{Eid Eats 2014} Chicken Piaparan

Well, who would have thought that Eid Eats would also happen today? ๐Ÿ˜€

final eid eats

Eid Eats is an Eid virtual potluck party where you can share your yummy treats that you usually or are planning to prepare for the Eid holiday and is hosted by Sarah @ Flour and Spice and Asiya @ Chocolate and Chillies.

thenotsocreativecook-ChickenPiaparan2

Glad to have been informed by Sarah before Ramadan about this party and got the chance to prepare earlier. I thought I will not be able to cook a new dish so I did prepare this so I would be ready anytime this party happens. I was scanning the Reader and found Sarahโ€™s post and I flew to the computer to write. ๐Ÿ˜€

Eid at home is also a gathering of relatives. We prepare different kinds of foods, but mostly main dishes and loads of rice. ๐Ÿ˜€ We also prepare some sweet salads (not the healthy ones, I must say) as dessert and pasta. At times and when not too tired, we do make finger foods and sandwiches.

thenotsocreativecook-ChickenPiaparan

There are three main dishes that are always present during Eid โ€“ Beefsteak, this beef (which I really donโ€™t know what its called) and the one we call Chicken Piaparan. Now, if you wonder what is Piaparan and try to ask Google about it, I donโ€™t think it will give you something like a definition.

Chicken Piaparan is a dish where the main attraction is the Papar. Papar is the coconut part of the dish:

thenotsocreativecook-ChickenPiaparan3

I grew up with this dish and cooked this with my Mom [multiple times], but I havenโ€™t tried making this all by myself โ€“ not even when my Mom was still alive. Since she passed away, I have never eaten this dish. I always miss this dish every single day, but maybe I was just too scared to try โ€“ scared not to get it right or maybe scared to feel empty again.

When Sarah invited me for the Eid party and told me to bring something we prepare for Eid, I already knew what to bring. The only challenging thing was finding the right thing to substitute one of the crucial ingredients โ€“ palapa or other tribes call it sakurab (Click here to see what it looks like). Palapa [or sakurab] is a mixture of a root vegetable that I think belongs to the spring onion family (I really donโ€™t know the English name), ginger, chilis, salt and others that I really could not remember. Gladly, I have managed to find substitute for palapa.

Now, letโ€™s proceed to cooking this dish:

CHICKEN PIAPARAN Recipe

Ingredients:

For the Palapa:

  • ยฝ cup white part of spring onion, sliced
  • ยผ cup chopped ginger
  • 2-3 birdโ€™s eye chili (or add more if you want screaming spicy)

Other ingredients:

  • 500 g chicken, cut into pieces (skins removed)
  • 1 + 1 medium onion, sliced
  • 3 cloves + 3 cloves Garlic, crushed
  • 1 + 1 medium tomatoes, sliced
  • Bell pepper, sliced
  • Green part of spring onion
  • 1 tsp turmeric powder
  • 2 cups + 1 cup grated coconut*
  • 1 cup + 2 cups water
  • Salt to taste
  • Cooking oil

Instructions:

  1. Put the ingredients for palapa in a food processor and pulse for 1 or 2 seconds. (Not longer than that because you are not making a paste.) You can also use mortar and pestle for this or you can put them in a ziplock bag and pound. Set aside.
  2. Make the coconut cream and milk:
  • Prepare 3 bowls and strainer.
  • Bowl 1: put 2 cups of grated coconut and 1 cup water. Squeeze, squeeze, squeeze until you get a very beautiful coconut cream. Get Bowl 2, top with the strainer, pour the coconut together with 1 cup water and squeeze until the coconut is dry. Set aside. Take note to save the coconut.
  • Now, you have the used grated coconut. Go back to Bowl 1 and put the used grated coconut and add 1 cup water and again, squeeze, squeeze, squeezeโ€ฆ
  • Get Bowl 3, top with the strainer, pour the coconut together with the coconut milk and squeeze until the coconut is dry.
  • Now, you can throw the used grated coconut. Clearly, you have the coconut cream and milk on a separate bowls. Set them aside.
  1. In a pot, heat cooking oil. Sautรฉ half of the garlic, onion and tomatoes.
  2. Add in chicken pieces, cover and cook for 5 minutes, making sure to check them to prevent burning.
  3. Add turmeric powder and the coconut milk from Bowl 2; cover and cook for 15 minutes.
  4. Add the coconut cream from bowl 1 and let it boil.
  5. Turn off heat. Add half greens of the spring onion. Add salt and taste. Remove the chicken pieces from the โ€˜soupโ€™. Set aside.
  6. In a pan, add oil; sautรฉ the remaining garlic, onion and tomatoes.
  7. Add the removed chicken from soup; cook for another 2 minutes.
  8. Add the remaining 1 cup grated coconut (remember that you have 3 cups โ€“ you squeezed 2 cups and you have the remaining 1 cup). Add about ยผ cup of the soup and the bell pepper. (If desired, add more turmeric powder and salt.) Mix well and cook for another minute or until it gets almost dry.ย Add the remaining half of the greens of the spring onion.
  9. Serve with white rice.

*Freshly grated coconut must be used in making this dish!

The time I was cooking this, I had tears in my eyes โ€“ I really missed my Mom. And when I get to finally eat this together with rice, I missed her more. Itโ€™s 99% percent same with my Momโ€™s and I was really more than happy that I finally made this after all those years.

For some, this may sound complicated. I hope itโ€™s not. But, I promise to provide visuals on the steps when I get to make this next time and I think that would be soon.

***

For my non-Muslims blogging friends and also for those who are not aware, Eidโ€™l Fitr is the Feast of Breaking the Fast or marks the end of Ramadan. During this day, we gather at the Mosque and perform the Eid Prayer few minutes after the sunrise. After performing the Eid Prayer, some go back to their homes to eat and some celebrate out of town. For many families, this holiday is such a feast where you can find LOTS (and I mean LOTS) of foods on their table. For some, they also take this opportunity to visit some friends and relatives.

Apart from the Eid Eats, I am also taking this to Angieโ€™s FF#26 so that FF crowd would get the chance to try this and will have a little idea what we (at home) prepare for the Eid.

thenotsocreativecook-ChickenPiaparan4

Thank you, Sarah & Asiya for hosting the Eid Eats.

An early Eid Mubarak greetings to my fellow Muslims.

name2

Find me on Instagram, Twitter, Pinterest and Facebook.

69 thoughts on “{Eid Eats 2014} Chicken Piaparan

  1. This looks wonderful Jhuls. I can’t imagine the pain felt when preparing this dish for the first time without your mother, I’m sure she would be very proud though and it;s lovely that she left you such wonderful things to remember her by in every day life. I hope you have a wonderful eid celebration Jhuls

  2. Lovely dish Jhuls! Amazing how small things can become so sentimental. My father passed away last year. When we were clearing out my parent’s apartment I took a couple of bedsheets. Just yesterday I was folding one of the bedsheets and when I smelled it, it still had the scent of my parent’s home…such a comforting scent but at the same time makes me feel the loss of my father. May Allah grant our loved ones Jannat ul Firdous.

    1. Salam, Asiya. I am so sorry to be just responding – things have been super busy lately. Thank you much for stopping by and I hope you had a wonderful Eid celebration. โค

  3. This looks amazing and that is so touching and beautiful that it reminded you of your mother. I think recreating some of the happiest times you have with family is one of the best ways to honour them. This looks lovely, great work!

  4. My, my you have been busy dear Jhuls. Enjoyed reading your post and the memories that it brought back for you. Happy Eid dear blogger friend ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Such a delicate recipe. Its totally new for me. Your mom must be proud of you that you follow her steps and share her food love with all of us. This post bring me a tiny tears to my eyes too, emotionally. Keep rocking and cooking with lots of love. ๐Ÿ™‚ xx

  6. Not only does this dish look amazing, it comes with such a wonderful story. I’m so glad to have learned a little more about Eid, and about this dish! Thank you so much for sharing this story and recipe with FF, Jhuls!!

    1. I am happier to be at the party, Linda. I am crazy replying to previous comments today. ๐Ÿ˜€ I wish you a blessed Eid, Linda. What are your plans?

  7. Jhuls, this looks totally delicious. Will try it out soon and also share with some of my friends who are preparing for Eid! It’s a wonderful dish! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I can empathize with you and hope that you make this dish again! It may bring you closer to her! Baking is a way I still feel so connected with my mom and I miss her terribly as well.
    Kudos to you on the dish turning out as good as your mom’s! It is a proud feeling. ๐Ÿ™‚ we were having dinner one day and my dad told me that my rotis(Indian bread) were just like my mom’s. It is a different feeling!

    Anyways, wish you happy Eid preparations! Happy Fiesta Friday ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Awww! Thank you so much for this wonderful message, Radhika. It made my day. ๐Ÿ™‚

      It is really a wonderful feeling, I know what you mean. I will make this again and try it with beef. Maybe tonight. ๐Ÿ˜€ Though my Mom have not tried cooking this with beef. I will see my luck. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Thanks for the greetings as well and Happy FF. โค

  8. Darling Jhuls, You made your Mom proud. Your chicken piaparan looks perfect and very delectable. Moms and foods… there isn’t a time I don’t think of my Mom when I cook Persian food. Our Moms are always with us. โค

  9. Aww Jhuls…. this is a beautiful post. I’m glad that you decided to try making this recipe that you used to make with your mom so much. Food is such an important part of our life… I hope that you continue to make it, and remember all the happy times you had with her…and someday maybe you’ll be making it with a little one of your own…and pass those happy memories on with him/her. sending love your way.. โค

    1. Aww! Thank you so much, Prudy. I really appreciate every single word… especially when you said food is such an important part of our life. ๐Ÿ˜€ I will try making this again and again. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thank you for sending your love, Prudy. โค Have a wonderful weekend.

  10. Hi Jhuls, can’t compliments on the dish as I’m a vegetarian, I can sense the pain of dear ones loss as I have gone through the same…just her blessings and memorises will always be with you….happy Eid

    1. No worries, Chitra. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But, thank you so much for your comfort. Comfort is better than complimenting on the dish. ๐Ÿ˜€ I hope you have a lovely weekend and enjoy FF. โค

  11. This sounds delicious, Jhuls. Can’t wait to try it. I can get frozen grated coconut, would be a lot easier. I bought a fresh coconut a month ago, still sitting somewhere in my kitchen! Just too hard to crack open. I hope you’ll have a wonderful Eid.

    So sorry you miss your Mom. I hope the beautiful memories you carry with you will keep you strong. โค

    1. You can use frozen grated coconut for the ‘soup’, Angie (I guess). Let me know how it goes for you. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks for the comfort, Angie, and for the greetings! Have an amazing weekend! โค

  12. Yummy dish Jhuls!!Yes,some dishes are like that.They come along with stings attached!Some happy n some sad!Read your post and felt sad…But hope is what keeps us going!!Hope that we meet our loved ones in paradise!

  13. Oh Jhuls dear.. First of all a big hug and please don’t be sad.. We always love to see you cheerful and happy.. I know it’s a bit hard..!!
    still…
    This dish is really awesome, yummmyy…๐Ÿ˜‹
    I could smell the joy of Eid in air now..
    Advanced Eid Mubarak Jhuls๐Ÿ˜Š..

  14. Jhuls it literally gave me goosebumps to read this “The time I was cooking this, I had tears in my eyes โ€“ I really missed my Mom. And when I get to finally eat this together with rice, I missed her more. Itโ€™s 99% percent same with my Momโ€™s and I was really more than happy that I finally made this after all those years”. I am so glad I was somehow able to facilitate this experience for you and will definitely try this dish. May God bring you all the happiness and peace you deserve

    1. Shukran, Sarah! If not for the Eid party invitation, I would not have made this and I would not have known that I can actually make this dish after all those years. May Allah bless you and your loved ones this Eid. โค

  15. As-Salaamu Alaykum,
    your dish looks really yummy and I’m glad that you brought something savoury to the virtual EID table โค Have a blessed EID! in sha Allah

  16. Love this recipe. Looks really delicious and really a wonderful meal to break the fast at the end of Ramadan. Beautiful Jhuls. I know how certain things or foods can trigger such strong emotions it’s lovely that this dish makes you think of your Mom but I am sorry it made you sad.

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

