Ube Ensaymada

Filipino sweet bread with ube jam filling, topped with butter or margarine and sugar – perfect for your coffee

When you have tried making your own Ube Jam, making Ube Ensaymada is a must. Well, at least for me.

Ensaymada is a Filipino sweet bread with ube jam filling. It is in spiral form with margarine (or butter) and sugar topping. Other variations use buttercream for topping and with lots of cheese. I love my Ensaymada with just margarine and sugar topping just what my Mom used to take home when coming home from work. We enjoy Ensaymada with coffee or soda.

Ensaymada can be made without filling, but I enjoy it with filling. Ube Ensaymada is made by dividing the whole dough into individual or smaller portions. Each is flattened to add the ube jam filling and rolled into a log (like what you’d do with cinnamon rolls). Don’t you go greedy on the ube jam filling – they’ll be ruining your logs! The log is shaped into a spiral. You now wait for the shaped dough to double in size and you’re ready to bake. The baked Ensaymadas, when lightly cooled down, are brushed with softened butter and top with white sugar. You can also use margarine instead of butter for the topping – that’s what I know some bakeries use.

These are so good! The bread is soft. The ube jam filling is perfect and that butter and sugar topping is amazing! The only thing you have to keep in mind – if you’ll top all of the baked ensaymada with butter and sugar, it is best to consume them the same day. The bread stayed soft until the next day, but the butter and sugar mixture slightly melted. In this case, margarine is my best choice coz the margarine I use holds its shape. I just didn’t have margarine during this time. I enjoyed these with black coffee – ahhhh, they were really delicious!

I hope you’ll have a chance to try and make these. I am sharing these with my buddies at Fiesta Friday # 197. Thank you to our ladies this week Laurena, Trupti and Angie. Happy Fiesta Friday, lovely people, and have a fantastic weekend!

Ube Ensaymada

  • Difficulty: Intermediate
  • Print

Ingredients:

For the dough:

  • 5 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 1/2 tsp instant yeast
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup milk, warm (120°F – 130°F)
  • 1 egg yolk, for egg wash

For the filling:

For the topping:

  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1/3 cup white sugar

Instructions:

For the dough & filling:

  1. In the bowl of your stand mixer with dough hook attachment, combine 4 1/2 cups flour, instant yeast, sugar and salt.
  2. With the motor running on low speed, add in melted butter, eggs and warm milk.
  3. Increase the speed to medium. When the dough is slowly coming together (about 5 minutes), add in the remaining 1/2 cup flour. (This is to ensure that you don’t add too much flour to your dough that will give you a dense bread.)
  4. Let knead for 7-10 minutes or until dough forms into a ball or not sticky. (Sometimes, you don’t get the dough to shape into a ball. When the dough is not sticky, it is ready.)
  5. Form the dough into a ball and transfer to a lightly oiled bowl. Cover with cling wrap or towel and keep in a warm place for one hour or until doubled in size.
  6. Meanwhile, you can now make your filling. Warm up your ube jam in a microwave to soften up a bit, about 30 seconds. Add in butter and mix until smooth. Set aside until ready to use.
  7. When the dough has doubled in size, take it to your highly floured work surface.
  8. Divide the dough weighing 60 grams each. (I had 20 balls x 60 grams)
  9. Flatten each with a rolling pin until you form a long cylindrical shape (about 7-8 inches long). Place ube jam-butter mixture (like you are making cinnamon rolls) and roll from the long part of the dough until you form a rope. Seal the edges by pinching them together. Shape your rope into coils, making sure to tuck the end underneath.
  10. Place on parchment-lined baking sheets, loosely cover with a towel and let rise again until doubled in size, about 45 minutes.
  11. Preheat the oven to 350 F.
  12. When ready, brush the top of the dough with egg wash.
  13. Bake for 15 minutes, rotating the pan halfway through baking.
  14. Let the ensaymada cool down a bit then transfer to a wire rack.

For the topping:

  1. In a bowl, spacious enough to fit the ensaymada, add in sugar.
  2. Brush the cooled ensaymada with softened butter (or margarine) and dunk the top on the white sugar to coat the top. You can also sprinkle the white sugar instead.

Note: Ensaymada is delicious until the next day, but they won’t be as soft. If planning to keep some for later, leave them without the topping coz the topping will somehow melt. You can heat the leftover (without topping) in a preheated oven for about 5 minutes. Let them cool down a bit before adding topping. You can also reheat using a microwave for 15 seconds, making sure to consume immediately.

Dough recipe is from Panlasang Pinoy

name2

twitter pinterest instagram

Also sharing at

 

 

 

26 thoughts on “Ube Ensaymada

  1. Oooh I need to make the jam then there are so many things to make with it! Thank you for sharing with #CookBlogShare x

  2. I haven’t tried this, Jhuls, but I’ve tried mamon and it’s very good! Very, very good! But I was in California the last I had it. I don’t think I can find mamon here, or ensaymada, which I think must be even tastier. On a good note, I’ve seen frozen ube. I’m going to wait for your ube jam recipe first before buying any, hint hint 🙂

  3. Never heard of ube jam (I did a little research on the internet) and what a beautiful color of purple. It looks so good in your rolls. I don’t recall seeing purple yams here but I am sure I can at least order the jam. What a nice recipe to share with FF.

  4. Ube! I’ve recently discovered we can get it in my local halal shop but I’ve yet to try it! You’ve convinced me – it’s on the shopping list! 🙂 These look so delicious Jhuls and all so picture perfect! I’m convinced I can smell them through my screen! Thanks so much for sharing at Fiesta Friday 🙂 x

  5. I’ve been looking for something that I can make to bring into work for my team in the morning, these look perfect! I’m saving this to try this weekend 😀

  6. That’s a lovely looking bread and I see you are getting creative with Ube 🙂 you have to stop making me jealous that I cant find it here Jhuls… hehee.. Just kidding! thanks for bringing it to FF.

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

