Grilling… a sandwich!

Steak is one of the foods I have not mostly eaten. I’ve tried eating steak but when dining out. I have not tried making it myself. Apart from the high cost of beef, I also find it difficult to cook – I meant the waiting time is difficult, haha! There was a day when I was browsing the internet for beef recipes and have seen many steak recipes. I told myself, maybe it’s time for me to make one. But because I was so lazy when it comes to grilling, I decided to get myself a grill pan. The grill pan stayed unused for weeks; I didn’t have the chance to try cooking a steak. Instead, I’ve made a Grilled Sandwich. That was funny. The grill pan was waiting to be used so used it… for a sandwich. 😀

I was a bit hesitant to post this because I think this is a very easy recipe, but I’ll post it anyway. 🙂 Maybe it would help those beginners make their own grilled sandwich. Before, I thought you need a special equipment to make a grilled sandwich but I was wrong.

thenotsocreativecook.wordpress.com-GrilledSandwich

So, you’ll need:

  • 2 slices of bread (if you’re making for yourself only)
  • 2 slices of cheddar cheese (or mozzarella)
  • 3-4 thin slices of tomato (or more if you like, I used 6 because I don’t have any other veggies to add)
  • Salt and pepper
  • Butter or olive oil to brush the bread

And here’s what to do:

thenotsocreativecook.wordpress.com-GrilledSandwich2

  1. Brush one side of the bread with olive oil or butter. Then put the bread on the pan, with the greased side facing down, to give the bread a crunchy outside and to brown. I used olive oil because I don’t have butter at the moment I made this.
  2. Put one slice of cheese.
  3. Add the tomatoes (or if you’re using other veggies aside from tomatoes, do it now). Then sprinkle with salt and pepper.
  4. Add the other slice of cheese.
  5. Add the second slice of bread you have, with the greased side facing up.
  6. Turn on the heat on medium and wait until one side is cooked. Flip and cook the other side.
  7. Eat immediately to enjoy the crunchiness and to enjoy this sandwich full of deliciousness!! 🙂

You can also try different combos. I also tried with cheese and nuggets; I forgot to put ketchup and mayonnaise. 😦

thenotsocreativecook.wordpress.com-GrilledCheese&NuggetsSandwich

For the nuggets, you’ll just need:

  • 3 fried chicken nuggets, chopped into small pieces or you can put it as it is
  • 2 slices of cheese (I used cheddar)
  • Mayonnaise and ketchup, depending on how much you’d like to put

 You just have to follow the instructions given above.

Note: You can use a regular pan. My grill pan was waiting for weeks to be used, so I did. 🙂 You can also use a Panini grill/pan if you have it. I have also tried using butter instead of olive oil and I find it better. But if you’re scared of butter, olive is fine. 🙂

For more grilled sandwich ideas/combos, you can check this out.

****

Related articles:
Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwich (http://suaspontelife.wordpress.com)
Loaded Veggie Grilled Cheese Sandwiches (http://www.thedreamingfoodie.com)
Smoked Salmon and Cream Cheese Grilled Sandwich (http://alexisateacup.wordpress.com)
6 thoughts on “Grilling… a sandwich!

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

