Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

I am amazed with kids learning to cook at an early age. I also have my siblings who are already exposed in the kitchen since my Mom passed away. My youngest sister is in fact, a member of a school organization which has something to do with cooking and baking. I call her My Little Chef. I asked myself, how do kids know that they like cooking or baking? I even want to answer that myself, recalling the times when I was in the kitchen with my Mom, but I did not get any answer. Maybe at that time, you just feel like doing what you like – whatever interests you.

thenotsocreativecook-ChocChipCookies

Checking WordPress Reader has been part of my day since I joined this wonderful community. While I was on the Reader, I noticed the recipe of Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies on Emu’s Eats and clicked it. I was surprised when I found out that it was her sister writing the post… and baking cookies. I immediately clicked the bookmark button. After a few weeks, I finally baked those cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • Servings: about 21 cookies
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

 Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp corn syrup
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Instructions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees F. Prepare baking sheets with parchment paper and set aside.
  2. In a bowl, mix flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside.
  3. In another bowl, beat butter and sugar until smooth (about 3 minutes). Add egg, corn syrup and vanilla. Mix until combined. Slowly add the dry ingredients. Add in chocolate chips and mix until combined.
  4. Scoop out about 1tbsp of cookie batter and place on the baking sheet, with about 2 inches gap on each cookie batter. Flatten slightly each cookie batter.
  5. Bake for 11-12 minutes.
  6. Remove from the oven and let stay in the baking sheet for about two minutes and transfer to a wire rack to cool.

Source recipe: Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies by Emus Eats (I think the blog site has been changed or deleted) Anyway, thank you, Ema & Katie.

thenotsocreativecook.wordpress.com-ChocChipCookies2

The cookies were soft, chewy and DELICIOUS!! After eating many cookies, I found it sweeter. I think I would lessen the sugar the next time I make them. Yes! I will definitely make them again.

 

8 thoughts on “Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. – Started at age 3 (long time ago), my son would bring a stool to stand on to watch (and if he can help) me cooking. It started with breaking the eggs.
    – I was not much of a cookie eater (because of calories) but now you cannot stop me.
    These cookies look yummy and I like how you have stacked them in a large cup. 😀

    1. I think we all started with eggs, hahaha! Maybe that’s why I love egg so much. I loved the store-bought cookies but when I started baking, I stopped buying and made my own. 😉 And yes, these cookies were yummy. Thanks for noticing how I stacked them. 🙂

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

