Cocoa Crusted Roasted Cauliflower

Weird, but delicious! 

Cocoa Crusted Roasted Cauliflower - TNSCC 2

Let me ask you –

Do you have weird food combinations? Do you eat something weird and nobody could understand? I am one of those people.

Let me give you an example:

I accidentally discovered that I love fried chicken and strawberry jam in a sandwich.

I love Milo on my rice when I eat scrambled egg or processed corned beef.

When I was a kid, I eat sunny side up eggs, broken down with my rice and add a little water and salt to it. Though I must admit that I still do that once in a while. 😀

And I still cannot understand the combination of banana and peanut butter.

Uhm, how about cocoa powder and cauliflower? I know, right?

I bumped into a recipe, but I just cannot stop thinking about it and the only thing I have to do to understand is to try it.

Cocoa Crusted Roasted Cauliflower - TNSCC 1

You know I am not very good in describing how the food really tastes like, but these are so good. Maybe you just have to use your imagination. 😛 These are also good with a splash of tahini sauce or maybe serve with hummus! Yum! 😉

Cocoa Crusted Roasted Cauliflower

Ingredients:

  • 1 small cauliflower, broken into florets
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp smoked paprika
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp sumac, optional

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 F degrees. Prepare a parchment-lined baking sheet. Set aside.
  2. In a small bowl, combine cocoa powder, smoked paprika, salt and sumac. Coat cauliflower florets in olive oil. Using a fork or tong, hold florets at the stems and sprinkle each with the cocoa mixture.
  3. Place on the prepared baking sheet.
  4. Bake for 20-30 minutes or until cauliflower is fork tender.
  5. Serve immediately.

Source recipe: Cocoa Crusted Roasted Cauliflower by Apron Strings

What do you say, my friends at Fiesta Friday #120? Thanks to Angie, Loretta and Linda for this week’s party.

Happy Fiesta Friday!

Always wishing you a blessed day and full of smiles. 😀

name2

twitter pinterest instagram googleplus facebook

I am also sharing at

47 thoughts on “Cocoa Crusted Roasted Cauliflower

  1. Ok, now this is crazy, but you better believe the next time I’m roasting cauliflower I’ll sneak some off to the side of the pan and try it! Thanks for linking up with us at Throwback Thursday! Have a great Memorial Day Weekend!

    Mollie

    1. Yeah, you can try with few pieces at first and that’s what I did! Thanks a lot for having me at your party, Mollie. Have a lovely weekend! x

    1. I love anything roasted cauliflower, too. So to try and to the list, I did try this and I loved the result. Hope you’ll like it, too. 🙂 Thanks for being here, Mandy. 🙂

  2. The what cauliflower now??? Are you trying to pull our leg, Jhuls?! Hehe…sounds pretty fantastic actually. Cocoa crusted anything should be very good! And btw, you should really try the banana peanut butter combo! I swear by it!

    1. I have tried the peanut butter & banana combo, but in smoothie. Hmm, I will try some other time, maybe my taste that time was not in a good mood. 😀

  3. An inspiring post Jhuls!! I enjoy seeing what other weird combination of foods others enjoy. Funny you mention peanut butter and banana. (Not an odd combination in my opinion) By coincidence I had a peanut butter, banana, raisin and agave syrup quesadilla for breakfast this morning. I thought it was worth posting at some point.. But you’re right, I can’t understand some of the combos you mention!

  4. Jhuls, you always impress me with your cuisine. You are adventurous 😀 and I like that but I’m really curious how it tastes…Happy FF and have a wonderful weekend! 🙂 xx

    1. I hope you will like it as much as I did. My cousin said it’s really weird and I don’t think she liked it. Haha! But we have different tastes afterall. 🙂

    1. I hope I won’t disappoint you, Zeba. See, it is a risk for me to share such recipe as I expected raising of the eyebrows or scratch in the head, but I really hope some find it interesting and will try it. 🙂 I loved it, so I guess you and some will feel the same. 🙂 Thanks, Zeba. x

  5. This sounds very interesting Jhuls! I don’t really know if I have any weird food combinations but this is one I could do too I guess 🙂 It sounds good and I love boh ingredients so what can go wrong, right? 😀 Happy FF! xx

    1. I was into sumac kick the time I made this, so I added some and I loved it. I hope you’ll love it, Liz. I was just thinking of you pan-fried cauliflower. 😀

  6. Jhuls I need a cauliflower now… like RIGHT NOW! 😛 I ‘need’ to know what this tastes like! 🙂 When I first read it I thought it said coconut crusted – that would be good but cocoa crusted hmmm! 😀 This is on the menu this weekend for sure! Thanks for sharing such an intriguing dish 🙂 Happy FF 🙂

    1. I was hesitant at first, but I told myself I have to try it so I would know. Otherwise, I will keep telling myself “what if”… and I don’t what that to be the reason I couldn’t sleep at night. Haha! Thanks for stopping by and I hope you will like them. 😉

      1. Yes that’s what I’m thinking 🙂 But its chocolate right so it has to be good! 😀 I will use raw cacao (as that’s all we have at home) and hopefully this will be in the oven tonight! Enjoy the rest of the weekend 🙂

  7. What a wonderful and intriguing combination of flavors Jhuls. I’m sure everyone at the Fiesta will be wondering about the taste of this combo. Anything with cocoa on it, I’ll have to say I will love it. The additional sumac and smoked paprika will definitely add an intense and nutty flavor, count me in. 🙂

    1. I am glad to know that you liked them, Loretta, despite of the weird combination. Thanks for co-hosting this week’s FF! Happy co-hositng! 😉 x

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

