Easy Chicken Liver Recipe

Personally, I prefer those happy-looking foods. What I mean by happy-looking foods are those with so much color and add-ins. ย ๐Ÿ˜€ For example, I love veggie fried rice with all those beautiful peas, corn and carrots. I also love seafood or veggie pizza more than the plain ones. I love sandwiches and burgers with all those veggies and sauces. I love to see and taste different flavors.

I donโ€™t have anything against plain, one-tone foods โ€“ I also love them. They are simple and easier to make, too. Especially when you are always in a hurry or have busy schedule, you opt to go with quick and easy meals.

thenotsocreativecook-ChickenLiver2

During weekends, especially Saturdays, I try my very best to make two savoury meals and one for my sweet tooth, or the other way around. With the busy schedule that I have, I should have something ready inside the fridge to heat or grab-on-the-go. But sometimes, you get sick eating the same food everyday so there are times that I go with instant noodles, fruit yogurt, cereals or eggs when I arrive home from work. ๐Ÿ˜ However, there are Saturdays when I have to run some errands to add to my baking and cooking sessions. In these times, I have to go with easy and quick dishes.

I love chicken livers and I love them BBQ-d. But going with the latter doesnโ€™t sound so quick and easy at all. Two things you can do โ€“ either marinate them the night before a busy schedule or you can just cook them right away. I almost know my activities for the weekend, so the night before, I marinated chicken livers. The marinade is very simple โ€“ olive oil, lemon, soy sauce, salt & pepper. You can โ€˜fryยด it the next day and you have a quick dish. ๐Ÿ˜‰

thenotsocreativecook-ChickenLiver

Easy Chicken Liver Recipe

  • Servings: 2-3
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 500g chicken liver
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • ยฝ tsp pepper
  • ยผ – ยฝ tsp salt
  • Extra oil for โ€˜fryingโ€™

Instructions:

  1. Heat oil in your grill pan or frying pan.
  2. Add chicken livers and cook both sides (about 5 minutes each) or until slightly โ€˜burntโ€™.
  3. Garnish with cilantro or parsley (I believe cilantro is best) and squeeze some lime or lemon juice.
  4. Serve with bread, rice or can be eaten alone.

ย Notes:

If you prefer to make this inside the oven, heat up your oven to 400F & bake for 15-20 minutes, making sure to flip them halfway of cooking.

Happy partying and have a wonderful weekend!!

name2

Find me on Instagram, Twitter, Pinterest, Google+ and Facebook.

I am sharing this at Fiesta Friday #64, hosted by the Amazing A.

I am also sharing this at:

tasty-tuesdays

CookBlogShare

Culinary-Thumb

74 thoughts on “Easy Chicken Liver Recipe

  1. I love LOVE chicken livers ever since I was a little girl. No one else in my family does… and so I only order them whenever I spot them on a restaurant menu. Think I need to make some at home too. Thanks for linking with #CookBlogShare

  2. Marinades always give meat the best flavours. Your recipe reminded me that I haven’t done that in ages! Thanks for linking to #TastyTuesdays

  3. Hooray a liver recipe! I really want to eat more liver and usually just fry mine with a coating of seasoned flour but this looks amazing. Can’t wait to try it.

    1. I haven’t tried them with seasoned flour. Thanks for the idea – I might give that a go. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for stopping by. xx

    1. I am glad that I somehow reminded you of your love for chicken livers. Have a great week & thanks a lot for stopping by. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. This is a rare dish. I have a standing order at my market for chicken livers which they save specially for me – otherwise they get thrown out. I will try them your way as I only have a couple of recipes and could use a change. Thanks for posting.

  5. It’s been a while since I’ve eaten chicken livers Jhuls, but this has certainly prompted me to bring it to the table again. A nice simple recipe with plenty of great flavors. Welcome to Fiesta Friday and thanks for bringing this dish. Chicken livers is an acquired taste, but I’m one of those who digs it :). Enjoy your weekend. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. I could eat all of these, Loretta, but then I have thought of my friends at Fiesta Friday. ๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks for being here. Have a fab week. xx

  6. My husband would LOVE this dish! I don’t like eating liver (because I was forced to when I was a kid!) but my husband LOVES them! I will definitely have to show this, so we can make some for him! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. looks good – cannot remember the last time I ate liver – usually don’t but I do remember eating chicken livers in France 1994 on a farm working holiday and they were really tasty

    1. It’s very easy to make – meal in a flash, I could say – you can even multitask when they are cooking. ๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks a lot for stopping by, Sadia. xx

  8. I don’t think I can be even more fond of you, Jhuls, but apparently I could, all because of this wonderful recipe. ๐Ÿ™‚
    I have always loved chicken liver, but I did not think that my friends in the U.S. would; now I know that I was wrong. This recipe is fantastic โค โค โค

    BTW, long time no talk. I miss you ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Hi, Pang! I’ve missed you, too. How’s everything? I hope you are okay. ๐Ÿ™‚
      I am glad that we share the love for chicken liver. ๐Ÿ˜€ Have a great week. xx

    1. Hmm, I never had pate – but it looks good, too. I might give that a try one day. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thanks for being here, Chef Mimi. Have a great week. xx

    1. I have seen your cauliflower again, Elaine. ๐Ÿ˜ I think I am falling in love with ‘Cauli’ ๐Ÿ˜

      What it says when you can’t post??

        1. Oh, I didn’t get that. I thought there’s something wrong with WordPress. ๐Ÿ˜€

          That’s alright, Elaine. And that’s so sweet of you. I really appreciate you thinking of me. xx

          1. I hope so too – my favourite foods are all plant based really – and I keep toying with the idea of going vegetarian (not with much success as you can see on my blog..) but I love a good vegan restaurant!

  9. I’ve been eating the same takeout from the same restaurant for 10 days and finally got a break on the weekend! I love chicken livers too but I’ve never tried the BBQ version. It looks like a nice alternative to my usual stew style. I’ll try it! BTW, the color of the dish looks just right ๐Ÿ˜€

    1. The BBQ’s chicken liver is my favorite way of cooking chicken liver. I hope you get a chance to try it and let me know. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. I’m with you! Add-ins are the best part about food!!! (Um hello, onion ring bo burgers anyone!)- That burger had a million add-ins! It’s so fun!! I hear you on the busy schedule and the regular food rotation- especially since we’ve reached Friday, I’m particularly sick of the norm. That’s why Fiesta Friday makes me SOOOOOO much more hungry than usual!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. I am so glad that I am not alone in this. I so much love foods with so much mixed ins – they look happier and happier to eat. ๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks for stopping by, Steph! xx

    1. Thanks a lot, Julie. I had to put down this dish first so I could proceed with the sweets. ๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks for stopping by. Have a lovely week. xx

  11. Soy sauce in the liver looks something different. I haven’t used it with liver, though all the other ingredients are the same. Will try your version. Looks good.

    1. I used the rich one because there are soy sauce that tastes ‘light’ but they are not low sodium or light soy sauce. I hope you let me know how you find it. ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a fab week! xx

  12. Hi Jhuls, I too love chicken livers, but I usually turn them into a pate and have never thought of just cooking them and eating them ‘whole’ – will have to give it a go……

    1. I never ate them ‘whole’ before, too, until I saw someone do it.
      ๐Ÿ˜€ I tried it and I loved it and I do the same since then. Thanks for stopping by. xx

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

