Dynamite Shrimps

How far would you go for love…for FOOD?

I love cooked Shrimp. But my love has limitation – I really hate the task of having to remove its skin. I don’t cook shrimp that often… but when I do, I make sure that it’s a BIG HIT. 😉

thenotsocreativecook-DynamiteShrimp2
Please click the photo for a clearer one. Go click it. 😀

I’ve been seeing Dynamite Shrimp recipe for quite a while now and the review was very good. I’d love to try it but I was, you know, lazy. But since I have guests coming over for lunch and I wanted to serve something new, I decided to try it out.

Dynamite Shrimp

Ingredients:

  • 1 KG medium shrimp, shelled and deveined
  • Vegetable oil (or any cooking oil)
  • Lettuce
  • Spring onion

For the Dynamite Sauce:

  • ¾ cup mayonnaise
  • 2 tbsp Sriracha sauce
  • 1 tbsp honey

    For the batter:

  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup cornstarch (or corn flour)
  • 1 egg
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ½ tsp pepper
  • ½ cup cold water

    For the coating:

  • ½ cup all-purpose flour
  • ½ cup cornstarch (or corn flour)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp garlic powder (optional)
  • 1 tsp onion powder (optional)

Instructions:

  1. Mix the sauce and do a taste test. If the taste is fine with you, you can set the sauce aside in the fridge.  If not, you can make adjustments.
  2. Prepare the batter: Mix the ingredients for the batter. Add in shrimp and mix well to coat.
  3. Heat at least 1 inch oil in a deep pan in a medium heat and wait for it to be hot enough.
  4. Prepare the shrimp: In a wide flat dish, Mix the ingredients for the coating. Working in batches, remove shrimps from the batter and transfer to the dish with the coating mixture and coat every shrimp. When shrimps are well coated, remove from the coating mixture and set aside. Repeat until all shrimps are coated.
  5. When oil is hot enough (about 350 degrees Celsius), fry shrimp in batches for 2 minutes (or until golden brown) and transfer to a stack of paper towel to remove excess oil.
  6. When all shrimps have been cooked, carefully mix the shrimp and the sauce.
  7. Serve in a bed of lettuce or cabbage. I prefer lettuce.  And garnish with spring onion, if desired.

This recipe is inspired Best Yummy Recipes.

This Dynamite Shrimp is one of a kind. I was lost for words the first time I took a bite. It was… I don’t know – NO WORDS… No words could describe how much delicious this appetizer is. I think the first word that I have uttered was ‘WOW’ with my eyes wide open, like I was so amazed. And then I said, ‘I will surely definitely absolutely make this again!’ Haha! Oh! How about the prep thing needed for shrimps? Well, I don’t mind doing that all over again. The cuts I will get from cleaning and removing the shells will be worth it. 😀

thenotsocreativecook-DynamiteShrimp

WARNING: Please have somebody to eat this with you if you don’t want to end up eating them alone. If you don’t mind that, that’s better! Hahaha!

Notes:

  • Depending on the richness/taste of the mayo, you may need to adjust your ingredients. That is why I suggest doing the taste test before mixing them with the cooked shrimps. If Sriracha is not available, I think the mixture of mayo, sweet chili sauce and hot sauce will do. I think, you’ll just not get the AMAZING sauce because Sriracha is just so… different.
  • I made another batch of sauce and add it to the sauce little by little until I was satisfied. I put the remaining inside the fridge and used it as a sauce for fried chicken.

I am sharing the delicious dish at

Cook Blog Share | Melt in Your Mouth Monday | Foodie Friends Friday | Foodie FriDIY | Cook Once Eat Twice | Throwback Thursday

77 thoughts on “Dynamite Shrimps

  1. Yummy! These shrimp are making my mouth water! I’m with you, shelling them is a total pain. We buy them in kilo bags from the freezer at our local fish market and they are already shelled which is wonderful! They’re lovely big plump Vietnamese prawns usually. Can be expensive for the whole bag but then we get 5 or 6 meals out of one bag so it can be quite cost effective. Maybe you can get them like this in your area too? I always keep a bag in the freezer because they’re great in a quick curry or fried rice when I’m feeling lazy 🙂

    1. I can find frozen shrimps, but I think they are pre-cooked or something. I’ve always wanted to make this again, but shelling is the only thing that hinders me. Maybe my solution is to ask the seafood section people to shell them for me. 😀 Thanks, Lis.

  2. The sauce sounds amazing! I recently managed to get some sriracha sauce for the first time and I love it. It must be prefect for the shrimps. Thank you so much for joining in with #CookOnceEatTwice.

    1. Hmm, I have heard of this recipe with scallops, but I don’t think there’s something wribn with trying it. 🙂 I hope you let me know how it comes out. Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Awesome.. made it… Yummmmy… kids and hubby loved it..
    Thank you very much..
    Best wishes
    Yasmin
    P.S. waiting for more recipes…

    1. Thanks to you, Yasmin. I am more than happy that you loved the recipe. This means a lot to me. And thanks for letting me know, too. 🙂 I wish you and your loved ones the best of 2016! xx

  4. Now that’s a fabulous lunch! I love srirachi and a little spicy and I love shrimp! Though I’m with you on what a pain it is to peel them… that’s OK, this looks totally worth it. Yum!

  5. Oh I Love shrimps! I really must have a look for some Sriracha sauce and try this recipe! Thank you for sharing with #CookBlogShare x

  6. Look fantastic !!

    but what is the second type of sauce that you Mixed with the written recipe sauce?

    Or you just use

    ¾ cup mayonnaise
    2 tbsp Sriracha sauce
    1 tbsp honey

    Thank you

    1. The shrimps were amazingly delicious. I think this is one of the dishes I’ll definitely serve if I want to impress the guests. 😉 Thanks a lot for stopping by and have a lovely weekend! xx

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

