Thank you, 2013!

2013 went really good, Alhamdulillah (Praise God). Well… it was not near to perfect at all, but it was great. (I don’t think anyone had perfect all-year round… I meant no flaws at all? Uhm, maybe some?)

As for me, 2013 was one superb year. I started my blog last year in April (though I was not sure how it will turn out) and I received wonderful and heart-warming comments. I also felt that the community (which I call now my family) is so welcoming. I stared my blog with less self-confidence (in cooking & baking), but as my days go by (and with all your praises and appreciation), I finally believed in myself and thought that if others can do it, why can’t I? So, making this blog helped me a lot, learned a lot and I’ve got myself a new family – that’s all of you, my dear friends. By the month of June, I created my Instagram account and gained new family, too.

Apart from gaining self-confidence, I also gained pounds (a lot). I enjoyed my kitchen adventures more (I also enjoyed eating more) and got myself some kitchen toys (just few?).  And a few books, too. (Out of topic). As I gained pounds, I also received negative comments. But, it came to my realization that I should’ve not listened to people telling how badly I needed to lose weight. Though I know that I. AM. NOT. THAT. FAT!! I mean my height still matches with weight. And as long as you’re happy, I don’t think there’s nothing wrong with being ‘chubby’ (that’s better) – like it’s the worst sin of a woman.

“I will decide on losing weight if I feel it’s enough!” – that’s what I always tell people when the comments get annoying. The time came… Later last year, I felt it – I decided to start an almost healthy diet. So I ended the year feeling good.

2013 was not always about my battle with my weight. Of course, I also do have other life aside from a kitchen princess. But that will not be so important to chat about.

Moving on… 2013 was also a heart-wrenching year as I have lost two very important women in my life (may they rest in peace). And there was Paul Walker (seriously?). What? A fan have the right to be sad! But, life is like that. As my father always says -“Everyone has their own appointed time.”

Okay! So let’s not end this with heart-breaking topics or something of that sort as I wanted to share with you the top ten posts:

1) Posted on 10/26/2013 but this Tiramisu Cupcakes post is on the top. Hmm, I don’t doubt it… These cupcakes were incredibly appetizing!

thenotsocreativecook-Tiramisu3

2) Another recipe that is worth the try – Dynamite Shrimps. (All my recipes are worth the try, of course! Silly me!) I should say that I would love to make this over and over again. (Craving now!)

thenotsocreativecook-DynamiteShrimp

3) Ahh! This is another favorite of mine – these Filipino Cheese Cupcakes are great for snack… and also perfect for kid’s lunch boxes.

thenotsocreativecook-CheeseCupcakes2

4) Well, one of the classic muffins – Chocolate Chip Muffins – made its way to number four spot. So perfect with coffee, tea or milk… or just anything you want to pair with.

thenotsocreativecook-ChocChipMuffins3

5) Yay! I am so happy that my favorite spread is here – Egg Sandwich Spread. I want to make one right now! (Ooopss! The diet, please!)

thenotsocreativecook.wordpress.com-EggSandwich

6) I’m rooting for my version of Filipino Spaghetti as this is one of my top favorite dishes. As I always say ‘I would not trade this for any pasta in the world.’ I am glad it’s on sixth place. Also, check out the one with white sauce – so heavenly.

blog_spag3

7) These Chocolate Espresso Scones are just perfect for breakfast! Also, this is the first photo that has been accepted on TasteSpotting. (View my gallery here.)

thenotsocreativecook.wordpress.com-ChocolateEspressoScones

8) Red Velvet White Chocolate Chip Cookies are my first cookies (after those unappetizing cookies). These cookies are so delicious when paired with milk.

thenotsocreativecook-wordpress-com-redvelvetwhitechocolatechipcookies

9) The good thing about this? You make this ahead of time. Also, this can be made and nicely packed and be given as a gift when you want to visit a loved. Try our Filipino Meatloaf and you’ll love it.

Embutido

10) This Chocolate Almond Cake is incredibly addictive. I must say that this is one of my favorite cakes. This is 100% worth your time and effort.

thenotsocreativecook.wordpress.com-Chocolate Almond Cake

And we’re done for now!

I would like everyone to know that you are one of the reasons why my 2013 was amazing! I hope your 2013 was great, too. Let us all welcome 2014 with positive thoughts and SMILE.

Have a prosperous and blessed year ahead!

Lots of love and appreciation – Jhuls

10 thoughts on “Thank you, 2013!

    1. Thank you so much for the sweet words! And you are one of the reason why I am so proud of myself now more than ever! Looking forward to your new yummy posts, too! 😉 xx

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

