Fish Fillet Ceviche

Hello, Friends!

I am back with a dish that I don’t serve that often. As others say, serving this often is not good for the body. Is it true? We call this ‘Kinilaw’ or ‘Kilawin’ in the Philippines. Even my Mom, she was not making this that often. I think the rumors are true??

thenotsocreativecook-Kinilaw

I love my Mom’s version of this. She used to include coconut milk and tomatoes in addition to the usual ingredients seen everywhere. It was not that sour but it was so delicious.

Anyway, here’s my version of Fish Fillet Ceviche – simple and easy to do.

Fish Fillet Ceviche

Ingredients:

  • 500g fish fillet, sliced into ½ inch pieces
  • 3 cups + 6 tbsp white vinegar
  • 3 lemons (or more if necessary), or juice from fresh Calamansi but you’ll need more
  • 1 green mango, sliced or chopped
  • 3 tbsp onion, chopped
  • 2 tbsp ginger, chopped
  • Cucumber, diced
  • 2 tsp salt or to taste

Instructions:

  1. In a bowl, combine sliced fish fillet and 2 cups vinegar. Let sit for 30 minutes.
  2. After 30 minutes, remove the vinegar. Add 1 cup of vinegar and juice from 2 lemons. Let sit for 30 minutes. When completing 30 minutes, drain the liquid from the fish fillet.
  3.  Add green mango, onion, ginger, cucumber, salt, 6 tbsp of lemon juice and 6 tbsp of vinegar.
  4. Give it a good mix and do some taste test. Adjust according to your liking.

I love this dish. How about you? Have you tried making this? Do let me know how do you make your Ceviche and I will be glad to try it.

thenotsocreativecook-Kinilaw2

Have a blessed weekend, everyone! 😉

32 thoughts on “Fish Fillet Ceviche

  1. I adore ceviche. It’s one of my favourite things… I still remember the first one I tried in Barcelona, years ago! Love the look of your recipe. The addition of the mango sounds divine! x

  2. I have only had ceviche one time at a “mexican restaurant” and it was wonderful. This is a very inspiring recipe. I think I would love this and your mom’s version is fabulous too…coconut milk? Yes! Lovely.

    1. Yes, she used to add coconut milk and tomatoes. I cannot remember the rest of the ingredients aside from vinegar, cucumber, onions, ginger, salt… Thanks for stopping by. 😉

    1. Thank you, my friend! 😉 You just have to play with the lemon and vinegar, though. Thanks a lot for always stopping by. xx Have a fabulous weekend. Hugs!

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

