Chocolate Tablea Cake

Moist and soft chocolate cake made with tablea powder, filled with sweet custard filling and topped with slightly bitter chocolate frosting

Chocolate Tablea Cake 3

There are two reasons why I don’t make cakes often.

First, because it is time consuming for me as I have only one round baking pan. The scene is I always wait for the first layer to be done and cooled a little before I can place the next layer inside the oven. I know I can buy another round pan, but I don’t want to (read: exploding kitchen cupboards).

Second, I am bad at decorating cakes. If I do insist on decorating a cake, I always end up either laughing or disappointed at how my cake looks like.

The first chocolate cake I have made was filled with chocolate and I placed large marshmallows on the center edges that they looked like teeth. You know what I mean? The next ones were amazing because I just topped them with the lonely chocolate frosting. The recent one, though, I am not sure to feel disappointed or not.

My blog turned 4 on April 23 and I felt that I needed to make up for last year’s forgotten blogiversary. I’ve thought of making a chocolate cake topped with chocolate decorations and candles. You can say that it didn’t turn out the way I wanted it to be.

Chocolate Tablea Cake 1

I made a mistake in the batter itself – the batter was full of lumps. It looked like cookies and cream. Let me blame the evaporated milk: it did not tell me that I need to warm it. The cake turned our perfect, though. I was relived. I slept and decided to give myself a break and make the filling and frosting the next day. The texture of the filling was okay, but I placed the full frosting on top of the bottom layer which caused the first layer to slide a bit when sliced. And that’s me overdoing things… again! Let me give you a good reason: I don’t want to have filling leftover. Accepted? The chocolate frosting did not bring a lot of trouble. I just ran out of evaporated milk and so lazy to buy another can, so I just wished everything will be fine. Hmm, the chocolate decoration almost took my sanity away! I am sure I made a terrible mistake that they melted when I was holding them to place on top of the cake. What did I do wrong? No clue!

I was hesitant to share this, but the taste was really nice. The cake is soft. The custard filling is sweet, but the chocolate frosting balances everything. So I must say that the taste is perfect! It is just so upsetting that the photos can’t do justice to how I loved the cake! I used tablea powder for the cake and forsting, but cocoa powder could be used, too. Tableas are made from 100% pure cacao beans which are in thick disk/tablet-like form.

Chocolate Tablea Cake 2

I hope you will still enjoy this cake and spend the belated celebration with me. Also, let me take this opportunity to thank everyone who has been with me since the beginning and whom I’ve met along the way. I’ve made really good friends. So my blog will be one of the things I could be proud of! Now, forget the outer appearance of this cake and just enjoy a slice or two.

I am taking this over Fiesta Friday #170, a party created by our lovely Angie. Our co-hosts this week are Monika and Sue.

Chocolate Tablea Cake

  • Difficulty: easy, needs patience
  • Print

Chocolate Tablea Cake 3

For the cake:

Ingredients:

  • 2 ½ cups all purpose flour
  • 3 tsp. baking powder
  • 3 tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ¾ tablea powder*
  • 1 cup evaporated milk*
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 ½ tsp vanilla extract
  • 225 g butter, unsalted and softened at room temperature
  • 2 ½ cup sugar
  • 3 eggs, room temperature

Instructions:

If you are using tablea disks, place about 8-10 disks in a coffee grinder and grind until fine. You can also use cocoa powder.

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Prepare 2 8 inches round baking pan with parchment paper on the bottom and spray with nonstick spray.
  2. In a bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and powdered tablea in a bowl. Set aside.
  3. In a heatproof jug, add evaporated milk. Microwave for 30 seconds or just until warmed up. Mix in water and vanilla. Set aside.
  4. In a large bowl, add butter and sugar until pale and fluffy (about 3 minutes). Add eggs one at a time, mixing after each addition. Alternately add dry and liquid ingredients starting and ending with the flour mixture. Mix until no lumps, but don’t overmix.
  5. Divide into prepared pans bake for 25-35 minutes or until toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.
  6. Remove from the oven and let stay in the pan for 10 minutes.
  7. Transfer to a cooling rack and cool completely before filling and frosting.

For the custard filling:

Ingredients:

  • 1 can condensed milk
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 3 tbsp flour

Instructions:

  1. In a thick saucepan, add all ingredients. Cook in a low fire while constantly stirring. This may take a while – please be patient.
  2. Cook until desired spreading consistency is achieved.
  3. Set aside to cool. (Please note that the filling thickens as it cools.)

For the chocolate frosting:

Ingredients:

  • ¾ cup sugar
  • ½ cup tablea powder or cocoa powder or mixed
  • ¼ cup flour
  • 1 cup evaporated milk
  • 1 tbsp butter, unsalted

Instructions:

  1. In another saucepan, mix all ingredients (except butter) until no lumps.
  2. Cook in a low fire while constantly stirring until desired consistency is achieved.
  3. Just before removing the pan from the fire, add in 1 tbsp of butter.
  4. Cool before frosting the cake.

To assemble the cake:

  1. Take the bottom layer of your cake to your work surface/turning table.
  2. Add custard filling on top of the bottom layer and evenly spread.
  3. Top the custard filling with the second and last layer of the cake.
  4. Cover the cake with the chocolate frosting. The cake can be fully covered or make it as a naked cake, depending on how you like it.

Notes:

Please make sure to warm your evaporated milk. I had mine straight from the store to the bowl. My batter was full of lumps. 

You can make your cake the night before frosting and filling. Do not stack them or they will be difficult to separate. Place them on a separate plate and cover with plastic wrap. Just make sure to cool them completely before covering. Keep them at room temperature. 

Source recipe: Chocolate Tablea Cake

name2

twitter pinterest instagram

Also sharing at

21 thoughts on “Chocolate Tablea Cake

  1. You have nothing to be dissapointed about. I love your cake 🙂 It looks homemade and that’s what I like best about desserts 😉 I’d rather have a homemade one than a storebought one that looks exactly the same as all the others 🙂 It sounds so delicious! Perfect celebration cake if you ask me *sneaks away with a big slice* ❤
    Oh and congratulations on the 4 years of course!

    1. Thank you, Sarah. It is just disappointing that my imagination of the outcome is very far from the reality. 😀 But I am contented now and happy because of your lovely comment. I am very happy to know you. ❤

  2. That filling looks very yummy Jhuls. Happy Blogiversary, it’s been great following you and your awesome blog all these years ❤

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

