Filipino Chicken BBQ

Happy Fiesta Friday to everyone!!! Although today is not completely a work-free day for me, I will not miss joining Fiesta Friday.  Work this week was really exhausting, like I wanna relax under the water (and when I said water, I meant the ocean)… Oopps! I cannot swim! I will drown and I will surely probably die (if no one will save me)! Ahhh! Never mind! I’ll just let myself enjoy the party today…

***

Filipino BBQ in the Philippines is everywhere. Well, it’s not like you can find it as soon as you get out of your house. But, at least you can find them somewhere in the neighborhood. (Because your neighbor is cooking!) And you can smell how wonderful they are! They are usually being sold during afternoon time. But what if I want them on breakfast? 😀 (Seriously? BBQ on breakfast?) My friend even told me ‘Uh, this should be served for lunch or dinner. I told her ‘Ahh! No problem, I can serve this anytime!’ So that was the reason why I did make this yummy BBQ… also, to satisfy my cravings! (When will these cravings end?)

thenotsocreativecook-BBQ

I was supposed to use chicken thighs, but I had only chicken breasts… and I feel the need to make chicken BBQ.

Filipino Chicken BBQ

Ingredients:

  • 3 lbs of chicken breast or chicken thigh fillets, cut into cubes
  • ¾ cup white vinegar
  • 1/2 cup tomato ketchup or banana ketchup, or both
  • 1/3 cup soy sauce
  • 1/3 pineapple juice/7-Up/Sprite
  • 3 tsp garlic powder
  • ½ tsp Salt + ½ tsp pepper
  • ½ tsp oil

Instructions:

  1. Mix all ingredients in a zip lock bag or conatiner. Let sit in the fridge overnight or minimum 1 hour.
  2. Put the chicken cubes/pieces in the skewers.
  3. Grill over charcoal or grill on the pan. Basting with the remaining sauce when turning.
  4. Serve with your favorite BBQ sauce.

For the BBQ Sauce: Mix ¼ cup soy sauce, 1/3 cup banana ketchup (or sweet chili sauce), ½ tbsp lemon and sliced green chili.

See source recipe here.

This really did satisfy my craving for BBQ. I should have used chicken thighs! I should have taken the effort to go out and buy chicken thigh because BBQ’s are yummier with skin on! I should have!! I have told you that I am not much of a fan of chicken breasts, but I still enjoyed this… especially with the sauce I have made. The chicken pieces looked sad (they talked to me) as BBQ sauce is missing and I don’t want to use the store-brought sauce. So I went back to the pantry and looked for something I could mix up. And tadaaa… the sauce was…

BBQ Sauce

Ohhh!! I just loved it. And my friend who was with me during that day? She loved it and she loved the BBQ-d (barbequed – acceptable short cut?) chicken breasts – and that made me really happy!

The good news is… I am bringing these over at Fiesta Friday at Angie’s place at The Novice Gardener. Apart from the chicken BBQ, I also brought this salad and scrambled egg with olives and bell peppers as a bonus. 😀 (Opps! Sorry for the Olives, Melissa!)

I hope you enjoy this and have a fabulous Fiesta Friday! Enjoy the weekend and have fun!

PS: If you are not a fan of outside grilling, you can try this amazing trick to do it inside your home. But, if you have a smoke alarm, be careful! 😛

name2

95 thoughts on “Filipino Chicken BBQ

  1. I was in the Philipines about five years ago and I can still smell the meat cooking on the bbqs – yum! And this is a great dish 🙂

  2. Looks good, Jhuls! This is something I’d love to try as I love BBQ and don’t think I’ve ever tried a Filipino cuisine before.

    1. Hmmm, you better try some soon. I have some others here on the blog. 😀 And I will be posting one soon that I highly recommend… well, that is if you love coconut. 😀 Anyway, thank you so much for stopping by. I am really glad that you did stop by! ❤

    1. Hi, Naina! This is so easy and delicious! I will bring you another recipe of chicken BBQ within the month. 🙂 Have a wonderful day/night!

  3. No, Jhuls, we won’t let you drown. How could you say such a thing. BBQ looks delicious. We love anything grilled!
    P.S. I’ll be emailing you soon. Still looking for a partner for you. Got a suggestion?

    1. Thank you, Angie! So that means I could let myself enjoy the water for few seconds and pull me up when I can’t breathe! 😀

      I will wait for your email and answer you there. 😉 Have a wonderful weekend, Angie! ❤

  4. Huh, that Saucy behind a bar. She won’t be standing for long!

    I would definitely have a plateful of your bbq’d chicken, even if you haven’t used thighs. Barbecued meat just isn’t something I eat often over here. I’m not so keen on bbq’s, even though I like the idea of them. Most people over here just don’t cook their food carefully enough when cooking outside. So I tend to eat before I arrive. 🙂

    1. Haha! I brought a lot of these BBQ! I know everybody wants to eat everything. 😀 I am so glad that FF is up until Wednesday – I am not so late in replying the comments. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and have a wonderful week! 🙂

  5. I love a good barbecue recipe as I am just beginning to start up my grill. I see you and Patty prefer thighs with the skin but I prefer chicken breasts without the skin. I was going to ask what banana ketchup was and then you mentioned you could substitute sweet chili sauce which I do have in my pantry 🙂

    1. Hi, Aunt Juju! I think Patty and me will fight over chicken thighs! 😀 I’ve never been a fan of chicken breasts from the start, but sometimes I just gotta deal with them. 🙂 Banana ketchup is a Filipino condiment (I think I should make homemade so I could share it with everyone) and it’s sweet and a little (just little) spicy. So I think you could substitute it with sweet chili sauce. In fact I just made another BBQ yesterday (using other recipe) and I used sweet chili sauce instead of banana ketchup and it worked just fine.

      I hope everything is fine with you and have a lovely weekend! ❤

    1. Hi, Kirsten! Thank you so much for stopping by! 🙂 This is one of my favorite Filipino foods and I can say that I will never get enough of this. Have a pleasant weekend! ❤

    1. I usually get the same from food courts when I go out. Sometimes I feel that food court’s version is better than mine… or maybe I always choose chicken things and legs when I buy from the food court. Anyway, this is good, too, especially for the chicken breast lovers. Thank you for stopping by, Lily! Have a lovely weekend to you! 🙂

  6. Your first paragraph had me laughing…you have such a fun sense of humor Jhuls! Love it! Sorry it has been such an exhausting week for you! Hope you will have some time to rest this weekend!
    Wow, your BBQ sauce sounds SO good! Yum, yum, yum!

    1. Hi, Lori!! I missed you! Are you feeling good now? I think I will have my rest tomorrow (Sunday), thank you for the wishes! The BBQ sauce was my favorite. 😀 I am in fact having another BBQ now. 😀 Another recipe, I must say. Thank you, Lori! Have a pleasant weekend to you! ❤

      1. I missed you too my friend!! I am feeling MUCH better! Thanks for asking! BBQ sauce…..yum! Making me hungry again…you always seem to do that! 😉

        1. Haha! You always make me hungry, too! I hope I could create gluten-free or low-glyce… (what was that?) recipe, just like you! Have a wonderful day! 🙂

    1. Hi, Elaine! This is the first time that I got so left behind in replying the comments. Really had an exhausting week. I did have my rest, thankfully! Thank you for stopping by and hope you had a relaxed weekend. 🙂

  7. Pineapple juice! I love it, Jhuls. I can almost smell the BBQ (yes an acceptable shortcut lol) from my desk here. I hope you do get some time to relax this weekend!

    1. I did get few hours to relax over the weekend – thank you for the wishes! 🙂 Although I did some hours and hours of cleaning, I did get some rest after that. 🙂 I love to use pineapple juice in marinades. Thank you for coming over and have a wonderful week. Hope you had a lovely weekend.

    1. Hi, Jess! Haven’t seen Game of Thrones yet. 😦 Been so busy this week. When you said I will be hooked after Season 1, I feel the need to watch it again. Anyway, thanks for stopping by. I will definitely give you the whole plate and tell me something about Game of Thrones. 🙂 Enjoy the weekend! ❤

  8. I love how your blog is called “the not so creative cook”, but your recipes never fail to be interesting! 😀 This is no exception, I’d want this for breakfast too! The salad that you are bringing looks great, who wouldn’t love a bonus salad?
    Thanks for bringing this to Fiesta Friday!! Have you seen Sir Johnny? He said he was going to mingle with the guests and has left me tending the bar – !!! 😛

    1. Thank you for coming over at me, Saucy! I was a bit nervous when I found out that you’re going to be one of the co-hosts for today’s Fiesta – I behaved myself. 😛 Anyway, I haven’t seen Sir Johnny! Maybe he is busy preparing for his entrance?! 😀

      And thank you for the wonderful message… Well, I think I am in the middle of not being a creative cook and being one. 😉

      Have a wonderful FF to you and I am glad that you are one of the co-hosts for today. ❤

      1. Haha! So that means I could not anything except for the one I brought. 😛 Ahhh, yes! But you will enter when we least expect it – we were waiting for so long… Glad you came already! 🙂

    1. Hi, Linda! 🙂 The weather is asking for us to go out and have some BBQ party outside – so this really is great for picnic with your loved ones. 😉 Have a lovely weekend! ❤

  9. Oh Jhuls, this looks so delicious. I would eat this for any meal. I think we should not worry about categorizing foods for specific meals!! If it tastes good and is nutritious, who cares wha time of day we eat it at?? 😀

    1. Yay! I also love the skin, Patty! ❤ When I see chicken thighs, I'm always like 'Don't you ever touch that, or I will eat you, too!' Hahaha! Have a lovely weekend, Patty! 🙂

        1. Hi, Patty! I am so behind in replying! 😦 Thank you for coming over and hope you had a fantastic weekend with Bailey and Mr. Alfredo! 🙂

    1. I also prefer breakfast food for breakfast, but anything good will do just fine! 🙂 ButI love breakfast food all day! 😀 Thank you so much, Ada! Have a lovely Friday to you!

  10. I want to come to your BBQ, Jhuls. You can make me Filipino chicken with salad anytime. 🙂 Happy Fiesta Friday and I hope you get to relax after your long week!

    1. Ahhh! Thank you so much, Ngan! Right now my head hurts and I hope to sleep until it gets better but my body doesn’t want to cooperate – I can’t lie down for too long. Anyway, thank you so much for stopping by and have a wonderful weekend to you! ❤

    1. Not complicated at all. 😉 It’s just that I should have preferred chicken thighs. 😀 Thank you for stopping by and have a wonderful Fiesta Friday!

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

