Speculoos Cheesecake Cupcakes

That feeling when others are enjoying their food and you can’t…

That feeling when others are talking about on how delicious their cheesecake is and you can’t relate…

thenotsocreativecook-SpeculoosCheesecakeCupcakes2

When the doctor told me that I have a migraine, she advised me to avoid chocolates (that for sure, would not happen), coffee and cheese (ouch). I did not avoid the three. Of course! 😀

Later on, I discovered that cheddar cheese gives me an instant migraine. And there’s cream cheese which is far worst than the cheddar cheese. So after the instant migraine due to the cream cheese, I did not again bother to take anything with cream cheese… such as cheesecake… which is very depressing because cheesecake is one the most tempting cakes that I was not able to enjoy. #heartbroken

I forbid myself not to eat cheesecake. I thought I will not eat cheesecake… not in a million years. And I thought, you would not crave so bad for something you don’t usually eat.

My colleague and her daughter love cheesecake so badly that they always tell me to make cheesecake. I told them I can’t make one and I will never ever make one. They were telling me the same thing almost everyday that I wanted to ‘ssshhh’ them every time.

Bang! The craving started.

thenotsocreativecook-SpeculoosCheesecakeCupcakes3I managed to buy myself Chocolate Cake Cheesecake (sorry, migraine, I had to do it) and I was floating… like cupid shot me and the cheesecake.

And you know what happened… I baked something with cream cheese.

I brought some for my colleague and the 11 year old daughter said ‘CHEESECAKE’ with the smile from ear to ear. 😀

Speculoos Cheesecake Cupcakes

  • Servings: 12
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

For the crust:

  • 12 Lotus caramelized biscuits cookies, crushed
  • 2 tbsp butter, unsalted and softened

For the cheesecake filling: 

  • 16 oz cream cheese, softened at room temperature
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs, at room temperature
  • 1/3 cup cookie butter spread
  • 2 tbsp all-purpose flour

For the topping:

  • Cookie butter
  • Lotus caramelized biscuits cookies, crushed or chopped

Instructions:

For the crust:

  1. Preheat oven to 325 F. Prepare a 12 cup muffin pan with paper liners. Set aside.
  2. In a small bowl, add crushed biscuit and butter. Mix until well combined.
  3. Take a spoonful of the mixture and divide them, pressing onto the bottom of the lined muffin pan.  (This can be done with the bottom of a glass or measuring cup) Set aside.

For the cheesecake filling: 

  1. In a bowl, add in cream cheese and sugar. Beat until smooth.
  2. Add in eggs, mixing after each addition.
  3. Add half of the cookie butter and mix again.
  4. Add in flour and mix until well combined.
  5. Divide this mixture and pour over the crust.
  6. Add the remaining half of the cookie butter to the top cheesecake batter.
  7. Tap the pan few times to smooth the the top.

Baking the cheesecake: 

  1. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until set.
  2. Remove from the oven and leave in the pan for 5 minutes and transfer to a cooling rack to continue cooling.
  3. Microwave cookie butter for 30 seconds to 1 minute on low just to loosen up a bit.
  4. Drizzle the ‘melted’ cookie butter over the cooled cupcakes and top with crushed biscuits.

Recipe from A Globetrotter’s Fare

thenotsocreativecook-SpeculoosCheesecakeCupcakes

These cupcakes are very rich and so delicious – you can’t get enough of them. I promise. I can’t even remember if migraine paid me a visit that time.

I hope you make a batch and tell me what you think. 😉

Find me on Instagram, Twitter, Pinterest and Facebook.


Sharing these cupcakes to my dear friends at Fiesta Friday, Super Saturdays, Sweet and Savoury Sundays…

Thank you, hosts, co-hosts and party goers.

63 thoughts on “Speculoos Cheesecake Cupcakes

  1. This makes me really sad that you can’t eat cheesecake without getting ill! My sister is allergic to dairy products and eggs, instead of cream cheese I use a vegan version of cream cheese, maybe that wouldn’t give you awful migraines? Also, this recipe looks delicious!

  2. Those look very tasty, I can imagine the speculoos gives the cheesecake a lovely smooth caramel flavours. This has been the most viewed recipe over at Sweet and Savoury Sunday. Stop by, grab a button and link up with us again this week. Have a great weekend!!

  3. Hiii Jhuls! How u? I was away from blogging for some time. Now im back. I really missed ur posts. Il have to go thru ur previous posts. This one is so good. Looks soo soo SOO yumm. I really wanna make this.
    Hop u didnt get migraine with this beauty.

  4. Yum!! I’d say they’re worth the migraine! 😀 Just kidding, Jhuls! So sorry to hear, actually. It would be very tough for me to live without the 3Cs – coffee, chocolate and cheese. Maybe there are substitutes? I know there’s chicory for coffee and carob for chocolate (they’re all C words!) but I can’t think of cheese substitute. Maybe tofu?

  5. These look like would have been worth the migraine. I was never as happy as I was when I figured out that cheese in not one my own triggers… I hope these satisfied the craving for you 🙂

  6. Your cheesecakes looks delicious, and worth the headache. Am not quite sure what I would do without chocolate or cheese!

  7. These cupcakes looks fantastic Jhuls. I’m so sorry that those foods bring unpleasant side effects, but you know what…sometimes a little discomfort is worth it for food like this! Happy FF 😉

  8. So sorry to hear that you have to deprive yourself, Jhuls! The one thing I have found about eliminating certain foods is that after awhile, the craving actually goes away! 🙂 Your cheesecake cups look soooo very yummy, though ( I can’t really eat cream cheese either…but I don’t crave it anymore! ) Happy FF to you!! 😀

  9. I believe you that you can’t get enough of them, they looks so goooooooood! Migraine is not a good thing. I wonder what in the cheese triggers it. Maybe you can find a substitute ingredient. Take foo care of yourself. ❤

    1. I don’t know, Fae. Maybe it’s the dairy thing – I feel a little dizzy when I drink whole/full cream milk, eat/drink something with whipped cream, processed cheddar cheese and cream cheese. Thank you, Fae. ❤ I hope you have a lazy weekend. 🙂

  10. aww that makes me sad that cream cheese gives you a migraine 😦 why is it always the yummmiest foods! I’m lucky that i don’t really have to avoid any foods, I’m not supposed to have any caffeine (which includes chocolate) but i ignore that entirely and the consequences aren’t too dire, not enough to make me stop anyway!
    These little cheesecakes look delicious though, definitely worth the migraine I’m sure hehe

    1. Haha! You are right, Michelle. These little cakes are worth the migraine. And even whipped cream which is so good in cold shakes (like cappuccino) gives me headache and it makes me feel dizzy after a little sip. But honestly, I spoon out the whipped cream and eat it. 😀

  11. I see myself in your post… I don’t think I could resist something I really really love although I would make me feel bad :s Wish you could eat it without the migraine! But it’s good that it was so tasty you didn’t even remember any migraine 😀

    1. You know what, I always complain about getting migraine after I eat something with whipped cream. But I realized that I could deal with migraine after eating. 😛

        1. Me, too. I always feel sorry for myself. But again I look at the brighter side – migraine is not bad compare to other illness. 🙂 Thank you, Sarah. ❤

    1. Ha! I am now smart enough to take medicine after I eat something with cream cheese, Elaine. Or I take ginger tea before bedtime and the next morning which really helps with my migraine. 😀

    1. I don’t even know. I think the doctor was joking when she said that – I was just 12 years old, I can’t really remember. Maybe she was just scaring me to stop stealing chocolates from my Mom’s hiding place. 😀

  12. Ah, this looks so tasty. They look moist as well, which I assume comes from the cream cheese. In other news, when I had migraines when I was younger, I was given caffeine (aka: chocolate) to help them. I mean, I’m not sure how much it actually helped, but I know that caffeine can work for or against migraines. It’s so interesting, and I hope your migraines calm down soon! (I’m going to go ahead and assume you don’t have a severe migraine as you read this comment because you’re looking at a computer screen. 🙂 ) Happy FF too!

    1. What I know is dark chocolate with 70% cocoa helps with headaches/migraine. Sometimes, I take coffee for my headache. 😀 I guess the doctor was wrong from the start. 😀

    1. Yeah. Oily foods makes my head ache as well, Martina. But thank goodness not everything – mostly those from food courts. Thanks for being here. Happy FF. 🙂

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

