Chocolate Crinkles

How are you spending your weekend so far? 🙂

As for me, I watched The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones on the big screen. I felt so great that the scenes on the book finally came to life. 😉 I also did watch Epic and The Host at home. I was also planning to read a book but my mind was a little tired and my eyes did not cooperate that well. So, I just finished chapter one of the book I was reading and closed it. To gain my joy back, I knew what to do – I cooked and I baked. No matter how tired I am, I’ll still have the power to cook and bake – those really are my stress relievers.

These baked bites should have waited for its turn to be posted on my blog but they were really divine – they deserve to be posted as soon as get my hands on the laptop, haha! I’ve been eyeing on this even before I’ve had my blog but the thought of waiting made me sad. As I said, waiting for hours for food will kill me, haha! But I baked them, anyways!

I think that cute little one wants some Chocolate Crinkles, too. :)

Chocolate Crinkles Recipe

  • Servings: 28 crinkles
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 4 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 8 ounces (230 grams) semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup powdered sugar

Instructions:

  1. In a bowl, add dry ingredients (flour, salt and baking powder). Set aside.
  2. In a heatproof bowl, combine chocolate chips and butter. Place over a saucepan of simmering water, making sure that the water doesn’t touch the bottom of the bowl. When done, remove from heat and set aside to cool to room temperature.
  3. In another bowl, beat eggs and sugar until pale yellow in color (about 3 to 5 minutes). (You know it’s done when you slowly rise your beaters, the batter will fall back and form ribbons.) Add in vanilla extract and the cooled chocolate mixture. Beat until just combined. Add in dry ingredients, mixing until just combined.
  4. Cover with plastic wrap and let sit in the fridge for about two hours or overnight to firm up.
  5. When you are ready to bake, preheat oven to 325 F. Place rack in center of the oven. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.
  6. In a bowl, sift your powder sugar.
  7. Scoop out dough into balls and roll into the powdered sugar, making sure everything is coated. Place the sugar-covered balls on the prepare baking sheet. Leave about 2 inches apart.
  8. Bake crinkles for 8-10 minutes or until edges are slightly firm.
  9. Remove from oven and transfer to a wire rack to cool.
  10. Store in air tight container.

Note: I have tried using dark chocolate chips and semisweet chocolate chips, but I find semisweet chocolate chips are best to use because they produce lovely cracks.

Source recipe: Chocolate Crinkles by Joy of Baking 

8 thoughts on “Chocolate Crinkles

    1. They were!! I am actually making another batch on weekend. My friends are requesting for them again. 😉 Thanks for stopping by. Let me know if you have tried this. 🙂

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

