Chocolate Covered Oreo Overload Muffins

Yipee! It’s Friday once again and I am so excited to be partying with you today. Plus, I am co-hosting with Laurie @ Ten Times Tea. This will be fun as this is Laurie’s first time to co-host – be good to her, okay? And as Angie always says, you can go wild on me.  Hmm, I am thinking of giving you half of your share. 😛 Just kidding, you can enjoy the Chocolate Covered Oreo Overload Muffins I brought for this week’s Fiesta Friday #71. Don’t worry about how others are getting theirs – I have many of them hiding somewhere Angie’s place. 😀

One thing I could say that Laurie and I have in common – we are both carbohydrate monsters! So beware of you bringing carb-stuffs today. 😀

Let’s get the party started. Link up by clicking the badge below and have fun! For new comers, please see the guidelines.

Welcome to Fiesta Friday #71

fiesta-friday-badge-button-click-to-join1


Do you have those moments when you want to make something, but it didn’t out as what you’ve expected? Or the photo you have taken did not even match with the name of your food?? I know. I know. Not all days, we are lucky.

I had extra heavy cream which I used with a recipe I can’t even remember.

Chocolate Covered Oreo Overload Muffins-TNSCC3

I Googled for recipes using heavy cream and I got many that I didn’t know which one of them I should make.

The light bulb above my head just turned on and I remembered the Oreo Overload Muffins I did before. And to give these muffins update, I topped them with chocolate icing. Sounds great, yeah? Well, they are great, but the photos did not prove that these muffins are overloaded with Oreos. I know I just sliced a muffin with very little Oreo pieces, but still, it didn’t prove what it’s supposed to be.

Chocolate Covered Oreo Overload Muffins-TNSCC2

After all the complaints I said, of course, I did enjoy every bite. As I said when I first published the recipe, these muffins are like Oreo milkshake in muffin form. Now, covered with chocolate icing. You would consider that as the chocolate syrup on your milkshake. 😀

Chocolate Covered Oreo Overload Muffins Recipe

Ingredients:

For the Oreo muffins:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1 & 2/3 cups heavy cream
  • 1 cup chopped Oreos

For the Icing:

  • 2 ounces semisweet baking chocolate
  • 1 ½ tbsp coffee + 2 tbsp hot water
  • 5 to 6 tbsp unsalted butter

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350 F. Prepare and line muffin pan with 12 paper liners.

For the Oreo muffins:

  1. In a bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, baking powder and salt. Set aside.
  2. In another bowl, mix vegetable oil, egg and cream. Pour this mixture to the dry mixture and mix just until well combined.
  3. Add in chopped Oreos.
  4. Sprinkle streusel over the muffins.
  5. Bake for 15-20 minutes until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.
  6. Let cool in the muffin pan for few minutes, then transfer to a cooling rack to cool completely.
  7. Cover with chocolate icing (recipe below) and top with chopped/crushed Oreos.

For the icing:

  1. In heatproof bow, add coffee mixture and chocolate. Set over a larger saucepan with simmering water. Stir chocolate and coffee mixture until chocolate is melted and smooth.
  2. Remove bowl with melted chocolate and add in butter, then beat butter tablespoon at a time. Do this over a larger bowl with ice and water. Stir/beat until spreading consistency.

 I hope you enjoy. Happy Fiesta Friday! 😉

 name2

twitter pinterest instagram googleplus facebook
52 thoughts on “Chocolate Covered Oreo Overload Muffins

  1. These look and sound AMAZING !! Definitely my kind of sinful delicious treats 🙂
    Thank you for visiting my blog. I’m happy I’ve discovered yours!!

  2. These definitely still sound like oreo overload to me, very decadent! The topping looks great (even if you were disappointed in how photos of the inside look!) And thanks for co-hosting FF this week!

    1. I am really happy to know that you still love these, Caroline. And it’s always fun co-hosting. Thanks a lot for stopping by. 🙂

  3. Love the whole ‘overload’ title and concept for your muffins Jhuls!! Thanks for sharing these treats with us and for co-hosting the party again! 🙂

    1. With all your delicious breads, there’s is no question that you are one of us. 😀 Thanks for stopping by and I hope you have a blessed weekend. xx

    1. Crazy good recipe from a crazy good blogger. 😛 Oh, Sonal. You really know me very well. Thanks a lot for being here. Have a fab weekend. xx

  4. Hi Jhuls!!! How have you been?? It’s been a while since I have been able to circulate with everyone here at FF! I pop in and pop out! Before I can come back, it’s time for another fiesta already!! Time goes by so fast!! Love your chocolate, Oreo overload muffins!! My kids would love it!! Will definitely try them!! I also plan to try your red velvet tiramisu brownie!

    1. Hello, Su! It’s been a while, really. I have the same situation as you. I never finish all entries at FF. And it upsets me. 😦 I have not visited you too in a long time. I always use my phone since I got very busy at work and no way to blog. I could not comment on aside to WordPress users or self-hosting. I promise to visit you soon. And I hope you do let me know when you try the red velvet tiramisu brownies. 😀 Have a lovely weekend and I really appreciate you stopping by. I missed you. Happy FF. 🙂

    1. Is it the mood or what?? I should have slice another muffin, but I completely haven’t thought about that… until now. 😐 But anyway, since you loved these, I am okay now. 😀 Thanks, Michelle. Have a fab weekend. 🙂 xx

  5. Oh Jhuls, these are such fancy muffins (I love all the cream–they sound so tender and rich!)! And yes, I do love my carbs…and so I might just take two muffins…! 😀

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

