Mini Banana Bread with Coffee Glaze

We are now on our second week of Ramadan and I am still doing great. Though I haven’t lost a pound for more than a week now, I still feel great. Besides, Ramadan is not about eating less just because you want to lose weight. I feel great because I can still control the food I eat and I don’t crave for too much food unlike the previous years. And I’ve learned a lesson now – don’t eat everything you want to eat; eat whatever you know you can handle.

Leftover is a big issue during Ramadan. So whenever you have some, try to make something out of it. For instance, you bought fruits like Strawberries, Oranges, Bananas, or Mangoes, you can always make something out of them – smoothies or muffins will do. As for me, Strawberries have never been on the list. I am this person who loves Strawberry jam but I don’t eat the fruit. But hopefully soon, I can take the fruit itself. I don’t usually buy Oranges that much because I am so lazy removing the skin. So, I always end up juicing them. For Mangoes, no issue at all – I finish them in no time. And for Bananas, it’s either I eat them or bake them.

thenotsocreativecook.wordpress.com-BananaBread

As I said, I LOVE BANANAS! When I buy bananas, I used to buy more and ripen the others, three of them to be exact, to make Banana Muffins, Banana Bread or Banana Fritters. This time, I made a Mini Banana Bread using the Banana Bread recipe I have here to give my mini loaf pan a test. 🙂 I was also so bored the time I made this and thought of making a glaze but I don’t have any idea what I wanted to make. I finally came up with the idea of making a coffee glaze; I thought they’ll be good together and I was right.

thenotsocreativecook.wordpress.com-BananaBreadwithCoffeeGlaze

Mini Banana Bread with Coffee Glaze

Mini Banana Bread Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • 3 ripe large bananas, mashed well (about 1-1/2 cups)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F and place oven rack to middle position.
  2. Grease a your mini loaf pan. Evenly sprinkle flour and tap to excess any.
  3. In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and nuts. Set aside.
  4. In another bowl combine the mashed bananas, eggs, melted butter, and vanilla.
  5. Slowly and gently mix the wet mixture to the dry one just until combined. Make sure not to over mix.
  6. Pour the batter to your prepared pan.
  7. Bake for 35-40 minutes until toothpick inserted in the middles comes out clean. Transfer to a wire rack to cool.
  8. Finish off with coffee glaze. (recipe below)

Source recipe: Banana Bread by Joy of Baking

Coffee Glaze Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 tbsp instant coffee granules
  • 1 tbsp hot water

Instructions:

  1. Mix instant coffee granules and hot water and wait for it to cool for a bit.
  2.  In a bowl, put powdered sugar and add the coffee mixture. If it’s too thick, add small amount of water or milk until desired consistency.
  3. Glaze over the Banana bread.

thenotsocreativecook.wordpress.com-BananaBreadwithCoffeeGlaze2

Notes:

  • You can mix toasted almonds, walnuts or pecans into your batter before putting it to the pan, if desired. If you don’t want to toast your nuts, you can add it on top of your batter after putting it to your pan. 
  • The baking time is only a guide; you can check it 35 minutes after putting the pan to the oven and insert a toothpick. If wet batter comes with the toothpick, it’s still uncooked. Check it from time to time to avoid the bread from burning. 
6 thoughts on “Mini Banana Bread with Coffee Glaze

  1. That looks delicious! I’ve been wanting to get the mini loaf tins but I just can’t justify buying another tin when the pantry cupboards are bursting!

    1. Haha! I had the same problem before but my very good friend felt that I really want this pan so she gave me one. 😀 Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

