. 🙂

20 thoughts on “Egg Sandwich Spread

  1. Awesome tips 🙂 I love this product so much, that I share this with my family and friends.. With a simple touch of your recipe spread the flavor explodes, so amazing feeling while relaxing at the same time.. That I always order this online at https://www.goods.ph with their awesome delivery service, it made possible.. I love to thank the blogger for sharing this amazing recipe for completing mg daily breakfast..

  2. Greate pieces. Keep writing such kind of info on your blog.
    Im really impressed by your blog.
    Hey there, You’ve done a fantastic job. I’ll certainly digg it and individually recommend to my friends.
    I’m sure they will be benefited from this website.

    1. This can be an egg salad if you slice the ingredients in bigger ‘sizes’. But you know what? I eat this spread alone – YES! Like a salad. 😀
      Thank you for stopping by. Have a lovely day to you. 🙂

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

