{Versions & Verdicts} Dini’s Best Spicy Sweet Chili Sauce

The best sweet chili sauce I have ever tasted!

Sweet Chili Sauce - TNSCC 1

As a person who loves to cook (and eat), I always have pantry-must-haves –Β two types of ketchups (banana and tomato), vinegars (apple cider, rice vinegar and the white one), dried powders, blah blah blah… and dipping sauce and that is sweet chili sauce. I always have a bottle or two and I make sure to buy one before it’s all gone. I can’t be out of sweet chili sauce or else there will be chaos. πŸ˜€ I don’t use them that much, but if I begin to, I could finish half of the bottle at once. And no, I don’t drink it. Really. πŸ˜€

Sweet Chili Sauce - TNSCC 4

I’ve always wanted to make my own sweet chili sauce, but I don’t want to use fresh red chilies. So when I found Dini’s Best Spicy Sweet Chili Sauce, I just couldn’t let it pass. I love how she used Sambal Oelek instead of fresh red chilies. I mean, it’s mess and hassle free. Let’s say I am not too friendly with slicing/chopping things off.

Sambal Oelek
Sambal Oelek

This sauce is amazingly good even without the presence of cayenne powder. The house smelled incredible while I was making this. I could not easily forget the smell or the taste of something I really, really love… but when I made this and got to taste it, I forgot how the store-bought sweet chili sauce smells and tastes like. And it only means one thing – I have to ditch the store-bought one and make this more often.

Sweet Chili Sauce - TNSCC 2

As I am writing this, I still have half of the recipe sitting beautifully inside the fridge and soon to be devoured with some eggplant omelette and a good serving of rice. Yum! πŸ˜€

Sweet Chili Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1 Β½ tbsp cornflour
  • 2 tbsp water
  • Β½ cup rice vinegar
  • 1 cup water
  • 120g white sugar
  • 4 garlic cloves, chopped finely
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 63g Sambal Oelek

Instructions:

  1. In a small bowl, mix cornflour and water. Set aside.
  2. In a nonstick sauce pan, add in the rest of the ingredients and over a medium-high heat, simmer for 10 minutes.
  3. Add in the cornflour-water mixture and continue simmering until the sauce has thickened.
  4. Let cool a little and transfer to a sterilized air-tight glass jar to keep it longer.
  5. Let cool to room temperature before storing inside the fridge.

Notes:

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper can also be added for an extra kick.Β 

2-3 bird’s eye chili can be used (instead of Sambal Oelek) which I think will give you a Β mildly hot kick.Β 

This yields about 1 1/2 cups.

Source recipe: The Best Spicy Sweet Chili Sauce by The Flavor Bender

Sweet Chili Sauce - TNSCC 3
I wanted to show you how it looks like, but I can’t get a clear shot. 😦

I am thankful to Dini for sharing this very wonderful recipe that I am sure I am going to make frequently. Dini has such an amazing, amazing blog and mouth-watering, tempting GIFs. πŸ˜€ If you haven’t visited her yet, now is the right time. πŸ˜€ Just go to The Flavor Bender and you’ll see what I am talking about. πŸ˜‰

I am sharing this sweet chili sauce with my friends at Fiesta Friday # 108, an awesome party hosted by Angie and co-hosted by Suzanne and Zeba.

I wish you also try this recipe and I am sure you’d not regret it. I wish you all a lovely weekend, and…

Wishing you a day full of smiles! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

name2

twitterΒ pinterestΒ instagramΒ googleplusΒ facebook
83 thoughts on “{Versions & Verdicts} Dini’s Best Spicy Sweet Chili Sauce

  1. I love sweet chilli sauce but have never made it. We grow chillis in the greenhouse so I have pinned this recipe to try in the summer! Thank you for sharing with #CookBlogShare x

  2. I love chilli sauce! Can’t wait to try this☺ Would you like to judge the challenge for April too? Or are you participating this time?☺☺☺☺☺☺

    1. Thanks a lot, Lina.
      I’d like to be the judge again. I am scared to participate, I don’t have much background with veggies or anything with veggie in it.πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Thanks again for the opportunity, Lina. Soooo excited!

  3. I have been wanting to make my own home-made chili sauce for ages, and here it is! I always have a bottle in the fridge but this looks so fresh and flavorful~

    Thanks for sharing this with us on Throwback Thursday~

    Mollie

  4. * just the sight of some foods tickles our taste buds and this sauce is surely one of them.
    I need to unfollow and follow you back Jhuls because your posts don’t appear on my reader.

    1. This sauce really awesome! I still have some sitting inside the fridge – waiting for the weekend to be enjoyed again. And I am trying how long it will last inside the fridge. πŸ˜€ Thanks, Ana! x

    1. That was my question when I saw Dini’s recipe. She used 200g sugar & I used 180g. 180g is fine with me, so you can cut yours, too. And let me know. πŸ˜€ Thanks, Chef Mimi. x

  5. I love sweet chili sauce as well Jhuls, though maybe not quite as much as you do! (Your comment about drinking made me laugh πŸ˜€ ). The sauce looks just like the one from the bottle, and sounds so much better! I like how making it at home would give the option to adjust the sweetness. Dini is a source of so many amazing recipes and ideas!

    1. If only I won’t get sick when I drink this, I will. πŸ˜€ I am crazy over sweet chili sauce (like eggs) – I should always have some ready to be used. Thanks a lot, Laurie. x

    1. Hmmm, I am still dreaming of making my own Harissa. πŸ˜€ This is excellent with egg rolls, Linda, or anything fried. πŸ˜‰ Thanks, my friend and have a lovely weekend, too. x

  6. It looks absolutely delicious, I am so with you on the sweet chilli sauce thing. I would never have thought of using sambal olek! Happy Fiesta Friday πŸ™‚

  7. Now I need to find the sambal bottle. sounds delicious. I have the same set of vinegars too including red wine vinegar. Use that a lot for salads. Between I got the same mat.. πŸ˜‰

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

