Burger Steak

Today, I am delighted to share with you one of my favorite dishes from Jollibee.

thenotsocreativecook-BurgerSteak2

Jollibee is the famous fast-food chain in the Philippines. They serve fried chicken, burgers, French fries, spaghetti and a lot more. It’s almost same as McDonald’s, except of course, for the taste of the food they offer.

When dining out at Jollibee, I always go for burger steak and peach mango pie. They are my absolute favorite! But no matter how much I love them, I just can’t go out whenever I crave for them. So, I searched for a Burger Steak recipe. The searching went well and I was happy to have the recipe from Pinoy Cooking Recipes.

Burger Steak

I am adding the message below due to the comment I received recently that this recipe is salty which makes it a disaster and a failure: 

This recipe works for me and if you are in doubt of this recipe being too salty, start with 1 beef cube… make it 2 or 3, (adding a chicken cube) when you feel the need to. We have different taste buds – meaning, you have to adjust the recipe according to your taste! 

Ingredients:

For the burger patty: 

  • 500 g fresh ground beef
  • 3 tbsp soy sauce
  • 4 tbsp chopped onion
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • cooking oil

For the mushroom gravy: 

  • cooking oil (use about 2 tbsp from the oil used to fry the patties)
  • 2 tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups water (500ml)
  • 2 beef cubes
  • 1 chicken cube
  • 1 tbsp chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup canned mushrooms, sliced
  • ground pepper, to taste

Instructions:

For the burger patty: 

  1. In a bowl, combine all ingredients except cooking oil. Mix until everything is incorporated.
  2. Scoop out about 1/4 cup of the mixture. Roll into a ball and flatten using your palms.
  3. Fry the burger patties until lightly browned. (Do not overcook to avoid toughening.) Drain on stack of paper towels. When the oil is absorbed by the paper towels, transfer to a serving plate until mushroom gravy is ready.

For the mushroom gravy: 

  1. Dissolve 2 tbsp of flour in 2 cups water. Set aside.
  2. In a pan with medium heat, add cooking oil (use about 2 tbsp from the oil used to fry the patties).
  3. Saute onions and mushrooms.
  4. Add beef & chicken cubes until dissolved. Add the water-flour mixture.
  5. Simmer until mixture thickens.
  6. Pour over the sauce over the fried patties.
  7. Serve with white rice.

Source recipe: Burger Steak by Pinoy Cooking Recipes

Notes:

If you feel that your patties don’t come together, you can add 2 tbsp of flour/panko bread crumbs and one beaten egg to the beef patties mixture.

If you are going to use all beef cubes, it will give you a darker gravy. If you will use both beef and chicken, it will give you a lighter one. So it’s all up to you. 😉

I served mine with buttered carrots and corn. And of course, like every time I dine it at the said fast-food chain, I always go for iced tea. 😉

thenotsocreativecook-BurgerSteak

Burger Steak is our version of Salisbury Steak. I don’t know how the two differs but I will give the ‘Salisbury’ steak a try some other time. For the last time, let’s take a closer look at this yummy dish…

thenotsocreativecook-BurgerSteak3Ahhh! I think I should make this again, like NOW!! 😀 I super enjoyed this dish up to the last bite. I hope you do, too!


The below photo is the latest photo from my birthday this month:

thenotsocreativecook-BurgerSteakBD3Also, I will give you the recipe of this mashed potatoes, which is not fancy at all. Here it is:

EASY MASHED POTATOES RECIPE

You’ll need potatoes (I really don’t measure), heavy cream, salt and pepper.

Peel the potatoes. Boil the potatoes until fork-tender/mashable. Mash using a fork or potato masher. While mashing, pour in heavy cream – stop until desired creaminess is achieved. Add salt and pepper.

13 thoughts on “Burger Steak

    1. Thank you so much! Hmm… about the Peach Mango Pie, I am planning to. I just cannot find a good Peach around. When I do, I’ll definitely be very proud to blog it. 😉

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

