Chocolate Espresso Scones

I have espresso powder in my kitchen shelf and I don’t know what to do with it aside to use it in baking. Honestly, I just bought it for baking. I think I spent a half day searching for baked goodies with espresso powder. I found many but I decided to try this recipe as I was not aware what a scone is. Through the help of Google, I found out that a scone is a quick bread – usually flaky on the outside but little soft on the inside. Since I wanted to try something new, I gave this one a shot.

thenotsocreativecook.wordpress.com-ChocolateEspressoScones

Chocolate Espresso Scones Recipe

Ingredients

2 1/4 cup flour
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/3 cup sugar
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 Tbsp espresso powder
6 Tbsp cold butter, cut in chunks
1 egg
1/2  cup buttermilk plus more if needed
1 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 cups semi sweet mini chips

for the glaze:
1 cup confectioner’s sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
milk or cream to thin

Instructions

 1) Oven to 400

2) In the bowl of a food processor put the dry ingredients and pulse to combine.

3) Add in the chunks of cold butter and pulse several times until the mixture is crumbly.

4) Pour the buttermilk into a measuring cup and then add the egg and vanilla and blend it together with a fork or whisk.

5) While the machine is running pour the liquid in in a steady stream until the dough comes together.  If the dough seems too crumbly and dry, add a little more buttermilk.

6) Mix in the mini chips, just to evenly distribute them.

7) Turn the dough out onto a floured surface and bring it all together, kneading a couple of times if necessary.  Lightly pat into an 8 or 9 inch round.

8) Cut the disk into 6 or 8 triangles and transfer them to a parchment or silpat lined baking pan.

9) Bake for about 15 minutes. Cool on a rack.

10) For the glaze, add the vanilla and just a tablespoon or two of milk or cream to the sugar and stir well.  Add more milk a teaspoon at a time until you have a thick glaze.

11) When the scones are completely cool, drizzle the glaze over them.

The scones were yummy but I should have added more buttermilk. The glaze made it more delicious. After I took the photo above, I put additional glaze all over the scones. :)

Notes:

  • If food processor is not available, you can just use a pastry blender.
  • The given baking time is only a guide. The time may vary depending on your oven.
  • I used white chocolate chips; you could use any mini chips you want… I think.
20 thoughts on “Chocolate Espresso Scones

  1. These look delicious! I have never had a “chocolate” scone before let alone the add luxury of espresso.
    I never use instant espresso; do you think I could brew fresh espresso and cut back the liquid equivalent of the buttermilk?
    (Eg. Add 2 oz espresso / subtract 2oz buttermilk)

    • Oh! I am really not 100% sure. But I don’t think there’s a harm on that. I mean, I’ve read cakes and other pastries that use brewed espresso in place of buttermilk/milk. Uhm, would you send me a comment if you do try them? I would love to know. :)

  2. Pingback: Blog of the Year 2013 Award | More Food, Please

  3. Pingback: Thank you, 2013! | thenotsocreativecook

  4. Pingback: Featured: TasteSpotting | thenotsocreativecook

Leave a Reply

