String Beans in Sweet Soy Sauce

It’s been days that I have not read a book. I was planning to finish more books this month than the previous month, but how can you read when your head and eyes hurt? So bad, huh? Maybe that’s what I get from checking the iPod/iPad for notifications as soon as I open my eyes in the morning (or even in the middle of the night). Okay! I will try to refrain from doing that next time. Haha!

Anyway, let’s get to the food post…

For the intention of not throwing the remaining vegetable from the previous dishes I cooked, I decided to sauté them – just plain sautéing.

I had remaining string beans and lettuce and planned to sauté them with garlic, tomatoes and lots of tomatoes and crack an egg on them. I have even imaged serving them with fried fish and rice – yum! But due to my boredom in the kitchen, I put some sweet soy sauce and roasted chili paste, not even knowing how it will turn out. But when I made a taste test, I realized that boredom sometimes really does something good… and yummy! So without further ado, let me share with you this accidental yummy dish I had.

thenotsocreativecook-StringBeans2

String Beans in Sweet Soy Sauce Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 small onion, sliced
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 10 cherry tomatoes (optional)
  • 1 cup string beans, cut into 2 inches long
  • 1 cup lettuce, sliced into your liking
  • 2 tbsp sweet soy sauce
  • 3 tsp roasted chili paste
  • 1 beaten egg
  • 2 tbsp water
  • Salt to taste
  • Cooking oil

Instructions:

  1. After all ingredients have been prepared, heat pan on medium.
  2. Sauté garlic in oil and let it brown for minute. Add onion, tomato and half of the cherry tomatoes of using. Cook for a minute. Add roasted chili paste.
  3. Add string beans and cook for a few minutes. Add sweet soy sauce.
  4. Add lettuce and the remaining cherry tomatoes and cook for another minute.
  5. Add water; crack the egg and season with salt to taste. You may add pepper if desired.
  6. Serve with white rice and fried fish. Enjoy! 🙂

thenotsocreativecook-StringBeans

If you’d like to leave out the roasted chili paste, you may add in crushed pepper flakes, 1 tsp will do. But you will not get the same color as mine. Just experiment on this and let me know if you do. I will be glad reading feedback. 🙂

7 thoughts on “String Beans in Sweet Soy Sauce

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

