Tricky Tuesdays: Heavy Cream vs Whipping Cream

I’ve always thought that heavy cream and whipping cream are exactly the same. I never doubted that they are two different kinds of cream until I cannot get a good whip from a whipping cream.

HC vs WC 2

Whipping cream contains between 30% to 36% fat content.

Heavy cream contains 36% or even more.

This fat content is needed to make the cream stable when whipped. The higher the fat content, the more it will be stable.

In my local grocery store, I rarely find heavy cream. If I can remember it correctly, there was once when I made these Tiramisu Cupcakes.

There are times that I don’t even notice if I take heavy or whipping cream, until I made cupcakes with whipped cream frosting and I got a total cream meltdown the moment I took my photos. I went back to the garbage bin to see what cream did I get and that’s the time when I searched about heavy cream and whipping cream.

Though whipping cream cannot hold its shape for a long time, there is one way on how to maintain its stability. The solution is the use of gelatin powder (agar-agar for the vegetarian substitute). The gelatin powder helps the whipping cream holds it shape a lot longer. You can run to Google and ask for ‘Stabilized Whipped Cream’ recipes and see what works for you. 😉

“Sharing will enrich everyone with more knowledge.” -Ana Monnar

Wishing you a day full of smiles! 😀 😀 😀

name2

twitter pinterest instagram googleplus facebook

22 thoughts on “Tricky Tuesdays: Heavy Cream vs Whipping Cream

  1. Thanks for the tip Jhuls. Will try next time. Buttercream frosting is the safest bet for me when my cakes need to stand out longer in moist and warm weather conditions. Other wise nothing like cream whipped light and right.

      1. I’m not too bothered by the fat, it’s the chemicals they put in instead that worry me! If I need a chemistry degree to understand the list of ingredients, then I’d rather avoid it 😉

          1. Thanks a lot for the judging the competitions so well and choosing the right recipe..I’ll announce the results in a few hours

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

