Instant Hot Chocolate Mix

I will tell you something about me and hot chocolate.

I met different forms of chocolate drinks when I was a child – instant chocolate mix, ready-to-drink chocolate drink… you name it. I loved all of them… but when I was growing up, I realized that there’s something much better – hot chocolate made from real chocolate with milk, marshmallows and cream.

I proposed my undying love to hot chocolate. There are times it doesn’t hurt me, but most of the time, it hurts me.

You ask why? …because like cream cheese, I feel a little dizzy after drinking a cup of hot chocolate. Well, I think it’s not the chocolate mix itself but the milk (milk, hot or cold, makes me dizzy). Nonetheless, I still drink hot chocolate. Who could resist a good cup of hot chocolate? 😀

thenotsocreativecook-InstantHotChocolateMix6

Hot chocolate is one of the things I’ve always loved. Who doesn’t love a cup of hot chocolate with marshmallows (with cream)? Who? Who?

thenotsocreativecook-InstantHotChocolateMix

I was thinking of making a hot chocolate drink for one (yeah, only for me) 😀 but I changed my mind in the last minute and decided to make instant hot chocolate mix instead.

I’ve seen so many instant hot chocolate mixes but nothing has captured my heart. I’ve seen so many recipes, but I think I am looking for something something. What I know is hot chocolate mixes are made up of cocoa powder, sugar and even powdered milk. I wanted something I could not figure out.

thenotsocreativecook-InstantHotChocolateMix2

And then one night, I was watching YouTube and saw Laura Vitale’s video of instant hot chocolate mix. I thought it was just another common hot chocolate mix. I didn’t want to watch or see anymore recipe, but because it’s Laura, I did watch the video.

And BAM! I saw what I was looking for – an addition of grated chocolate and espresso powder.

thenotsocreativecook-InstantHotChocolateMix3

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup vanilla sugar
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 2/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 4 oz 70% cacao chocolate (I used Lindt), grated
  • 1/2 tsp espresso powder
  • 1/2 tsp of cornstarch

Instructions:

  1. In a bowl, place everything and give it a good mix.
  2. Transfer to an air-tight container.
  3. When ready to drink, heat 1 cup of milk (or 1/2 cup water + 1/2 milk) in a microwave or over a stove. Add 2 1/2 heaping tbsp of hot chocolate mix.
  4. Transfer your hot chocolate into a mug and top marshmallow if desired.

Recipe from Laura Vitale.

I found the addition of grated chocolate a brilliant idea. I really love this hot chocolate mix – it’s chocolately rich and not overly sweet.

thenotsocreativecook-InstantHotChocolateMix5

And what’s good way to enjoy hot chocolate than to add mini marshmallows and candy cane. 😀

thenotsocreativecook-InstantHotChocolateMix7

I saw a box of candy canes at the mall and I took it especially for this hot chocolate. 😀

Now, I’m coming to bring you this delicious, comforting hot chocolate drink. I hope you enjoy this. 😉

Sharing this at Fiesta Friday #46 hosted by the genius Angie, co-hosted by Aunt Juju and Margy.

Also sharing this at Foodie Fridays, Time to Sparkle, Sweet and Savoury Sundays, Tasty Tuesdays, Showcase Your Talent

name2

Find me on Instagram, Twitter, Pinterest and Facebook.

53 thoughts on “Instant Hot Chocolate Mix

    1. I just finished mine over the weekend. Gotta get myself a bar of hot chocolate and make another one. 😀 Thanks for stopping by, Amanda. Please come back again. Have a wonderful weekend. 🙂

    1. Thank you so much, Linda. We can also enjoy this during summer months but a cold version maybe? and topped with whipped cream. 😀 Have a lovely week ahead. ❤

    1. You noticed that, Claudia, huh? 😀 Yeah, I don’t think they’ll leave me alone… or I’ll leave them alone. 😛 Thanks for stopping by and have a lovely weekend. ❤

    1. Yay! Thanks, Michelle. I’d love to try yours, too. 🙂 Do you have it on your blog? Anyway, I love anything hot chocolate. So there’s no doubt I’d love yours as well. 😀

        1. I love the addition of malt drink mix in yours. 😀 I have one favorite malt drink mix and I’d love to give this a try as well. Thanks, Michelle. ❤

  1. I certainly won’t resist a cup of hot chocolate, Jhuls! Especially if it’s made from your mix. 😛 If this cup of cocoa tastes half as good as it looks, it must be outstanding! (Your photos are absolutely beautiful!)

    1. I have tried many chocolate mixes, but this is really outstanding. Thanks a lot, Nancy. I am glad you loved the photos as well. Have an amazing weekend. ❤

  2. Your recipe looks much better than any mix I have seen or tried. I too grew up with “Nestles” or “Hersheys” – there is no comparison to making homemade. Once you have done it you will never go back! Thanks so much for a “favorite” cold weather drink – everyone at FF#46 I am sure would like a cup or two 🙂

  3. I too am looking for that perfect hot chocolate and this recipe stole my heart!! I’m going to go get a bar of Lindt chocolate and I will make this mix tomorrow! I can guarantee you that! Thank you for sharing this recipe Jhuls! Happy FF! 🙂

    1. Yeeey! I was supposed to use this Lindt Chocolate for something else but when I saw this recipe with grated chocolate, I forgot about the previous plan. 😀 I hope you let me know what you think. 🙂

  4. Ahhaaaaa so here is the recipe behind your delicious picture I saw on Instagram!!!
    This is amazing… I have always made hot chocolate from real chocolate and all, but never really thought about making the instant mix!! Thank you for sharing the recipe, so simple!! Must be heaven 😀

  5. I’ve also been looking for homemade hot chocolate mix recipes. I will have to try this although believe it or not i’ve never had hot chocolate with marshmallows! I’m British so they aren’t as popular over here or maybe just not in my neck of the woods lol

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

