Filipino Cheese Sticks

Cheese Sticks

There are people who loves their food smoking hot, fresh the cooking pot or oven. There are people who loves their food warm. And there are people who loves their food at room temperature. I am one of those people. Not all food, I must say. Or not all the time. Hmm, most of the time.

I remember when my Mom used to cook rice and room temperature rice left for me, I always get in advance from the freshly cooked rice and put it in the fridge. πŸ˜€ I really don’t mind eating like that or drinking a room temperature tea. I always get that, anyway. πŸ˜›

One of the things I could eat at room temperature or even two days old are these cheese sticks.

Cheese Sticks 3

I am not sure if this is popular in the Philippines, but I eat like mad when I make these. They are made by slicing cheddar cheese and adding a little condensed milk before wrapping them in spring roll wrappers, then fried to perfection. The cheese melts and flows out from the wrapper which creates bits of deliciousness outside. I could not eat much when condensed milk and cheese are together (migraine problem), but I don’t mind having one as long as I enjoy these. πŸ˜‰ As for the dipping sauce, I use mixture of banana ketchup and mayonnaise… but mayo alone is okay. I always make batches and keep some for another two days. I always enjoy them even they are two days old. πŸ™‚

Cheese Sticks 4

Cheese Sticks

Ingredients:

  • 30 spring roll wrappers
  • 250 g cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 cup condensed milk
  • Cooking oil
  • Banana ketchup
  • Mayonnaise

Instrucrions:

  1. Combine banana ketchup and mayonnaise. Set aside in the fridge until ready to use.
  2. Slice cheese about 3 inches long. The thickness depends on you. I like mine a little thick.
  3. Place on top of the spring roll wrapper. Add about 1 tsp condensed milk and wrap. Repeat until you have used all your spring roll wrappers or your cheese.
  4. Fry until cooked.
  5. Serve with banana ketchup-mayonnaise dipping sauce.

Notes:

You will notice that the cheese will melt and the condensed milk will flow. Just keep on frying and they will be okay at the end.

You may omit the condensed milk.

These can be served with only mayonnaise as your dipping sauce.

Cheese Sticks 2.

I hope you like my version of cheese sticks. Have a fun weekend to everyone! πŸ˜‰

name2

twitterΒ pinterestΒ instagramΒ googleplusΒ facebook

I am sharing this atΒ Fiesta Friday #90, hosted by theΒ Amazing Angie, co-hosted by Effie and Lindy.

I am also sharing these delicious cheese sticks at

Saucy Saturdays | Recipe of the Week | Happiness is Homemade | Munching Mondays | What’d You Do This Weekend? | Turn It Up Tuesday | Totally Terrific Tuesday | Β Showcase Your Talent Thursday |Β Cook Blog Share |Β Foodie Friends FridayΒ | Kitchen Fun and Crafty Friday |Β Melt in Your Mouth Monday |Β 

53 thoughts on “Filipino Cheese Sticks

  1. These looks so good, Jhuls! All those crunchy fried cheesy bits! And it’s that perfect pastry that can be eaten both hot and melty and at room temprature. Banana ketchup you say? I’ll have to look into that! Thanks so much for sharing with FF#90 πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you, Effie. I am really happy that you loved these and thank you for choosing this to be featured at FF. Much appreciated. πŸ™‚ I hope you are having a lovely time. xx

  2. Salam Jhuls! My family loves cheese sticks so much! We eat it for afternoon snack all the time! This is my first time to know that you can add condensed milk though! We might have to try it. ❀ Thanks for this recipe.

  3. Beautiful crispy cheese sticks Jhuls. I love anything with cheese in it. But hot dripping cheese. So I would love to eat this hot. I have never heard of banana ketchup. Is it sweet or savory. And since there is mayo in it , I am wondering what these spring rolls taste- sweet or savory.

  4. Jhuls, I can see why you eat so many of these! They look delicious. I completely understand why you only need mayonnaise to compliment this delicious treat. I’m definitely not a person who can get my food down when it’s piping hot. Happy FF, and I hope you have a lovely weekend! πŸ˜€

    P.S: Love your photographs too!

    1. I’ve been planning to make banana ketchup, but I still can’t get it into the schedule. 😐 Anyway, the store bought is also good. Maybe next time. πŸ˜€ Thanks, Julie. xx

  5. Mmm, these sounds wonderful! I imagine I could have a TON of these in one sitting. I’m also a room-temperature food/drinks kind of girl. I leave my coffee for ages before its JUST right to drink πŸ™‚

    1. Haha! I always get someone’s coffee and put it aside to drink later if they don’t finish it. πŸ˜€ Thanks for stopping by, Habiba. Glad you liked the cheese sticks. πŸ™‚

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

