Nutella Swirl Banana Muffins

What’s so special about Nutella? Well, aside from I love nuts, I also love chocolate. (That’s obvious!) And Nutella makes anything perfect. And eating Nutella alone is even more perfect. And… I don’t think I’ll have to tell everything I love about Nutella. Nutella lovers would agree with me all the way. 😉

Though I haven’t tried Nutella on everything, I know anything with Nutella is perfect. One of the things I’ve always wanted to try is Banana Muffins with Nutella. Well, I have tried spreading Nutella on Banana Muffins, but I haven’t tried putting some at the top of the batter just before baking them. I bought a not-so-big jar of Nutella and before they’re gone – and I have some ripe bananas – I think it’s just right to make some Nutella Swirl Banana Muffins. 😉

Nutella Swirl Banana Muffins

  • Servings: 12 muffins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 3 ripe bananas, mashed
  • ¼ tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 2/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • ¼ tsp cinnamon
  • 12 spoons of Nutella

Instructions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 400 F. Line a 12 piece muffin tin with muffin liners and set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, add the first 5 ingredients and mix until all combined.
  3. In another bowl, add the rest of the ingredients. Then add it to your wet ingredients.
  4. Using a large ice cream scoop (or tablespoon) divide the batter into your muffin pan.
  5. Take 1 spoonful of Nutella and put it on top of the batter and using a toothpick of wood skewers (or anything that would help), swirl around the Nutella. Do with the remaining batter.
  6. Bake for about 18 minutes or until toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.
  7. Remove from the oven and transfer to a cooling rack.

Notes:

  • You can also put Nutella in the middle of the batter: scoop batter into muffin liners, half-full. Put spoon of Nutella (or less) and cover with another muffin batter. Do the same with the rest or just Nutella swirl for the others – it’s up to you.
  • For better swirling, microwave the Nutella for few seconds (15 seconds will do) before using.

I’ve used the same Banana Muffins recipe I have on the blog. As I’ve said a hundred times, I am using the recipe over and over again. I loved the Nutella swirl on top, especially the burnt one. 😀

thenotsocreativecook-BananaNutella

But, let me tell you another combo I am crazy about – Nutella and cheese, specifically cream cheese and cheddar cheese. Sometimes, when I don’t know what I really want in bread – if Nutella or cheese – and I want only one slice of bread… well, I put a spoonful of Nutella on one side and cheese on the other. 😀

12 thoughts on “Nutella Swirl Banana Muffins

  1. Nutella and cheddar cheese?! Interesting…I’ve never tried that combination before, but I can certainly imagine that nutella and cream cheese would be mighty tasty together.

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

