For the love of books: September 2013

Percy Jackson and the Olympians

I started reading second week of this month and I am happy that I had finished six books. I’ve also had frequent migraines and I think that was from reading too much. What do you think?

Anyway, I’ve read the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series and another book but I’ll just focus on the former for today.

Photo from Pinterest.
Photo from Pinterest.

I think most of us know about the series or if not you, your children might. The series was about Greek gods, demigods (god and mortal offspring), different kinds of monsters and a lot more. I might not give a correct summary for the series so click here.

In 2010, a movie came out based on the book ‘Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief’ by Rick Riordan which was the first book of the five. By that time, I have not read the book yet but I LIKED the movie. The movie did not stayed with me for a long time and soon, I forgot all about it. When I knew that the second movie (Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Sea of Monsters) will be out, I got suddenly interested in reading the book.

Photo from Pinterest.
Photo from Pinterest.

Honestly speaking, I loved the series so much. I stayed up so late just to finish the last two books and slept around 2:00 AM for two nights (or let me say very early morning). The book was well-written and I could not even imagine someone who could create a story like that. Of course, the author talked about the gods so he may be has so much interest on the same. The monsters on the story were well-described that you can imagine how they look.  Well, maybe not exactly the same as the author imagined but really, it was well-described! After reading the series, I watched the first movie again for two times. I have also watched the second movie (it’s good I got the chance to watch them) and I kept on smiling inside the cinema; I was so delighted. And I slept with a smile on my face on that day and on the day I have finished the series.

Ahh, what a great feeling! I think that was the reason of the migraine attacks! Haha! But that’s fine, it was worth it.

As they say,

“Don’t judge the book by its movie!”

Books are waayyy better than the movies. Agree?!

Until next book ‘review’…

Thanks,
Jhuls
8 thoughts on “For the love of books: September 2013

    1. This is the only series I’ve read continuously. I guess you should start reading them. 😉 I really enjoyed them. I am planning to read the sequel series, probably by next month. 🙂

    1. You should! 😉 The series was amazing!! I will be reading the series sequel maybe next month. 🙂 It’s good to know you love reading as well. Thanks for the follow back. xx

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

