Chicken Teriyaki

It happens most of the time – that I am craving for something and when I check WordPress or Instagram, I see the same food I badly want to eat. It’s like people think the same and want to eat the same food.

For days, I’ve been seeing dishes with teriyaki sauce – Salmon Teriyaki or Chicken Teriyaki, even teriyaki fried rice. (Sigh!) If I have teriyaki sauce, I would have been very lucky, but I don’t. Somehow, I’ve managed to make teriyaki fried rice with the ingredients I have on hands. I guess the craving did not end with the fried rice, so I settled with making Chicken Teriyaki.

Chicken Teriyaki

Ingredients:

  • 400 grams chicken breasts, pounded to ½ inch thick

Marinade:

  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp ginger, grated
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp rice vinegar
  • ¼ tsp sesame oil

Cornstarch slurry: 1 tbsp cornstarch + 1 tbsp water

Instructions:

  1. In a saucepan over medium heat, add in marinade ingredients. Simmer until brown sugar dissolves. Set aside to cool down.
  2. In a ziplock bag or shallow dish, add chicken and pour in the marinade, making sure to coat the chicken very well.
  3. Place ziplock bag or dish with chicken and marinade inside the fridge for at least two hours up to overnight.
  4. When ready to cook, add marinated chicken (shaking off the excess) in a skillet with medium-high heat. Cook each side for about 3 minutes.
  5. Meanwhile, combine 1 tbsp water and 1 tbsp cornstarch and mix with the remaing marinade.
  6. Pour this mixture over the chicken and let cook for another2 minutes or until cooked through.
  7. Serve with rice or with vegetables.

Source recipe by Laura in the Kitchen

I served mine with tomatoes and lettuce with little olive oil, well, as a salad. And I loved it. 😉 I am glad that another craving has been satisfied. 😀

thenotsocreativecook-ChickenTeriyaki

The original recipe is for Salmon but what I have is chicken, so I did chicken. I also did slight changes.

20 thoughts on “Chicken Teriyaki

  1. My problem is that once I start to look at pics of food, I want whatever it is I’m looking at! lol I used to have a lot of food on my pinterest board, but I had to filter it out since I was losing all control! 🙂 It’s all the beautiful pictures from talented people! I love this recipe for bento for my husband. Thank you for sharing!

    1. Haha! I feel the same way, too, that’s why I minimized the time I spent with Pinterest and even in Instagram. I always see FOOOOD! 😀
      Thanks a lot for stopping by. 🙂

    1. Haha! I am glad that I am not alone – craving for something even after you finished a meal. Oh yes, how is it going? Update me, please. 😀 When you’re in the ‘program’ craving is an enemy. 😀

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

