Ube Crinkles

As I said, I don’t celebrate or join any Halloween parties… and I know Halloween just passed, but I just can’t let this party pass without sharing this cute video – come and laugh with me. 😀 I really love the ‘get out!’…

Okay, I’m off to the party –

thenotsocreativecook-UbeJam

My Mom, she used to have this amazing photographic memory. While watching a cooking show, I should have written all the measurements and the recipes needed. My Mom did another thing – she watches and writes down. Same thing with numbers – she looks at the numbers and she can remember it for too long. My sister is the same.

Some of my friends, they are good in directions.

Me? What I’m good at relating to remembering stuffs? Well, I could remember how the food tastes even if I have not eaten that certain food for years. I could remember how a certain food smells. That’s a talent, isn’t it? 😀 And I would add that I am still good at remembering people’s birthday. (Well, for some.) I was good at remembering other stuffs, but one day, it’s like I am always out of my mind.

One day, I was washing the dishes. When done, I closed the dishwashing liquid/soap and do you expect that I put it on the right place? Nope! I opened the fridge and ALMOST put the dishwashing liquid/soap inside. Another situation – I was done with my cold drink – I was holding it with my handkerchief because, yes, it is cold. And I threw the empty plastic glass with my handkerchief. Ugh! What I did? Nothing! I could not get the handkerchief back. Eww! Oh my, there are much worst situations.

thenotsocreativecook-UbeCrinkle2So when I was making these crinkles, I really talked to myself – ‘Please don’t make mistakes, this is for your birthday.’ Gladly, nothing was put to waste. I was saying the ingredients loud enough that I could focus on what I am doing.

thenotsocreativecook-UbeCrinkle

Ube Crinkles

  • Servings: 28-30 crinkles
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup butter, unsalted
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup ube jam/halaya
  • 1 tsp ube flavoring
  • 1 cup powdered sugar

Instructions

  1. In a bowl, combine flour, baking powder and salt.
  2. In an other bowl, add in butter and sugar. Beat until pale and fluffy (about 3 minutes). Add in egg, beat until just combined.
  3. Add in ube jam and ube flavoring and mix.
  4. Add in dry ingredients and mix until well combined.
  5. Cover the bowl tightly with cling wrap and keep inside the fridge for at least 4 hours up to overnight.
  6. When ready to bake, preheat the oven to 350 F. Prepare baking pan lined with parchment paper.
  7. Scoop about 1 tbsp of cookie dough and form into balls. Coat with powdered sugar. Place them on the prepared baking sheet, leaving about 2 inches apart.
  8. Bake for 9-12 minutes.
  9. Remove from the oven and leave in the baking pan for about 2 minutes and then transfer to cooling rack.

Source recipe: Bake Happy

thenotsocreativecook-UbeCrinkle3When I found recipe from Bake Happy, I knew I had to make these. These crinkles were delicious – soft and not too sweet, just the way I like it.

I am bringing these over at The Novice Gardener for Fiesta Friday #41, hoping that Angie, the co-hosts and the party goers will love these.

Happy FF#41!

Also, I am sharing these over at Sweet & Savoury Sundays. 😉

Happy Sweet & Savoury Sundays! 

name2

Find me on Instagram, Twitter, Pinterest and Facebook.

65 thoughts on “Ube Crinkles

  1. I had no idea what ube is, but I did look at your reply to Sonal, and now I don’t need to worry about it anymore! NIce idea to use it in a cookie!
    I’m a bit of a scatter brain too, but I’ve had to work on it since I discovered that my husband is worse than me. 😉
    Jhuls, I have a guest post almost ready. How do you want me to send it to you? By email?

    1. Guest post ready? 😀 You can send it to my email thenotsocreativecook@yahoo.com

      Ooppps, sorry! I did not notice you said something after the guest post, haha! Wow! It must have been good that you are not the worst. I am the worst over here, so I feel bad and I felt abnormal at the same time. 😀 But know I have blogging buddies who are same as me, I don’t need to feel sad or worried anymore. 😀

      I will wait for your guest post. 😀 Thanks, Apsara. You made my day. ❤

  2. I’m positive that is a skill. Probably more useful than all the directions stuff, Jhuls… 🙂
    I love this recipe, they are sooo pretty. 🙂

    Oh, and of course I love the candy thing. I enjoy those children that don’t mind, that forgive their parents.. So lovely to see that!

    Have a great sunday… 🙂

  3. Hehe Jhuls, we’ve all had days like that! In my office cafeteria, I’ve thrown forks and knives into the bin for food waste 😀 and I’ve also walked straight to the food without a plate and then realised my mistake 😀 Hmm… most of my absent-mindedness seems to happen around food 😀 Happy Birthday Sweetie and hope these gorgeous crinkles make your birthday extra special! Love the gorgeous color ❤

    1. Haha! I could imagine how you felt after realising that you have thrown those stuffs. 😀 I don’t know what happens when we gather together – absent-minded bloggers. 😀 Thank you, Naina. Have a wonderful day. ❤

  4. Hey Jhuls! So everyone is googling ube, but I am too lazy! Is it plum? I think I have some ube vinegar in my cupboard, but i am still too lazy to go and have a look! Happy Birthday, my dear and your cookies look so beautiful! ❤

    1. Lazy day, Chef Julianna? 😀 Ube is also called Purple Yam and it is different from Plums. 🙂 You can check at your local grocery store if they have Ube Halaya – that can be used instead of Ube Jam. Have a lovely weekend. ❤

  5. Happy B’day Jhuls. .. hilarious video. ..remembering taste of the dishes is also a unique one and thatz really a great talent..
    Your crinkles looks scrumptious. .. feel like extending my hand right now to grab one or two or three. ….

  6. I have the world’s worst memory, sometimes it’s medical related (like those times I’m at the shop 5 minute down the road and forget my way home!) but sometimes it’s just plain me haha! I frequently do things like you mentioned haha! But hey, at least we can bake well even with your scattered brains – and these crinkle cookies look so good, I really need to find some ube!

    1. Oohhh, one time I was also heading home – walking – and I was shocked when I was about to cross the street and asked myself ‘Um, where am I going?’ I just passed by our home like I was telling our home ‘Hey, I am just passing by. I am out of myself right now.’ My friends always tell me to be careful when I cross the street because I don’t sometimes look at my sides (and that’s dangerous) – maybe that’s just the plain me as well. 😀 Yeah, at least we can bake. Be proud, bakers with scattered brains. 😀

  7. I love the color! The video is too cute as well! I think a memory for taste is more useful in the kitchen than measurements anyway. (You can write down all the measurements you want, but taste, that’s something special.)

    Happy FF, and have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

    1. It’s amazing right? I mean having to remember the taste… that I think some people (when I talk about it) don’t believe me. I don’t care… as long as I have that ‘talent’ 😀 Thanks for being here, Kaila. I had a wonderful weekend. I hope you had, too. And have a nice day. ❤

  8. Oh my gosh Jhuls! I want one of these now! Okay, not just one …two or three. 😉 They look so yummy! When is your Birthday? Today? Mine is tomorrow, Saturday. Wishing you a great weekend and Birthday!

    1. Haha. You can take as many as you like. 😀
      These cookies were prepared for my birthday – October 18. Sorry it had to be belated – I hope you had a great time on your birthday, Arl. Happy belated birthday. ❤

  9. Welcome to Fiesta Friday #41 Lovely Jhuls. The video is hilarious, nothing like a good laugh out loud to start your Friday eh! Happy Birthday, may all your dreams come to fruition. I have not heard of Ube Halaya either, but will have to google and find out more. Those cookies look fabulous, I hope you have enough for all the party revelers. Enjoy your weekend.

    1. I guess the cookies were enough for the party goers, co-host, Loretta. 😀 Thanks for co-hosting with Nancy. Both of you did an excellent job. I hope you had a great time as well. ❤

  10. These look beautiful Jhuls! I have never heard of Ube, so must look up. I’ve loved that cute video since last year and can never get enough of it. Have watched many times and still smile!!! xx

  11. Happy Birthday, Jhuls…such yummy cookies to celebrate too! Thanks for bringing them to share at Fiesta Friday. I would love to have a cookie or two! Love the looks of that Ube…it’s new to me. I’ll have to see if I can find it in my area.
    I love the “I ate all of your candy” feature that Jimmy Kimmel does each Halloween…so funny and cruel at the same time. 🙂
    As for putting the dish soap in the fridge…welcome to my world! It’s called distraction and having a wee too much rambling around in your head…don’t worry, though…it’s not life threatening. 😉

    1. I hope you can find this in your area, Nancy. 🙂 I am pleased that you loved everything here. Thank you for co-hosting FF. I hope you had a great time. Have a wonderful day. ❤

  12. Happy Birthday Jhuls! I had to laugh at the dishwashing liquid in the refrigerator. I tried putting a gallon of milk in the microwave. Thankfully it wouldn’t fit and I just shook my head at myself hoping no one was wathching. 🙂 These cookies look like the perfect birthday celebration.

    1. I am glad to know that I am still normal, Julie. I have no one behaving the same as me – gosh, I am not alone afterall. 😀 Thank you for being here. I hope you are having a great time. ❤

  13. You had me a Ube, I have to find where I can buy Ube jam and make these cookies right away, I know it would be a hit with my family, thanks for sharing and glad to have you back Jhuls, hugs:)

    1. I hope you let me know how you like it, Lily. You are so sweet – you always make me smile when you stop by. Thanks a lot. I hope you are having a good time. ❤

  14. happy birthday Jhuls 🙂 Really hilarious video.I loved the little guy who came first and said “you ruined my life” how can some candies ruin his life 😀 He needs to see a counsellor lol.
    And super cute crinkles you made. the color is too good.
    And thannnnk God!! I am not alone. Once i left my keys in the fridge and turned the house upside down. And another time it was the cordless phone which i forgot in my locker. I couldn’t hear the paging tone and that was a real tough time tracking it down lol. You are far better than me though 😀

    1. I just kept on laughing and watched this multiple times. I also asked the some question, skd. 😀

      Ohh, the keys – I had a situation as well – I forgot that I left them on the door itself and I kept looking. 😀

  15. Love you girl for your humor n charm. We all do that at one point or the other. 😉
    Those cookies are to die for. Saw these on insta and wondered how you hit that color. I haven’t seen ube here in USA yet or may be I missed it. Look gorgeous .

    1. Thank you for your sweet words, Sonal. ❤ I think you can find Ube Halaya (Purple Yam) at the Asian section of your local grocery store. 🙂 Have a great weekend. Hugs!

  16. I had to smile because I remember once putting the milk in the cupboard and the cereal in the fridge. And my concentration is NOT what it used to be. The cookies look great – I’ve only had plain chocolate crinkles before, no jam of anykind involved.

    1. Glad you liked the video, Suzanne. 🙂
      I think it’s called Purple Yam. This can be replaed with called ‘Ube Halaya’ and can be found in the Asian section at your local grocery store. Happy FF, Suzanne. ❤

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

