Biko (Sweet Rice Cake)

It’s still weekend, so it still movie time for me. Sadly, I finished all the movies scheduled for weekend (that’s supposed to be until today). I’ve watched Escape PlanEnder’s Game, Captain Phillips, Hours and The Call. So what do I do now? Maybe I’ll bake to put my sweetened shredded coconut to use. Well, other than baking, I’ll try to finish the book I started reading last week. Uhm, hopefully, I could manage to finish it today.

But, for now… let’s get going… 😉

I. LOVE. RICE. And I think there’s no doubt that I love anything rice.

Biko is a type of sticky rice cake. Uhm, just imagine glutinous rice with coconut milk and brown sugar. Yummy? Well, if you are from Philippines or if you love rice and sweets, I think you will agree with me.

thenotsocreativecook-Biko

There are various ways of cooking this: (1) by baking; (2) by slowly cooking the rice together with the rest of the ingredients in a big pot (which I think the traditional way); or (3) cooking with the use of rice cooker. I prefer the traditional way. My Mom and I used to do it that way, every time. It consumes a lot of your time, though. Next time, I’ll try the baking method.

BIKO (Sweet Rice Cake)

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups glutinous rice
  • 1 1/2 cups brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 cup canned coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • Butter, for greasing
  • Latik (coconut curd) topping:  3 cups freshly squeezed coconut milk (first squeeze only, so squeeze only one time) or canned coconut cream

Instructions:

  1. Make the coconut curd: In a non-stick sauce pan, boil the freshly squeezed coconut milk. Cook in a medium heat until milk solid are formed and lower the heat until browned and oil comes out. This may take a while, but always keep an eye on it. Set aside until ready to use.
  2. Prepare an 8×8 baking pan and ligthly grease with butter. Set aside.
  3. Place glutinous rice in a pot, wash and drain. Add coconut milk, cover and bring to a boil over medium heat. Lower the heat until all coconut milk is absorbed.
  4. Add brown sugar and mix with the rice until even in color.
  5. Put back the lid of the pot and cook until rice is dry on a lowest heat.
  6. When rice is fully cooked, use a wooden spoon to transfer it to the prepared pan.
  7. Top with the Latik (coconut curd).
  8. Serve cold or warm.

Source recipe: Biko (Sweet Rice Cake by Latest Recipes

I’d love to serve this with hot coffee. But, the time I made this, I prefer it with green tea.

 DSC_0014

I am using this recipe for years and never looked for another recipe. But, as I said, I will try the baking method. I wonder how it will come out. If I do, I will a post, for sure. 😉

This can be kept in fridge and re-heat using a microwave oven. I prefer a warmer Biko.

How about you? How are you spending your weekend? Any weekend baking or cooking? 😀 Anyway, whatever you’re up to, I wish you enjoy the rest of the weekend! 😉

16 thoughts on “Biko (Sweet Rice Cake)

    1. This is so easy to prepare – you just have to prepare your arm muscle if you’ll use the ‘traditional’ way of cooking. Anyway, I will post a Biko recipe using the baking method. Have a lovely day and wishing you a wonderful week. 😉 xx

    1. I’ve always wanted to make this from time to time, but I was so focused on the ‘traditional’ way of cooking that I always forget that I can do it with a rice cooker or even bake them (just need to find the right recipe). Thank you for stopping by, Ada! Hope you’re having an amazing day! xx

  1. Biko sounds very delicious although I’ve never tasted it. I have always wanted to cook something with glutinous rice. Perhaps this is my chance? Have a wonderful weekend. I’ve only watched one movie (Friday Night-The Host).

    1. Perhaps, Liz. 😉 I’ve also seen The Host not so long ago. It’s really nice to watch movies during weekends. Have a wonderful week to you and to your family, too.

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

