Chocolate Chip Muffins

Who doesn’t love the classic Chocolate Chip Muffins?

thenotsocreativecook-ChocChipMuffins

It is my dream to make muffins like those we can see at the coffee shops – having a beautiful rise. But I still don’t have any idea how to achieve that. The last time I baked Chocolate Chip Muffins was more than a year ago. That was my first time, too. If you had a look at my first muffins, the first time you would notice was how beautiful my muffins were. They had a good rise with the cracks on the top of the muffins. Then when I decided to bake the same muffins yesterday, I realized that I have not measured the flour correctly. The correct way to measure flour is not to bring the measuring cup inside your flour container, right? That’s what I did. My first of the same muffins were full of flour that I think, the muffins were not fully baked. I just realized that yesterday.

thenotsocreativecook-ChocChipMuffins3

I got this recipe from Laura Vitale and I was expecting my muffins to be as beautiful as hers but I failed. But the taste and the texture were great, I promise.

Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe

  • Servings: 12 muffins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 12 oz chocolate chips
  • 2/3 cup whole milk
  • ½ cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 tbsp sour cream
  • 2 eggs
  • ½ tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup white sugar
  • 1/3 cup of brown sugar

Instructions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 400 F. Line a 12-cup tin with paper liners. Spray the edges with non-stick spray and set aside.
  2. In a bowl, mix flour, baking powder, salt and ground cinnamon. Set aside.
  3. In another bowl, add chocolate chips and coat with little bit of the flour mixture. Set aside.
  4. In another large bowl, combine milk, butter, sour cream, eggs vanilla extract, white & brown sugar. Mix until just combined.
  5. Add to the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients until just combined. Do not overmix.
  6. Scoop out batter to the prepared muffin tin.
  7. Bake for 15-18 minutes or until toothpick inserted un the middle of the muffin comes out clean.

Source recipe: Chocolate Chip Muffins by Laura in the Kitchen

But at the end of the day, ask yourself…

Does look really matters? Nope! The most important thing is that you’re satisfied with the texture and the taste of your finished product. And most importantly, you have enjoyed every bite. I did.

thenotsocreativecook-ChocChipMuffins2

9 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Muffins

  1. What do you mean you failed? They look just the same except hers were larger, maybe she just put more batter in the paper cases? That’s why I always insist on weighing my ingredients because how much is a cup of flour or 1/3 brown sugar? I don’t see any failure here, however. To me they just look okay. I shall try the recipe. Thanks for sharing and have a lovely Sunday!

    1. I think so, Liz. I will try putting more batter in the paper cases. And about weighing ingredients, my scale is not digital so it’s hard for me to get the correct weight. Thanks a lot, Liz.

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

