Dark Chocolate Strawberry Shortbread Cookies

It’s a little disappointing when you plan something only to find out that almost everything is ruined.

After a month of no baking, I badly missed it. I have written down all the recipes I’d like to make and even put it on schedule. I am also taking a break sometime next month, so I prefer to do some baking and cooking ahead of time. See – I have listed 3 recipes for every Saturday. After my boss asked me to report to work during Saturdays before I go on a short break, my mind was in a complete chaos. I am lucky that I have cooked and baked long before for the blog – that’s what planning ahead does to me. πŸ˜€ I will be on my third Saturday tomorrow and made 3 recipes so far (one is a no-bake).

Dark Chocolate Strawberry Shortbread Cookies - The Not So Creative Cook
I tried Googling easy recipes or no-bake, but I found nothing that suits my limited time. I still followed some on my list.

These yummies came out too sweet for me. What I’d do differently next time is to completely remove the sugar from the shortbread cookies since the strawberry jam is I used is already sweet. You can lessen yours, too, if you desire to. Nonetheless, I just love these cookies!! So yummy and perfect with a cup of tea. ❀

Dark Chocolate Strawberry Shortbread Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 6 oz butter
  • 2 tbsp white sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1ΒΎ cup flour
  • pinch of salt
  • ΒΌ cup strawberry jam
  • ΒΌ cup dark chocolate, melted
  • Powdered sugar drizzle (optional)*

Instructions:

  1. In a large bowl, add butter, sugar and vanilla. Beta until pale and fluffy (about 3 minutes). Add flour and salt, mix until just combined.
  2. Roll the dough into a disk and wrap with cling wrap. Keep in the fridge for an hour or up to overnight.
  3. Before cutting the dough,Β preheat oven to 350 F. Prepare baking sheet(s) and line with parchment paper.
  4. Remove the dough from the fridge and roll the dough to Β½ inch thickness.
  5. Cut the dough using a 3-inch cookie cutter (or whatever size you prefer, as long as it’s a bite-size one). Place them on the prepared baking sheet(s).
  6. Bake for about 10-12 minutes or until edges turn beautifully golden brown.
  7. Remove from the pan let cool on the pan for 2 minutes, then transfer a cooling rack to coolΒ further.
  8. When cookies are cooled, spread jam on top of each cookie, drizzle with melted dark chocolate and if desired, top with powdered sugar drizzle.

Note: For the powdered sugar drizzle, place a desired quantity of powdered sugar then slowly add water while mixing until desired consistency is achieved.

Source recipe: Dark Chocolate Strawberry Shortbread Cookies by Apple of My Eye

I hope you enjoy these cookies. Have a lovely weekend!!

name2

twitterΒ pinterestΒ instagramΒ googleplusΒ facebook

I am sharing this atΒ Fiesta Friday #82, hosted by theΒ Amazing Angie.Β For this week’s FF, please welcome our first time co-host, Sarah @ Sarah’s Little Kitchen and a returning one, Kaila @ GF Life 24/7. Please do link up, guys! πŸ˜‰


I am sharing these cookies at

Showcase Your Talent Thursday |Β Foodie FriDIY |Β Tasty Tuesdays |Β Totally Terrific Tuesday |Β Turn It Up Tuesday |Β Melt in Your Mouth Monday |Β What’d You Do This Weekend?! |Β Lou Lou Girls Fabulous Party |Β Recipe of the Week |Β Friday Favorites | Foodie Friends Friday | Saucy Saturdays | Sunday Sweets | Happiness is Homemade |

****

Featured at:

Saucy Saturdays #9

****

Are you a cookie monster?

Twist Cookies

thenotsocreativecook-TwistCookies

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

thenotsocreativecook-OatmealRaisinCookies

47 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Strawberry Shortbread Cookies

    1. I have already linked back to your post since I added my link to your InLinkz, Vicki. πŸ™‚ And your badge is always on the widget area, too. Thanks a lot for stopping by. πŸ™‚

  1. Loving this and I’m drooling! You are so talented. Thanks for sharing this at our party. Pinned and tweeted. I hope to see you on Monday at 7 pm, so we get to party with you again! Lou Lou Girls

  2. I don’t know how I missed this post. I guess I need to correct myself for saying I didn’t find vegetarian recipes in the recent past… Sorry Jhuls! They look yum!! And I don’t like my sweets too sweet either… I would probably try a chocolate-orange combi soon… πŸ™‚

  3. These are so up my alley. We love shortbread in this house although I’ve never made it myself!! Time to change that. Thanks for linking up at #SaucySaturdays!

    1. Thanks, Justine. Just make sure to consider how much sweetness do you want. You can lessen the sugar or completely remove them if you are going with the strawberry jam topping – oh they are delish. πŸ™‚

  4. Jhules, while they may be too sweet, they look divine . And, I love how you had a recommendation for those who want their treat to be a little less sweet. I’m doing something similar to you. I had a labrum repair in my dominant shoulder, so now I’m reading blogs and planning what I want to make when I’m back in the kitchen in 2 months.

    Thank you so much for bringing these to the fiesta this week! Happy FF, and have a fabulous weekend!! πŸ™‚

    1. Oh! Meaning you’ll not be in the kitchen for 2 months? Thank you so much, Kaila. Hope you are good and have a lovely wek ahead. Sending you hugs! Thanks for co-hosting this week’s FF!

      1. Of course, I love co-hosting! Yeah, my sling is on for six weeks, and it’ll be a little longer before I can pick things up to cook. But, I have plenty of recipes to share and I may feature some from my mom too. Happy FF again! πŸ˜€

        1. Oh! The sling! I had one for only two days and I got crazy coz I can’t do anything, most especially being in the kitchen. Hope you get better very soon. xx

  5. Jhuls! Why are you always seducing me with all those pretty little cookies, cakes etc :O Stop it!
    Just kidding! Don’t stop, never πŸ˜€ Your cookies look so yummy and super adorable!Thanks for sharing them with us at the party! Happy FF ❀

    1. I was thrilled when I knew you are co-hosting. I thought ‘thank goodness, I have something sweet’ πŸ˜€ Thanks, Sarah! Happy co-hosting! πŸ˜‰

      1. Hahahaha yes that’s always a good idea to have some sweets when I come to visit :p Thanks! I’m enjoying myself a lot! I hope I’m enjoyable for the party peeps around here as well πŸ™‚

    1. Oh! If only you could see how my mind makes plans while I am typing on a computer or doing something else. I am at work doing my thing, but my mind doesn’t stop of making schedules for me. I tried pushing those thoughts away, but I can’t help it. πŸ˜€ Thanks, Ana! 😘

    1. I could have finished about 12 recipes in a month. Sigh!

      Haha, I know how you feel, Elaine. There are people who can’t handle too much sweetness like me even if I love sweets. Glad that I still enjoyed the cookies. Happy FF, Elaine! xx

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

