Jamaican Banana Fritters

I am happy that the first two days of Ramadan is going smooth. To be specific with “going smooth” I meant I don’t overeat when it’s time to break the fast. For the past years of performing Ramadan, I always think about food during the day – what to cook and eat – and I eat more than I can handle.  So, I always gain weight during this month. Hopefully this month, I will not. And this control I have will stay with me up to the end.

Today, I am going to share with you one of the recipes I’ve tried during Ramadan. It’s been a year now since the last time I’ve made this and that was my first attempt, too. I wanted to make this again but I always end up baking Banana Muffins. 😀 But one day was my lucky day because I was not craving for a Banana Muffins and I just missed these yummies so badly… So, I had to make them for the second time. 🙂

thenotsocreativecook.wordpress.com-JamaicanBananaFritters

Jamaican Banana Fritters

Ingredients: 

  • 3 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/4, you may need more up to 1/2 cup
  • brown sugar for sprinkling on top

Instructions:

  1. Mix the cinnamon sugar. Set aside. (You may adjust it according to your liking.)
  2. In a bowl, sift flour and baking powder. Set aside.
  3. In another bowl, beat egg, sugar, vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg.
  4. Add in mashed bananas just until combined.
  5. While whisking, slowly add the flour to the mixture.
  6. Gradually add 1/4 cup of milk. If the batter is too thick, add milk little by little.
  7. In a medium heat, heat oil in a frying pan. When hot enough, add about spoonfuls of the batter and flip when edges start to brown.
  8. Transfer to a plate with paper towels to absorb the excess oil.
  9. Sprinkle brown sugar on top. (If your are friends with cinnamon, you can mix 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/2 tsp cinnamon for the cinnamon sugar.)

Source recipe: Jamaican Banana Fritters by That’s So Yummy

 

I just used brown sugar to sprinkle on top of these yummies because cinnamon is not a good friend of mine and I am so sad about that. You can serve this for breakfast, snack, or just anytime of the day. But for me, I love to serve this for breakfast. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Jamaican Banana Fritters

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

