Filipino Escabeche

I spent an hour or two on my WordPress account dashboard – trying to categorize things – but sad to say, I really don’t know how to categorize correctly the posts I have here. What I want is that I want to have categories like appetizer, main dish, dessert, snack and others. But honestly, I am shy to admit that I don’t even really know what foods I can put under appetizer because sometimes, an appetizer for me can be a main dish, haha. Am I weird? So, I just went back to my old categories – beef/chicken, sandwich/snacks, veggies/fruits, etc. Anyway, I am not presenting a menu here so I think that would be acceptable. 😀 Just please, bear with the categories I have. 🙂

thenotsocreativecook.wordpress.com-Sweet&SourFishVeggies2

So, what am I posting now? I am really not aware what is the right name for this dish aside from it’s called Sweet and Sour Fish. Some call it Filipino Escabeche; for some Fish Escabeche; and others, Filipino-Style Fish Escabeche. So, which is which? All I know is – this is our version of Sweet and Sour Fish. I love fish especially when it is fried and most especially when it comes with sweet and sour sauce because I really love sweet and sour dishes as well. I remember when my mom cooked this dish and I was so hungry that I ate the fish straight from the fridge. Poor child, haha! My mom asked me why I did not heat it in the microwave so I told her that I was so hungry. I think starving was the right word for that. But you know, the fish was still great. Of course, I was starving. 😀

thenotsocreativecook.wordpress.com-Sweet&SourFish

Filipino Escabeche

Ingredients:

  • One whole fleshy fish
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 tbsp ginger root,  cut into thin strips
  • 1/2 cup sliced onions
  • ½ cup bell peppers, cut into strips
  • 1 cup carrots, julienned
  • Slices of pineapple
  • 2 tbsp oil

Sauce:

  • 2 cups water
  • 1/4 cup vinegar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp cornstarch
  • Annatto powder to add some color, start at 1/2 tsp

Instructions:

  1. Rub the fish with salt and pepper. Fry in hot oil. Drain in paper towels and set aside. (You may dredge the fish in flour before frying. You can also deep-fry the fish.)
  2. In a bowl, mix the sauce ingredients and set aside.
  3. In a skillet, lightly sauté garlic, ginger, onions and bell peppers in oil. Then, add carrots and bell peppers and let them cook for a minute.
  4. Add the sauce and simmer until the sauce thickens.
  5. Add the fried fish to the sauce and the sliced pineapples. Turn of the heat and let the fish absorb the sauce for a few minutes.
  6. Serve with white rice.

Source recipe: Filipino-Style Fish Escabeche by Tagalog Lang 

 

Note: The result will vary depending on the ingredients used. For example, soy sauce and vinegar have different richness and tastes all over the world. So you may need to adjust the measurements mentioned in the recipe.

 

6 thoughts on “Filipino Escabeche

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

