Pan De Sal

Contrary to the literal meaning “salt bread”, Pandesal is slightly sweet rather than salty. It is soft and has a crunchy crust and usually dipped in hot coffee. 

Pan de Sal - TNSCC 1

Pan De Sal is a very famous and the most common bread in Philippines which was said to be have originated in Portugal. It is literally translated as “salt bread”, though every bite is slightly sweet. Pan De Sal (commonly written as Pandesal) is also called “poor man’s bread” due to its very cheap price and availability in most of the bakeries in the Philippines.

Pandesal is staple in our breakfast and usually dipped in hot coffee rather than paired with jam or butter. I prefer mine dipped in hot coffee or Milo. I also love my Pandesal toasted with margarine and sugar. I must confess that my favorite is when my Pandesal is paired with sunny side up eggs. 😀

Pan de Sal - TNSCC 2

Pandesal is usually soft, but you will feel a crunchy crust from the outside. It is a yeast-bread that is rolled into a log, cut into individual pieces then rolled into breadcrumbs before baking. Though I enjoy my Pandesal with our usual pairs, you could pair it with endless choices. 😉

Pandesal

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 tsp instant yeast
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup bread flour
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 tap baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup + 2 tbsp fresh milk, warm
  • 1 small egg
  • 1/2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 2 1/2 tbsp butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs

Instructions:

  1. In a bowl, combine flour, yeast, sugar and baking powder. Mix to incorporate. Add salt and mix again.
  2. In another bowl, mix warm milk, egg, oil and butter. Add this mixture to the dry ingredients. Using a wooden spoon, mix until well combined.
  3. In a lightly floured surface, knead the dough until smooth and elastic. Form into a ball and place in a lighly oiled bowl. Cover with cling wrap for one hour or until doubled in size.
  4. In a lightly floured surface, divide the dough into two equal parts. Form each into a log and cut individual sizes diagonally (about 3/4 inch thickness).
  5. Roll each into the breadcrumbs and place in a parchment-lined baking sheet making sure to keep a distance between each Pandesal. Cover in a lint-free towel or cling wrap and let rise again for about 30 minutes.
  6. Preheat the oven to 375 F and bake the Pandesal for 15 minutes.
  7. Remove from the oven and serve hot.

Source recipe: Pandesal by Panlasang Pinoy

Now, you decide how many of these you’d like to have at Fiesta Friday # 119. 🙂 I am sure AngieAhila and Diann are deciding now. 😀

Happy Fiesta Friday!

Always wishing you a blessed day and full of smiles. 😀

name2

twitter pinterest instagram googleplus facebook

I am so happy to share this as well at


Featured at Cook Blog Share
52 thoughts on “Pan De Sal

  1. That looks so soft and delicious! I am intrigued by dipping it in coffee too. I have never dipped my bread in coffee, but you do donuts and cookies so it makes sense! I can’t wait to try these. Thanks for sharing at Throwback Thursday!

    1. Hello, Carlee. Better late than never, right? Thanks a lot for stopping by. Sorry to be just responding. Life has been really busy and crazy. I hope you are having a good time. 🙂

  2. I loved learning about this bread and how to eat it! It looks lovely and that it is rolled in bread crumbs is so interesting! Thanks for sharing with us on Throwback Thursday, too!

    Mollie

    1. Hi, Mollie. Thanks for always welcoming me at your great party. I’ve been quiet lately – life has been crazy. I hope your everyday is better than me. 🙂 x

  3. So this is the famous classic Filipino bread I’ve heard so much about! It’d be nice if I can just go to a local bakery and buy it, right Jhuls? But I think I’m better off making it myself. So thanks for the recipe, darlin! XOXO

    1. The ones from local grocery store is pretty delicious, too, if you are lucky. 😛 But yeah, homemade is always the best. Thanks, Angie! x See you.

  4. This looks wonderful and is new to me. I wonder if I might successfully adapt it to whole wheat flour and sourdough starter? It wouldn’t be as light of course, but I’d surely like to give it a try.

    1. I haven’t worked with sourdough starter so I cannot vouch for it. Using whole wheat flour sounds good, though. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  5. Hi Jhuls, Thanks for bringing back memories! Been meaning to make these at home. Milo? Ha! Thanks for the reminder–might have to scout the Asian stores over here in Florida for this delicious chocolate drink mix. Stopping by from the Happiness is Homemade Link Party. Joined for the first time and your pan de sal post caught my eye. Have a wonderful week ahead!

  6. Used to buy pan de sal from a local baker, but they went out of business. Love that I could make my own 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

    1. I’ve read that a mixture of golden flax meal and cold water is a good egg substitute in making breads. Just don’t know the exact measurements. 🙂

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

