Strawberry and Banana Smoothie

“I am not hungry. But, I am bored. Therefore, I shall eat.”

I think the quote above applies to me every single time. As others say… watch what you eat when you are watching TV If others eat chips or popcorn while on their movie time, I eat whatever I want to eat – pasta, dessert… anything I could grab from the candy/chocolate box or from the fridge. And to the fact that my candies and chocolates are just beside the TV, I don’t think I could tell myself not to get some. Also, there are times that I feel so bored but I am so lazy to do something. So what I do is eat and eat. I know it’s very bad but I just can’t help it, or maybe I just don’t want to avoid those things.

Several days ago, I weighed myself and I was not surprised that I gained almost 3kg. With all the cakes, pasta, cupcakes, fried foods, rice and other sweets? I should not be surprised at all. So I thought I should start a ‘change’ if I don’t want additional unwanted fats/calories inside my body.

To start with the ‘change’, I am starting off with a healthy smoothie.

thenotsocreativecook-StrawberryBananaSmoothie2

I have read somewhere in the Internet that this smoothie is an energy booster so it is recommended at breakfast time. But as for me, I love to drink it anytime I want. I make sure to have a glass or two almost everyday. It’s not bad, right? Please tell me, it’s not.

Strawberry and Banana Smoothie

Ingredients:

  • 1 large ripe banana
  • 1 cup fresh strawberries, stem removed
  • 1/3 cup low fat plain yogurt or Greek yogurt
  • 1/3 cup skimmed milk or low fat milk

Instructions:

  1. Slice your bananas into thirds and you strawberries into half. This is for the blender to do its work easily. Then, put everything in a blender and pulse until well blended.
  2. Transfer to a glass and drink immediately.

Notes:

  • I used ripe banana but not the super ripe banana that I use for baking. I just used a banana with ‘black spots’ on the skin.
  • Of course, wash your Strawberries, too. And for storage, keep your Strawberries inside the fridge on a loosely covered container.
  • If you could get organic fruits, it is better.
  • You may also add sweetener if desired.

I am not a Strawberry fruit lover but I love this smoothie and I also started eating the fruit itself.

thenotsocreativecook-StrawberryBananaSmoothie

Also, this is another way of putting yogurt into my system as I don’t want eating them alone.

I hope you would see more healthy smoothies/juices here on my blog. So, what do you think? Is this a good start? 🙂

 

Did you Know?

Strawberries are a member of the rose family, which is characterized by showy flowers with five separate petals. Strawberries are the only fruit with their seeds on the outside. (Source: Healthy Eating)

18 thoughts on “Strawberry and Banana Smoothie

  1. Ha! – you just described me and probably half the population! Well done. The smoothie is a great idea. It’s not about hunger so if you are going to eat might as well make it something good for you.

  2. – Oh Jhuls, I wish my scale showed only 3kg gain. 😦 The best way to lose weight is high protein and lots of water. When I was young, and seeing doctor to lose a few pounds, one of the items in the list of “things not to eat to lose” was banana. Of the fruit group, low-cals are all the berries, peach and cantaloupe. Good luck to you, and me. 🙂
    – Comment on strawberries is pretty cool.

    1. Oh! I so love Bananas, Fae! And so far, it works for me.
      Hmmm, protein? What I know about protein is that they can be found in meats, eggs, dairy products and in nuts. I read about whey protein powder being added into smoothies. I am also trying to finish 2L of water in a day. And next time, I’ll try other berries. Thank you so much for the information, Fae. I appreciated it much. xx hugs!

  3. This is a great start! 😀 I am exactly like you and tend to eat when I’m bored (so I’m always looking for something to snack on at work haha).
    I haven’t weighed myself in a couple weeks and I am scared to =X I’m trying to eat healthier over the next couple months. This smoothie will be perfect–healthy and delicious! I like to use Greek yogurt for the protein.

    1. Haha! And you don’t notice that you eat too much already. I’ll also try to eat healthier in the next months and see what will happen. Thanks a lot for stopping by. 😉

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

