My Thoughts on Three Books

It’s been a while since I did a sort of sharing my thoughts on the books I’ve read recently. I guess I got so busy with cooking, baking and on food blogging, and on some stuffs in my everyday life. I remember one of my friends told me that she admires me how I find time to do all these things. 😀 I told her that I always manage my time and make some sort of a schedule – like I even make a schedule of what foods to cook and bake, and what books to read, haha!

So anyway, after reading Mocking Jay and The Fault in our Stars, it took me a while to start reading a new book. My heart was broken so I need to glue them back together. When I have moved on, I read three books.

****

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Photo from Tumblr
Photo from Tumblr

I’ve seen this book on bookstores and read them on the statuses of my Facebook friends. When I knew that this book is going to be on big screen by August 2013, I began to wonder what’s the story behind this book. One day, I was browsing videos on YouTube and I saw the trailer. After I’ve seen the trailer, I decided to download an e-book and yes, I read it.

For a person like me who loves story about warlocks, demon hunters, wolves and other creatures, the story was great. I love fantasy books and movies, so I really loved this book. I was like in their world when I was reading the book but it was hard to imagine stuffs when there were fight scenes. I only hoped the movie comes out sooner. I love Clary Fray who is just an ordinary teenage girl whom later discovered that her mom was a shadow hunter (demon hunter) and he was married to Valentine who was the bad guy in the story.  She was strong enough to face these evil forces to find her mom. Though the story has fight scenes, of course, romance will never be out of the story.

****

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

cinder

“No one is ever too old for Disney movies.”

I’ve read that quote somewhere on the internet and it’s true. I am not a child or teenager anymore but I love Disney movies. My favorite Disney princess is Cinderella. Given that she is my favorite, the book Cinder really caught my attention.

Cinder is a girl who had this accident when she was a child and had one of her legs replaced with some metal or something, which makes her some sort of a cyborg. Like Cinderella, she also has stepmother and two stepsisters, and of course, the prince. The story is amazing and it’s a new twist on the Cinderella fairy tale. The imagination of the author is admirable and I hope they would make a movie, too. When I was in the last chapter of the book, I was expecting to read a “happily ever after” ending like the fairy tale. But, I was wrong. The end of the first book left me hanging on a cliff. But that’s a good thing because I’ll be able to start the next book. Overall, I loved the book and I’m pretty sure that I’d love the next books of this series.

****

The last but not the least…

On the Island by Tracey Garvis Graves

Photo I posted on my Facebook account when I was reading the book
Photo I posted on my Facebook account when I was reading the book

I am person who loves books but not into love story that much. I’ve read the summary of this book from Amazon and included it on my to-buy list. So when I came to the bookstore, I immediately purchased the book. It stayed on my bookshelf for months, thinking that I would not love the story. But when I finished the two books above, I told myself that I need to rest from these fights scenes and read something different. I took this book and decided to read it. And guess what? I cannot put down the book. Though I need to put it down to do some important stuffs, I still think of the book or what might happen next.

Most of the story took place on the island where Anna and TJ got stranded for years. Anna is more than 30 years of age and she is TJ’s tutor. TJ, on the other hand is a “boy” who’s much younger than Anna. Through the years and of all the experiences they’ve gone through, they fell in love with each other. I know, some might think that this is an over rated story – to be honest, I thought that, too – but NO! I even thought why did I buy this book when I know I am not fond of reading love stories? But the author was great as THE BOOK WAS NEVER BORING. You can see the point of views from Anna and TJ as both of them were the story tellers. In chapter one, Anna tells the story; chapter two is TJ; three is Anna, and so on. The story was very light and funny and the story still plays on my mind. As I said, I am not into love story that much, but this book really is an exemption! I was glad I read it. 🙂

****

So, what’s next on my reading list?

That’s my question, too. Maybe I’ll have Divergent by Veronica Roth and The Ugly Duchess by Eloisa James.

2 thoughts on “My Thoughts on Three Books

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

