Almond Mocha Brownie Bars: a crumby one

I am person who gets bored easily and doesn’t want to stay in bed for the whole day. When I am bored, watching TV or reading a book will not be very helpful. It’s either I’ll get myself into cooking/baking or clean my room. But there are days that you really don’t want to do anything but to lie in your bed. Am I right? I call those days “lazy days”. When I call a day a lazy day, that means I am so exhausted that all I want is to lie in my bed and lie the whole day and I really hate those days. But what can I do? My body is begging me to. That’s what I felt last week. Hopefully, my body got the rest she needed. Because for me, lazy days are next to dying, haha!

On to the post…

I have a vegetable shortening that was with me for months and have only used it on Red Velvet White Chocolate Chip Cookies. I was thinking what more recipes I should try to make use of it. It was not near the expiry date but I just want to make use of it. I searched for recipes from the Internet but I haven’t found any aside from donuts. I typed more keywords but still nothing. I decided to go to the Crisco website and finally found some recipes there. Since I was looking for something with almonds, I decided to bake these goodies.

thenotsocreativecook.wordpress.com-AlmondMocha2

Almond Mocha Brownie Bars

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup almonds, toasted and chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups packed light brown sugar
  • 2/3 cup all-vegetable shortening
  • 3 tablespoons coffee granules
  • 1 tbsp milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Spray 13×9 inch baking pan and spray with non-stick cooking spray. Set aside.
  2. In a bowl, mix flour, baking soda, cocoa and salt. Add chocolate chips and almonds. Mix to coat. Set aside.
  3. In another bowl, combine brown sugar, shortening, coffee granules, milk, vanilla & almond extract. Mix well until well incorporated. Add eggs while mixing.
  4. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients. Mix until just combined.
  5. Spread the batter as even as possible to the prepared pan.
  6. Bake for 30-35 minutes.
  7. Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.
  8. Add glaze if desired. Cut into bars and serve.

Source recipe: Almond Mocha Cookie Bars

 

Coffee Glaze Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 tbsp instant coffee granules
  • 1 tbsp hot water

Instructions:

  1. Mix instant coffee granules and hot water and wait for it to cool for a bit.
  2. In a bowl, put powdered sugar and add the coffee mixture. If it’s too thick, add small amount of water or milk until desired consistency.
  3. Glaze over the brownie bars.

I had remaining chocolate icing so I made it as a glaze, too. 🙂

thenotsocreativecook.wordpress.com-AlmondMocha

I forgot that the recipe calls for 13×9 baking pan and have baked mine into 9×5, so instead of having flat or cookie-like bars, mine turned into brownie bars. Although I have not used the right baking pan, the finished product was still delicious.

My version had a crumby texture, unsure if the texture should be like that if I have used the right baking pan. Hmmm…  Anyway, these bars were really good so I guess the texture was not that important at all. 😀

18 thoughts on “Almond Mocha Brownie Bars: a crumby one

    1. Ugh! I don’t like lazy days!! But sometimes, I don’t have a choice but to give my body a lazy day especially when migraine pays me a visit. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  1. Frankly speaking, I have never experienced a “lazy day”, I think I am a workaholic without proper planning skills, coz I never seem to see the progress I make. By the way those Almond Mocha Brownie Bars are delicious! have a lovely weekend!

    1. I’m jealous, Liz. I really wouldn’t want to have a lazy day again. It kills me. Thanks for the nice comment on the bars and thanks a lot for stopping by. 🙂

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

