Spaghetti in Creamy Tuna and Tomato Sauce

How do deal with your cravings? If you crave for a certain food, what do you do? If you can make it, do you make it immediately or do you dine out if you can’t? How many days do you let your cravings stay in your head? If you get rid of your cravings in no time, then good for you. 😀

I’ve been craving for pasta the past few days but I have leftovers to think of and some expiry dates to consider, so I cannot let my cravings control me. When leftovers were gone, I finally had my quality time to make some Tuna Pasta. I made a Tuna and Tomato Pasta but I was not happy with the result. The flavor was great with the tuna, tomatoes and dried basil. I don’t know what went wrong but it’s not something I expected. I think dried basil overpowered the sauce. I kept the sauce and the pasta inside the fridge and spent the whole day thinking what to do with it. I knew that I can do something about it because I consider myself good at makeovers for failed/unwanted dish. 😉 But I was badly craving for this pasta that I almost lost my smile when I get to taste it. But anyways, the new dish is better, so no need to frown.

thenotsocreativecook-creamytuna&tomato2

Since I have made the pasta without the cream, I am going to share the recipe for the two sauces… just in case you’d love the Tomato & Tuna sauce only.

Spaghetti in Creamy Tuna and Tomato Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 200 grams pasta

For the tomato and tuna sauce:

  • 1 tbsp garlic, chopped
  • 2 canned tuna in water (I used 2 cans of 185 grams of tuna)
  • 3 large or 2 cups tomatoes, diced
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • Salt to taste
  • Olive oil or butter for sautéing

For the creamy white sauce:

  • 1 tbsp garlic, chopped
  • 250 ml heavy cream
  • 4 tbsp cream cheese
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 tbsp flour
  • ½ Garlic salt
  • ¼ tsp pepper

Instructions:

  1. Cook pasta according to package directions. Set aside.
  2. For the Tuna and Tomato sauce, sauté garlic in olive oil or butter until fragrant.
  3. Add tomatoes and cook for two minutes. Add tuna with the water. Simmer for two minutes. Season with salt and dried basil. Remove from heat and set aside.
  4. For the white sauce: In another pan, sauté garlic in butter until fragrant. Add flour and stir until no lumps can be seen. Add in heavy cream, cream cheese, garlic salt and pepper. Simmer for 5 minutes in low heat.
  5. Add in the Tuna and Tomato sauce and bring to a boil.
  6. Do a taste test and adjust according to your liking.

To do the shortcut method:

  1. Cook pasta according to package directions. Set aside.
  2. Sauté 2 tbsp garlic in butter until fragrant. Add tomatoes. Cook for 2 minutes.
  3. Add flour and stir until no lumps.
  4. Add tuna, cream cheese, heavy cream, dried basil, salt, garlic salt and pepper.
  5. Simmer for 5 minutes in low heat.
  6. Add in the tuna and tomato sauce and bring to a boil.
  7. Do a taste test and adjust according to your liking.

When the sauce is fine with you, pour the sauce over the pasta and enjoy! You may also add Parmesan cheese.

thenotsocreativecook-creamytuna&tomato

 I know it looks yummy… It was delicious!! I enjoyed this pasta very much. I hope you do, too. 🙂

11 thoughts on “Spaghetti in Creamy Tuna and Tomato Sauce

  1. Oh God this looks so delicious. I must have my lunch now. I am starving. Thanks for sharing. If only I could pick it and eat it right away…best wishes!

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

