Chocolate Candy Cane Cookies

I don’t observe Christmas, but I really adore candy canes! 😀


Imagine yourself on your time off from work…

thenotsocreativecook-Chocolate Candy Cane Cookies

You are comfortably sitting in front of the laptop – planning to catch up with blogging. Then your boss called you to say that you need to come to the office for an urgent matter. As a nearly good staff, you said ‘okay’. (And your ‘me-time’ day is ruined.)

When you come back home, you checked your cookie dough if it’s ready for the oven.

You thought that it’s ready because you’ve let it sit in the fridge for 5 hours. You touched it and you felt that the dough is still soft, thinking you should have mixed the dough last night. Meaning, you’re not 100% sure that it’s ready. Regardless, you still started baking them.

So, do you have those days that you wanted to make something and you are secretly hoping that you’ll get the same result with the source recipe? Even planned how to take photos of your supposed to be pretty cookies? Then it turned out not as what you expected? And you sliced the candy canes instead of crushing them because you can’t even manage to crush them. 😐

thenotsocreativecook-Chocolate Candy Cane Cookies 3You tried setting up for the photos and after minutes of trying different props (because you want your photos to look good) still, you can’t seem to figure out the right thing? And you think the light has something to do with not getting good photos? And you get tired and decided to take I-don’t-care-how-it-will-look-like photo? Then, you gave up!

thenotsocreativecook-Chocolate Candy Cane Cookies 2That was the kind of day I had last weekend.

The instruction said that it can be refrigerated for at least two hours or overnight. So I thought the dough was ready. I know you’d do better. 😀

Chocolate Candy Cane Cookies

  • Servings: 2 dozens
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened chocolate, finely chopped
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup white chocolate chips
  • 3 candy canes, crushed

Instructions:

  1. In a large bowl, combine butter and chocolate. Microwave on low for 1-2 minutes or until melted, checking and stirring every after 15 seconds interval. Let cool down a bit.
  2. When the chocolate has cooled down, add in sugar, eggs and vanilla. Stir to combine.
  3. In another bowl, mix flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, salt and chocolate chips. Add this mixture to the chocolate mixture and mix until incorporated.
  4. Keep in the fridge for about 1 hour, until firm, or up to overnight.
  5. Preheat the oven to 350 F. Prepare baking sheets lined with parchment paper.
  6. Scoop out about 1 tbsp of cookie dough, from into balls and place them on the prepared parchment lined baking sheets, keeping 2 inches apart from each other. Flatten the dough slightly and lightly press crushed/chopped candy canes on top.
  7. Bake for 9-12 minutes or.
  8. Remove from the oven and leave cookies on baking sheet for 2 minutes and transfer to a cooling rack to continue cooling.

Source recipe: Foodess

Regardless of the not-what-I-expected look of the cookies, they are still super yummy – soft and very chocolatey. I would definitely make this again and I will see what happens the second time around. 🙂

I love cookies with a glass of milk. But I also love them with a cup of tea. I am bringing these cookies over Justine’s Tea Time. I hope she (and the crowd) will love these.

I am also sharing these cookies at Time to Sparkle, Sweet & Savoury SundaysTasty Tuesdays

name2

Find me on Instagram, Twitter, Pinterest and Facebook.

35 thoughts on “Chocolate Candy Cane Cookies

  1. Now many how they look I’m sure they tasted really yummy. I’m opening Sweet and Savoury Sundays early this week to make up for missing last weeks, so be sure to stop by and link up at the earlier time of Saturday 8am UK time. Happy New Year!

  2. I still think your cookies look pretty, I’m sure they were delicious and that’s what’s important. I hope you get some extra time off work in lieu of:)

    1. Thank you, Jodi. I also made your banana chocolate chip cookies, but I did not get the right texture. {#brokenhearted} I don’t know what happened. Maybe the cookie batter/dough was not firm enough. What I got was very soft texture – like a muffin in cookie form. 😦

  3. wow, love your cookies, Jhuls!I like candy canes..in Italy nowadays I can found them, but some years ago was not so easy…they weren’t so widespreaded. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you and your family Jhuls!Cris

    1. I found prettier candy canes after I bought these. I felt frustrated. But that’s okay – these are still adorable. 😀 Thanks for stopping by, Cris. Enjoy your holidays and happy new year to you as well and your family. 🙂

  4. Oooohhhh juls thank you so much for bringing these to the party i think they are fab and my kids also will go wild for them. Myself of course i pretend that i am not interested in chocolate things but you will find wheb ypu look away one might disappear or two lol.

    I had to laugh at your desceiption of trying to get a good photo as that happened to me when i tried to make giraffes can bake xhocolate truffles. Hers looked perfect. Mind were crumbling so i added a second liquer as i ran out of the necessary rum then they looked like dog poo not truffles. I splattered them with icing sugar to diguise the doggy donation look.

    Thank you for bringing these lovely treats they look good to moi! Xxx

    Happy Christmas xxxx

    1. Decorations or icings make a good disguise. I have done that, too, with my French Almond Cake (also here on the blog). I should have know earlier about your tea time (tsk tsk tsk) so that I would have come when the party is still at it’s peak. There’s always a next time, isn’t it? Thanks, Justine. Enjoy your holidays. ❤

  5. Jhuls, I have the exact same days sometimes! But I think your cookies look very tasty! You say they tasted super yummy and I believe you because they really look so YUMMY! Besides, don’t need to worry about the light and everything… You’re perfectly on track with the trend of 2014: imperfection is perfect! And I believe so too because now your cookies have a sool ^^ And I can even see some big amount of love in them! 😀
    So what I was trying to say is that I love your cookies, Jhuls! ❤
    Have a wonderful Christmas tomorrow!

    1. That’s the most important ingredient we have in all our ‘creations’ – LOVE. I love how the candy cane tastes with the cookies. Thank you for being here, Sarah. ❤ Enjoy your holidays.

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

