{Baking Challenge} Homemade Pizza Dough

One of my 2015 resolutions includes dealing with yeast again. If you follow my adventures since early 2014, maybe you could remember that I have couple encounters with the yeast beast. All of them were not perfectly successful that I had to say goodbye to the yeast for a while.
thenotsocreativecook-Pizza3I was invited by my colleague to a pizza lunch. I saw her make her pizza using a pizza maker. She told me the recipe except for the yeast. I kept asking her about the ‘smelly thing’ and she said she didn’t use the it. It didn’t come to me that she only meant active dry yeast, so even how many times I asked her, she said ‘No’ multiple times. Her kids were playing and called my name when she was showing me how she made her dough, so my eyes left the dough-making class for a short period. The next thing I know, she already prepared the bowl and the dough to rise. I was really amazed on how the dough has risen despite of the not usage of the ‘smelly thing’.

I emailed Linda to ask for help and she gladly assisted me in the pizza problems I had. After we had exchange of emails, I tried making a dough myself without the yeast. Luckily, it worked. The texture was quite different – very light and airy. Regardless, the pizza was delicious that I ate half in one sitting. ๐Ÿ˜€ I immediately sent photos to Linda and she was happy for me. Again, she convinced me to try making the dough with yeast and she promised me that no smell will occur again.
The following week, my friend made the dough again and I saw her put instant yeast. She said I did not specify the instant yeast, so when she told me about the ‘smelly thing’, she thought that I was ONLY asking about the active dried yeast. Again, I emailed Linda. (See how many times I bothered her with my problem? ๐Ÿ˜ )
This pizza craving did not let me sleep for how many nights. I have two choices – (1) try and accept the fact that it might not be successful or (2) I’ll just go on my life and let the yeast beast scare me again. With Linda’s encouragement + the craving I had for homemade pizza, it made me face the yeast again.

thenotsocreativecook-Pizza4In this, I made an estimate using my colleague’s recipe.

HOMEMADE PIZZA DOUGH Recipe

  • Servings: 2 12-inch round or 3 10-inch round
  • Difficulty: easy, needs practice
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2 ยฝ cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 ยฝ tsp instant yeast
  • 1 ยฝ tsp baking powder
  • 3 tbsp sugar
  • ยฝ tsp salt
  • ยพ cup warm water
  • 1/3 cup yogurt
  • 2 tbsp olive oil (or any flavorless oil)

(Youโ€™ll also need additional flour for your work surface and oil for your bowl.)

Instructions:

  1. Put all ingredients for the dough in a large bowl.
  2. Using a wooden spoon or your clean hands, mix the dough until you get all the flour from the bowl.
  3. Knead the dough until it becomes soft and does not sticks to your hands (about 10 minutes or more).. You can do the window pane test to know if the dough is readyย  You can also use your stand mixer to do the kneading for you. (You can do the kneading in a lightly floured surface or in a large plastic bowl. For me, since this is a pizza and doesnโ€™t need that much of โ€˜bubblesโ€™, I decided to knead using a large plastic bowl with ONLY my right hand working on the dough and it worked perfectly.)
  4. Shape the dough into a ball and put in an oiled bowl, cover using a plastic wrap or lint free towel. Keep it in a warm place and let it rise for an hour or until doubled in size.
  5. Punch the dough and transfer to a lightly floured surface. Knead for a few seconds.
  6. Divide the dough into 3 equal parts if you prefer a thin-crust pizza or 2 parts if you prefer something sort of a deep-pan pizza.
  7. Flatten the dough to 12 inches (or whatever you prefer) to fit your baking sheet.
  8. Preheat your oven at 400 F. While doing so, you can let your pizza dough rise before putting your favorite toppings.
  9. Bake at 15 minutes or until the mozzarella melts beautifully.
  10. Serve and enjoy immediately.

For mess-free eating, I chopped my veggies (green bell peppers, tomatoes, white onions and black olives). I made half Hawaiian and half veggies just the way I love it. For the sauce, I used tomato ketchup. Yep! Thatโ€™s right โ€“ the easiest and a good sub to store-bought pizza sauce or homemade. ๐Ÿ˜‰

thenotsocreativecook-Pizza2The pizza dough has risen to about 1-inch thick (the baking powder’s fault?). Apart from that, I don’t have any comments at all except that… wohoooo!!! I made a pizza dough!!!

I wanted to kiss the pizza as soon as it came out from the oven – it was so soft and so delicious. I better try making it thinner next time and try different toppings. Shawarma, maybe? Now, give me a really good Shawarma pizza topping recipe. Anyone? ๐Ÿ˜€

So, what do you think of my first pizza? ๐Ÿ˜€ I hope you like this and happy partying!!

name2

Find me on Instagram, Twitter, Pinterest, Google+ and Facebook.

I am sharing this with my friends at Fiesta Friday, hosted by Angie. Today, everyone is a co-host. How fun!! ๐Ÿ˜€

I am also sharing this at

#FoodieFriDIY

Sweet and Savoury Sundays

Tasty Tuesdays

ย #CookBlogShare

Recipe of the Week

Tickle my Tastebuds Tuesday

77 thoughts on “{Baking Challenge} Homemade Pizza Dough

  1. I may have to give this a go, we like pizza a lot and this looks so good! This has been featured as one of my favourites over at Sweet and Savoury Sunday. Stop by, grab a button and link up again with us this week. Have a great day!

  2. Oh stop! I swear that I’ve been telling myself that I’m going to make homemade pizza dough for weeks now! Are we on the same page or WHAT?! This looks SO good.. all of those toppings you put are exactly what I would choose too- Actually since I didn’t actually end up making my own dough this weekend, I bought pizza TWO DAYS in a row!!!! On Friday it was from a brick oven place, and Saturday…. a personal pan Pizza from Pizza hut, they’re my weakness. This conversation is making me so hungry and those pictures don’t help! I can’t wait to try this!!!!!

    1. I think we were on the same page, Steph. ๐Ÿ˜€
      I had once a craving for pizza, too, and I bought two large boxes and ate them for two days. ๐Ÿ˜€
      Your recipes and photos always make me hungry as well, so I guess it’s best if I make you hungry some time. ๐Ÿ˜› I hope you had a great weekend. xx

  3. Nothing like a homemade Pizza dough right? I love doing things from scratch too Jhuls ! I am so inspired to make a batch of pizza dough myself now . Thanks for sharing on FF ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. The pizza dough looks perfect! And the pizza delicious. Recipe saved, I might follow you and start baking, I feel inspired ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I think your pizza looks fantastic!! Yeast can be so finicky, and I haven’t tackled traditional pizza dough yet either. I may have to give yours a try ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Oh, Amanda! You could do better than this with all those amazing recipe you have been posting! ๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks a lot for stopping by. Have a wonderful week. xx

    1. That’s my goal – to make everybody hungry. Mwahahaha. ๐Ÿ˜€
      Thanks a lot for stopping by. Your latest pancakes recipe are so delicious. Have a fab week. xx

  6. I absolutely love homemade pizza! Yours looks great, Jhuls. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for bringing it. ๐Ÿ™‚
    First time I made my own dough, I realized how easy it was and made it so many times since. I loved your story on how you got to do it in the end. Patient friends are the best. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Well done Jhuls on beating the yeast! We make our own pizzas every couple of weeks using just flour, water, salt, sugar and fresh yeast. It took me a couple of attempts at using fresh yeast because of the funny smell! I kept thinking it was off! But once you get the hang of it no other pizza compares!

    1. I guess you’re right – I just need to get used to the smell of the yeast. ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Thanks a lot for stopping by. I will also try other pizza dough recipe for thinner dough. ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. Your pizza looks amazing jhuls! Good that you came over the yeast fear. ๐Ÿ˜ƒ now you can try out the wide range of items that contains yeast. ๐Ÿ˜Š btw i posted a pizza too in my blog this week.

      1. I use a teaspoon use of all of the following:
        Green cardamon powder
        Salt
        Pepper
        Nutmeg
        Cinnamon

        Mix with lemon juice and olive oil and use to marinade chicken for my boys, or vegetables for me, for at least a couple of hours, then sautรฉ or grill

        X

          1. Hmm, I failed when I tried making once. I will try again and the drizzle of garlic sauce sounds really good. ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. YOU GO Jhuls, it looks like you’ve conquered the yeast beast. That pizza looks delicious and it can be oh so versatile can’t it? Like you, I’m trying to challenge myself in that area too. Just this past week, I made a great English Muffin Loaf from Julie@HostesswithHeart’s recipe. I was so thrilled with the results, I’m on a quest to try our more bread recipes. Do you have any that you were successful with? Great job!

  10. Jhuls! Congrats on making pizza dough. I’m so glad you came back and tried using yeast again. Plus, your pizza looks delicious. Happy FF, and have a wonderful weekend! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Congratulations Jhuls!! ๐Ÿ˜€ I hope you keep making dough (be it pizza or any other kind!)! I always have homemade pizza dough in my freezer for emergency meals at home ๐Ÿ™‚ So absolutely LOOOOVE pizza! ๐Ÿ˜€
    I have to admit that I have never used baking powder in my pizza dough before… very curious as to how the texture might be different! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. I have made another pizza a week after this without baking powder, but I completely forgot how was it. In fact, I did that to make a comparison, but I guess I was taken away by how delicious homemade pizza is.
      Dini, my arms are in pain – I just kneaded dough last night for donuts. I could use the mixer, but as a beginner, I’d love to use my fatty hands. ๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks a lot for stopping by. xx

      1. hahaha!!! good luck with the donuts! ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope you don’t have to knead it for too long! Now I’m craving for donuts too!! might have to make some too now ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Can’t wait to see how they turn out!

        1. Oh, it’s my third time to make donuts, but I used instant yeast this time. I just fry them this afternoon and they didn’t turn out well as what I’ve expected. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

