Crunchy Buttermilk Chicken

I was a person who believed that trying is not to be tried at all. I was a person who believed that when I fail at first, I will mostly fail the next times. I WAS. I am different now.

Ooopps! Easy! This is nothing serious at all. This is just all about… CHICKEN! Yes! Chicken! πŸ˜€ Anyway, as I always say, blogging gave me confidence – confidence to try new recipes and confidence to try again when I did not do well at first.

thenotsocreativecook-CrispyChicken3

As you see, frying seems to be a very easy thing to do – you just heat the oil and wait for the fish or chicken (or whatever you’re frying) to be cooked and you’re done. But, frying is one of the things I don’t really enjoy doing in the kitchen; I find it boring (and my patience level is very weak). So when frying, I have (need) to do something else that will keep me from checking or flipping from time to time.

thenotsocreativecook-CrispyChicken

I have tried many recipes (mostly on my own) on how to get that crunchy fried chicken that I lost count. I have also tried different techniques and followed every step, but some of them let me down. Recently, I was thinking so hard and the idea of cornflakes just popped out. I’ve read about cornflakes used in fried chicken long time ago but I found the idea a little weird. Then I asked myself, β€˜What’s the harm if I try?’ And I did. Having tried so many recipes, I felt the need to make my own seasoning for this chicken and just before I started the preparation, I wished myself good luck. πŸ˜€

Crunchy Buttermilk Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 400 g chicken breast, cut into strips
  • Β½ cup buttermilk
  • Β½ tbsp chicken stock powder
  • 1 beaten egg
  • ΒΌ cup milk

Flour coating:

  • Β½ cup flour
  • Β½ tsp salt
  • Β½ tsp ground black pepper
  • 1 tsp garlic salt
  • 1 tsp onion powder

Cornflakes coating:

  • 3 cups cornflakes, lightly crushed
  • 3 tsp chicken stock powder

Instructions:

  1. In a small bowl (or container with lid), combine the ingredients for cornflakes coating; tightly cover. Leave inside the container for at least 2 hours.
  2. Combine Β½ cup buttermilk, Β½ tbsp chicken stock powder and chicken breast in a shallow dish. Let marinate for 2 hours.
  3. When chicken is done marinating, heat oil in a pan. Meanwhile, prepare a small shallow dish for 1 beaten egg and ΒΌ cup milk; combine both. Also, prepare and mix the ingredients for flour coating.
  4. Dip each chicken strips in this order: Β egg/milk mixture – flour mixture – egg/milk mixture – cornflakes coating. Repeat until each chicken is coated. Fry in hot oil. Drain excess oil on a wire rack or use a paper towel.
  5. For the chicken gravy: Mix 3 chicken cubes with 1 Β½ cups hot water; set aside. In a low-medium heat melt Β½ tbsp butter. Add Β½ tbsp flour; mix to remove any lumps. Add the prepared water-chicken cubes mixture and mix well. Add salt and pepper to taste. Turn off heat and serve with the chicken.

thenotsocreativecook-CrispyChicken2

The result turned out perfect (at least for me) and before everything is cooked, I finished two chicken strips. The chicken was juicy and that crunchy cornflakes coating? Well, extremely crunchy and tasty! I have tried frying a chicken that are so crunchy the first few minutes and after a while, the coating becomes soggy. This one is different – the coating stays crunchy even thirty minutes after taking the chicken pieces out from the oil.

I served this crunchy-licious chicken with buttered corn, chicken gravy and, you know me… RICE! πŸ˜€

Have a great weekend, my dear friends! xx

27 thoughts on “Crunchy Buttermilk Chicken

  1. These look like the perfect solution to a long day/week at work…I’ll have to make sure to have all the ingredients on hand by the time Friday rolls around – what a delightful comfort food πŸ™‚

        1. When I make something for the first time, I will always tell that to myself. πŸ˜‰ So I will never frown again – there is always second attempt, and so on. πŸ˜€

  2. That looks amazing!!! The coating sounds fab and i’m a big fan of buttermilk for tenderising. I’m not much of a frying whiz either but I think I might need to try this…

    1. I agree with you on the buttermilk and I am with you on the frying thing. πŸ˜€ This is worth the try, though. Looking forward to it. πŸ˜€ Have a great Sunday. πŸ˜‰

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

