Eggless and Butterless Moist Chocolate Cake

A moist chocolate cake without the use of eggs and butter – amazingly delicious.

thenotsocreativecook-Eggless&ButterlessChocCakeAt the beginning of 2015, I challenged myself to bake something without eggs and butter. Don’t think that I am losing my love for eggs and butter, because that would not happen. 😀 The reason behind that is I wanted to minimize my cost monthly.

Most of the time, like 99.9%, I always buy 60 pieces of eggs (for cooking and baking) and that should be my maximum limit. But there are times that I buy more than that. Can you tell me now how I really adore eggs? I sometimes eat eggs five times in a day, especially when I stress-eat, which I know a crazy thing to do. However, there are times that I don’t eat eggs in three days or even more than that… but when I do start eating eggs again, that will be, well, you know what happens with the eggs and the egg monster. I pretend that the 30 pieces are for baking, depending on what pops up… which, I know and I admit that I maybe consume less than 30 for baking. The rest? Don’t ask.
thenotsocreativecook-Eggless&ButterlessChocCake2
As for the butter, I consume almost 800g of butter monthly… but that was before. Since January I tried to minimize my consumption of butter… and I did. When I want to bake something, I make sure that I will just consume 400g (or less) butter in a month and that is one of the reasons why I plan what I want to bake or cook for the month… which I cannot really follow. 😛 Because as I said, you have so many recipes to cross-off and my mind is still downloading the others. 😀
As I bring you my first ever eggless and butterless cake, Mila and I have already taken our share. Well as co-hosts, we got hungry while coming and we decided to eat dessert first. 😀
I found this recipe from Elena @ As Easy As Apple Pie and it is so awesome as it is very easy to follow.

Eggless and Butterless Moist Chocolate Cake

  • Servings: 8
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

A moist chocolate cake without the use of eggs and butter – amazingly delicious.

Ingredientsthenotsocreativecook-Eggless&ButterlessChocCake2

  • 1½ cup + 2 tbsp all-purpose flour, sifted
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 2/3 cup + 1 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder, sifted
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1¾ cup + 2 tablespoons soy milk or dairy milk
  • 3 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • Icing sugar (powder sugar) for dusting

 Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 320 F.
  2. Combine and mix the flour, sugar, cocoa powder and baking powder in a large bowl.
  3. Mix the milk, vegetable oil and vanilla extract in another bowl.
  4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix with a wooden spoon until combine, but make sure not to overmix.
  5. Pour the batter in a greased and floured 8 inches round baking pan.
  6. Bake for 40 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
  7. Let the cake cool in a cooling rack and dust with icing sugar before serving.
  8. This can be kept inside the fridge for 3 to 4 days.

So what are you waiting for? Link up and join us while me and Mila help out Angie in eating your treats entertaining each and every one of you.

Click the bagde below to link up.

(Click here for the guidelines.)

name2

Find me on Instagram, Twitter, Pinterest, Google+ and Facebook.

119 thoughts on “Eggless and Butterless Moist Chocolate Cake

  1. I read this at 9am and automatically decided to try it, OMG the results are absolutely amazing, it’s sooo moist n balanced.woooooow

  2. This cake is really good! My husband and daughter ate almost half of the cake in 20 minutes, even before I was able to top it with confectioner’s sugar, lol. I loved that it didn’t use butter or eggs because I had neither but we wanted cake! I will definitely make it again. Thanks!

  3. This recipe is very great, easy, and tasty 🙂 I really love this recipe because it’s so easy! If you don’t have vegetable oil, I suggest canola oil.

    1. Hmm, I am not so sure, but I see recipes using olive oil in a cake. But I cannot guarantee the taste as I haven’t tried using other oil than veggie oil.

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

