Moist Chocolate Cake

So, how was the first month of 2014 going? I hope everything went well and still going smooth with everyone. As for me, generally, it started well and well, it is still. (I don’t think so!) Okay… I’ll spill it out! I have mentioned in one of my posts that I lost pounds over the month of December and got 1 kg back just after the New Year. I ate rice, noodles, and rice, and rice and rice… Yes, I will not deny that! (I am guilty, as a proven criminal should be.) But, please, do not imagine me eating bowls of rice… because I did not. I’ve eaten rice almost everyday of January 2014 but just a cup or two. (Mostly 1 cup, really.)

In addition to rice is a cake – not just a slice, but slices of cake!! If I am not mistaken, I have mentioned that (or I think I’ve mentioned this in one of my conversations with AJ of The Dessert Course) I am craving for a chocolate cake, but I did not want to bake because I might end up eating the whole cake.

thenotsocreativecook-ChocolateCake1

I bought a slice of cake, but the only thing that’s available was a Vanilla Cake (I bought it, anyway!) Later, I said, I will buy a slice of chocolate cake and I was sure that I will NEVER EVER bake.

But, guess what? I did bake a chocolate cake!!

Moist Chocolate Cake

Ingredients:

  • 1¾ cups all purpose flour
  • 2 cups granulated white sugar
  • ¾ cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1½ tsp baking soda
  • ¾ tsp salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup buttermilk*
  • ½ cup butter, melted**
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup hot water + 2 tsp coffee granules

Frosting (recipe from back label of Hershey’s Cocoa Powder)

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter or margarine
  • 2/3 cup Cocoa powder
  • 3 cups powdered sugar (I reduced mine to 2 ½ cups)
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease and flour two 9-inch round baking pans and set aside.
  2. In large bowl, sift together flour, cocoa powder, sugar, baking soda and salt. Add in eggs, buttermilk (or substitute), melted butter (or veggie oil) and vanilla. Whisk until combined.
  3. Add in coffee and mix until combined.
  4. Evenly divide batter between two pans.
  5. Bake for about 35 minutes or until toothpick inserted in the middle comes out with few crumbs, but not wet batter.
  6. Remove pans from the oven and transfer the pans in a cooling rack.
  7. Allow to cool in the pans for about 30 minutes.
  8. Run a butter knife around the edges of the pan and invert the cakes in the cooling rack.
  9. Cool completely before frosting.

For the frosting:

  1. Melt butter. Stir in cocoa. Alternately add powdered sugar and milk, beating to spreading consistency.
  2. Add small amount additional milk, if needed. Stir in vanilla. About 2 cups frosting.

Source recipe: Moist Chocolate Cake by Foodess

Notes: 

* Substitute buttermilk with 1 cup milk + 1 tbsp lemon juice or vinegar. Let sit for 10 minutes. 

** Veggie oil can be used instead of melted butter. 

Though I felt guilty, I did enjoy every bite of this cake. However, it lasted inside the fridge for more than one week because I tried my best not to eat more than two slices of cake per day. But, there were days that I did not eat a slice at all. But, rice? Yes, please! 😀 Oh no! I think I’m losing it. Please, not yet! Or better, not at all. Hopefully, by February, I will stick to the diet I used to do. It’s not that I gained a lot; I just don’t want to pamper myself. 

36 thoughts on “Moist Chocolate Cake

  1. yes, the great dichotomy of loving cake (all sweets, really) and wanting to be a healthy body weight. I want both! Exercise is a biggie for me as it let’s you get away with at least a little bit more. lol your cake thoughts as I just made one last night and have already eaten too much of it.

    Enjoying your passion for food and appreciate you stopping over at food for fun. Seems we share a love for fun food 🙂

    1. That’s what I need – EXERCISE. I’ve been very lazy to stretch the last few weeks. Thank you for reminding of that. 😉

      You are welcome and looking forward to seeing your future posts. Have a lovely day! 🙂 xx

    1. I blame it on WordPress – I have seen so many chocolate cake post just before the 2013 ended and my craving got stronger and stronger everyday, haha! I hope you get yourself a slice or two… If I could send you this. (Sigh!)

  2. Don’t you dare feel guilty. I forbid it. I try and eat a pretty balanced diet but the only way to enjoy food is to not feel guilty when you eat something a bit less nutritionally healthy. It makes you feel good to indulge now and then which is definitely beneficial for emotional health. Now if you’ll excuse me there is an apple muffin with my name on it.
    PS That cake looks amazing! I love cakes made with buttermilk – they are so moist!

    1. I always feel emotionally hungry, is it too bad? Haha! Anyway, I make sure to treat myself when I have to. But, I always force myself to eat salad and salad and salad the next day. So I think that is good enough. 😀

      1. Haha I understand, sometimes all I actually feel like is salad. Had a great pumpkin, spinach, feta and pine nut salad for lunch. Delicious!

        1. I had Caesar salad. Uhm, that’s only Caesar dressing, lettuce (a lot) and two medium boiled eggs. 😀 I am glad how this food makes me full. 😉

  3. This cake looks incredibly moist. So good! And there is nothing wrong with a bit of pampering every now and then 😛

    1. If I could be just like others – they don’t gain any pound even if they eat a lot. Hmm, I could imagine. 😀 Thanks a lot for stopping by and have a wonderful day! xx

    1. Haha! That’s why… when I want to eat something “unhealthy”, I always make sure it’s worth the weight gain. 😀 Thank you for stopping by! Wish you have a lovely day!

    1. Me, too! When I saw the cake, frosted and all, I regretted that I baked one. But, when I get to eat a slice, I was glad I did bake a cake. So funny! 😀 Glad I am not craving for another slice now… I am craving for another food. 😀

  4. Hi Jhuls! The cake looks delicious! You should not beat yourself up too much about dieting or having a treat. I think everything done in moderation, whether it is eating rice or cake, is ok. For some of us who grew up on rice (me!), not having more is hard so I understand where you are coming from. I’m cheering you on! Have a great one!

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

