Cakey Brownies

I will be honest with you. I will tell you something that you don’t know about me – I am a talkative person.

(Why I get the raising of eyebrows here?) Oh, is it obvious? How come? And when did you know about it? 😛

thenotsocreativecook-Nutty & Cakey Brownies1

Although I am a talkative person, there are times that I want to be in a silent mode. At work, I was alone in a room for quite some time and then new staff came and she was placed with me. She is a nice person; sweet and funny. We get along so well most of the time. She has two kids (boy and girl) and they go with their Mom at our workplace occasionally… and you’d expect a riot. 😀 I love them and I treat them like my siblings. I also love my colleague, but there are times that I miss being alone in that room – silent. I feel free. Well, not that I sleep during working hours whenever I want. I just missed the old times – me blogging, me reading books, me enjoying non-work related stuffs when I’m done with my job.

My point is, no matter how you enjoy those chewy and fudgy brownies, somehow, you still crave for the old, classic cakey brownies.

thenotsocreativecook-Nutty & Cakey Brownies3

I know it doesn’t make sense? What’s the connection with my sentiment with the brownies? Tell me you get my point. 😀 (I know by this time I am writing this, my mind is flying somewhere else – let’s say I am thinking of the brownies I want to post now, the bakes I want to make or the meals I want to cook… so please bear with me. 😛 )

Back to the brownies –

I love brownies in any form – with sundae, ice cream; chewy, fudgy.

thenotsocreativecook-Nutty & Cakey Brownies2

I admit that I love fudgy brownies more than any types of brownies – it’s rich and very chocolatey. But there are times that I crave for cakey brownies – simple and it reminds me of my childhood years.

Cakey Brownies

  • Servings: 8-10
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • ½ tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 1 tsp espresso powder
  • ¼ cup butter, unsalted, softened to room temperature
  • ¾ cups white sugar
  • 1 tbsp corn syrup
  • 2 eggs, at room temperature
  • 3 tbsp milk, lukewarm
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • ½ cup dark chocolate chips, melted
  • 3/4 cups, peanuts (optional)

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Prepare an 8 x 8 baking pan lined with parchment paper. Lightly grease and set aside. Place the oven rack in the center of the oven.
  2. In a small bowl, combine flour, baking powder, salt and espresso powder.
  3. In a large bowl, add in butter and sugar. Mix until fluffy. Add in corn syrup, eggs, vanilla and milk. Mix until well combined. Add melted chocolate and mix again.
  4. Add dry ingredients to the chocolate mixture and mix until well incorporated.
  5. Transfer the batter to the prepared baking pan.
  6. Top with peanuts if using.
  7. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.
  8. Remove from the oven and leave brownies in the pan for 10 minutes, then transfer to a cooling rack to cool completely before cutting.

Source recipe: Cakey Brownies by Laura in the Kitchen

thenotsocreativecook-Nutty & Cakey Brownies4

My favorite brownies during my childhood has peanuts in it, so to satisfy my craving, I added peanuts. These are so good. These bars are the cakey brownies of my dreams.

I am taking these cakey brownies of my dreams at Angie’s @ The Novice Gardener for Fiesta Friday #48. ❤

I am also sharing these at Time to Sparkle, Sunday Sweets

I hope you enjoy these. Have a fantastic weekend!

name2

Find me on Instagram, Twitter, Pinterest and Facebook.

63 thoughts on “Cakey Brownies

  1. I’ve never had a brownie with peanuts in them, and because my son is allergic I avoid them completely now. But those look amazing!!! I am going to give your recipe without the nuts a shot. Thanks!

    1. These bars of Cakey Brownies are completely delicious without peanuts! I hope you’ll love every bite as much as I did! Thanks for stopping by. 🙂 xx

  2. Yum! Thanks for sharing!

    Not to be nosey or anything, but I was curious about that recipe/printing box you have the bottom of your post. Is there a way for me to get something similar on my blog? If it’s a secret, that is okay too 🙂

    1. Oh, Georgia, nothing is secret here. 😀 That’s a recipe shortcode. You can Google ‘Recipe shortcode for wordpress’ and you’ll get the link for the instructions. 😉 If there’s anything I could help with, let me know. 🙂 And let me know if you get yours – I mean the shortcode.

  3. I’m usually a fudgy chewy brownie kind of girl, but you are right sometimes you need to change it up, and what better way than with a chocolaty cake brownie, thanks for sharing, hugs:)

  4. Hi Bubbles – I never would have guessed that you are talkative!!!!!! Sometimes, it is just so nice to be alone with your thoughts and to just get on with getting work done so that there is free time to play…. I love the idea of the peanuts in your brownies – what a great idea. Cakey or fudgey, I will take them either way! Happy FF xxx

    1. Selma!!! I really missed you!! 😦
      I am happy that you liked this post. I am happy that you are here. I am happy to meet you. ❤
      I hope you had a great New Year's celeb. Happy 2015! ❤

  5. Love the brownies Jhuls! I never liked the chewy fudge ones!
    Sorry missed your post last week. It was a very busy week & weekend! Hope you had a great Christmas! Happy holidays!

    1. Oh, don’t worry, we are all having a hard time. 😀
      Glad you loved this, Su. And I am happy to see you here. I think I need to creat my Google account to comment on your posts. 😉 Happy 2015!

  6. I love any kind of chocolaty brownie and I have never used peanuts before. No chopping! I bet they would be good in all kinds of sweet things like fudge! I know what you mean about missing your quiet time – I think we all have had experiences like that. Thanks so much Jhuls for your kind words about my Gingerbread House tradition – you are too sweet 🙂

    1. If I had a scattered brain when I started my blog, now its worst. 😀 I was so good in time management until its slowly going away. 😦 I really miss blogging and chatting with all of you, Aunt Juju.

      Anyway, thanks for being here. And about the Gingerbread House tradition, its because I really loved it. We had an exchange gifts tradition for New Year’s day until it’s gone. 😦

      Happy 2015, Aunt Juju! ❤

  7. So smart to use peanuts . . . I think they are a zillion times better tasting than walnuts and pecans and such in baked goods! Beautiful photos and now I am hungry again for dessert!

  8. Aww, lovely story Jhuls, and your cakey brownies look just great! I’ll have 2 of them please. Do you have a new look to your blog? It’s very soothing :). I guess I need to try some new look too, I hear you can actually try out new ones and see which ones suit you best? Anyway, I do like yours.

    1. Thank you, Loretta. My eyes hurt with the old theme (small fonts), so I switched to a new theme. I am glad you liked the new look. ❤ I was supposed to change it on the first day of 2015 but I got impatient and changed it on Nov (I think). 😀 Have you changed the look of your blog yet?

    1. Hmm, you are the first person I know in this blogging world who doesn’t like fudgy brownies. I hope you let me know what you think of this recipe. 😀 Happy 2015, Sadia! ❤

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

