Chicken Macaroni Salad

Welcome to the 75th food post of thenotsocreativecook! I hope Effie Trinket could do the intro for me. 😀

Mmm, sorry about that! I am just so happy to share that after a long time of waiting, Catching Fire finally made it to the big screen. I was so happy that my eyes were twinkling when I get to watch the movie last week. What I liked about the movie was… the story is almost the same as the book. Of course, it’s the same. What did I just say? I meant the scenes in the book and the movie are exactly the same. I cannot remember a thing that has been changed. I loved the movie so much – it was heartbreaking, yet, nicely done. For sure, I’d watch the movie again and again. 😀

Anyway, after the 75th HG (The Hunger Games) craziness, let me bring you the 75th food post:

This was made months ago but I think this salad deserves to be shared.

In the Philippines, Chicken Macaroni Salad is usually served as a side dish. Also, it can be served as a dessert.

I have known this salad for a long time but I cannot remember if my Mom had made this. I have tried it only when dining out. Although this salad is popular in the Philippines, I have not tried making it. But when dining out, I always want to have this as my side dish. I think less than a cup of this salad will be fine.

thenotsocreativecook.wordpress.com-ChickenMacaroniSalad

One day, my friends and I met somewhere and one of them handed me a container with Chicken Macaroni Salad and when I opened it, it smelled so good. I asked them if they have brought a spoon or anything I can use to eat. One of them gave me a Hello Kitty spoon from her niece’s lunch box! Haha! I don’t think the niece will find it out so I took the spoon and ate. 😀 (Of course, along with the salad, I took the spoon with me at home. The aunt approved, anyway.) Since then, I told myself I would make one. And I did.

Chicken Macaroni Salad

Ingredients:

  • 400g macaroni pasta
  • 2 boneless and skinless chicken breast
  • 2 medium onion, chopped
  • ½ cup carrots, grated
  • 1/3 cup red bell pepper, chopped
  • ¾ cup mayonnaise
  • ½ sandwich spread (commercialized sandwich spread)
  • ¼ cup raisins
  • 34/ cups pineapple tidbits
  • ¾ to 1 cup cream (Nestle cream/thick cream)
  • ¾ cup condensed milk
  • 1 cup cheese, chopped or grated

Instructions:

  1. Cook the macaroni according to instructions. Set aside and let it cool for a few minutes.
  2. Boil the chicken until cooked. Let cool and shred. Set aside.
  3. Mix all the remaining ingredients.
  4. When the pasta is ready (cooled), you can mix it with the sauce as well as the shredded chicken.
  5. You can take a bite and check if everything is fine with you. If yes, you can put the salad inside the fridge for at least one hour (depending on your fridge).
  6. Serve cold.

Notes:

  • If using a thin cream (Not heavy cream, please!), start from ½ cup.
  • I used the sandwich spread ’Lady’s Choice’. You can use other brand (of course) but you have to adjust it according you your taste.

From the time I have made my first Chicken Macaroni Salad, this has been an instant favorite of mine. 🙂

I haven’t made this in months and I am actually craving for this RIGHT NOW but I just can’t make one because I might forget that I am trying to die lose weight. But I will make this again… I will. 😀

10 thoughts on “Chicken Macaroni Salad

  1. Happy 75th Darling Jhuls! I lo~ve this chicken macaroni salad. I had it before, but I was not aware it is a goody from the Philippines. I have to make a shopping list. Eaten as dessert? What does HG means? 😀 Fae.

    1. We eat it as dessert, side dish or snack. We, Filipinos, sometimes don’t care. Haha! Sometimes, we eat our appetizer as main course. Is it weird? Oh! Sorry about the HG. I think I forgot to mention it. It stands for HUNGER GAMES. The Hunger Games is a book that finally came into big screen last week. Here is the link that may help explain about the movie. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Hunger_Games_(film) Though the one came last week was part two of The Hunger Games Trilogy. 😉

  2. Yummy–chicken macaroni salad! Thanks for sharing the recipe and happy 75th post! I can’t wait to watch Catching Fire. It’s good to know they stayed true to the book, too.
    Have a great day,
    Ngan

    1. Haha! For Filipinos, when we hear the term “salad” it means, dessert or something sweet. Well, if not all, most of us do think salad is something for dessert. 😀 Thank you for stopping by. xx

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

