Soft Coconut Treats

Let me start this post by greeting everyone a…

Happy New Year

Do you have any New Year’s Resolution? When I was in grade school, we always had this subject in which we write our New Year’s Resolution and I cannot remember any single thing I have done or I have accomplished. When I was getting fatter bigger, my first on the list was to lose weight. Gladly, I started to go on a diet before the year ended and saw good results.

Now, to the post…

These treats made me more proud of myself.

So, I have this remaining sweetened shredded coconut from baking this amazingly delicious Coconut Pie… I wanted to bake German Chocolate Cake but I thought… I just can’t… because I was on a diet (and I still am!) and the cake would not be finished in a week as I have only few people with me and they are not likely hooked into sweets that much. I ended up thinking of something else. I tried to write a recipe for coconut cookies (or something like that) but I was occupied during that moment that I’ve only thought of ¾ cup of sweetened shredded coconut. When it’s time to bake, well, I just turned on the oven (preheated, I mean) and took a bowl. And guess what? I did the measurements and everything on the spot. I didn’t know how it will turn out, but, I just went on – wishing it will not be a big mess.

thenotsocreativecook-SoftCoconutCookies

All I knew was… I wanted to make coconut cookies or coconut macaroons (or whatever you call it!). I really didn’t know the right term. Anyway, I will call this new love of mine – Soft Coconut Treats.

Soft Coconut Treats Recipe

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup softened unsalted butter
  • 1/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • ¾ cup sweetened shredded coconut

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 F. Line a parchment paper on a cookie sheet (or baking tray) and set aside.
  2. In a small bowl, combine flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, whisk butter and sugar.
  4. Whisk in egg, vanilla and milk.
  5. Add coconut and mix until combined.
  6. Add flour-baking powder-salt mixture and mix just until combined.
  7. Put in the fridge for 30 minutes to 1 hour until form enough to form a ball.
  8. When firm, form cookie balls (about 1 tbsp each) and put them on the baking tray. Press them using the back of the fork (or just your fingers).
  9. Bake for 10-12 minutes.
  10. Let stay in the baking tray for a minute or two. Transfer to a wire rack.

These treats (can I call them cookies?) were soft. They may not have the texture of the usual cookies – flaky (or hard) on the outside but chewy (or soft) on the inside – but they were amazing!!

thenotsocreativecook-CoconutCookies

You can feel the sweetened shredded coconut in every bite and these treats were not too sweet. I think I managed to balance the sweetness and everything.

Yihee!! Can I be any happier?! 😀

Trust me, if you love coconut, you’ll love this! Hope you try this recipe and let me know!

Wishing everyone a blessed 2014. xx

P.S. New year = new theme. 😀 

21 thoughts on “Soft Coconut Treats

    1. Coconut is love!! ❤ I don't think I'll ever make my new year's resolution again after not accomplishing everything. Haha! Have a wonderful and blessed 2014. 😉 xx

    1. I agree with you about the coconut being fantastic! 😀 Uhm, I also don’t have any idea what my new year’s resolutions are. I think I’ll just keep doing what I love doing. Yeah! I think that will do. 😉 Have an awesome 2014. xx

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

