Kung Pao Beef

A spicy Chinese beef dish with peanuts, broccoli and carrots. Perfect for your Chinese food cravings. Best served with white rice.

thenotsocreativecook-KungPaoBeef2Let me ask you,

If you are an organized person at home, can you be the same at your workplace?

I don’t think I am good at organizing stuffs, but at least I am trying. At workplace? It depends upon how my colleagues behave or my boss treats me. See, most of the times, I keep our workplace in order, but when a colleague or your boss doesn’t see what you are doing, you lose interest in doing the same thing over and over again. As an employee, of course, you need a ‘tap on the back’ when you feel that you deserve it. Oh, well – that’s the life of an employee who doesn’t want to voice out what she feels.

thenotsocreativecook-KungPaoBeefBut I am a blogger who knows what she wants and as of this moment, I want to eat something Chinese. Apart from Orange Chicken and Sweet and Sour Chicken, I also love Kung Pao Beef. What I don’t like when eating in a Chinese fast-food chain is that the food is too oily that most of the times, it gives me a migraine. However, there are times that what I want from their food is the oil. This girl doesn’t know what exactly she wants, yeah? πŸ˜€ Well, you can’t be certain with foods all the time. πŸ˜›

Maybe some of you wants to eat something Chinese today, so here I am satisfying your craving, or maybe ONE of your cravings. πŸ˜€

Kung Pao Beef

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:thenotsocreativecook-KungPaoBeef2

  • 1 pound beef strips
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 tbspΒ  Cornstarch
  • 4 tbsp peanut oil, divided
  • 1/2 cup skinless roasted peanuts
  • 5 dried red chili peppers
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp ginger
  • 2 cups broccoli heads, separated
  • 1 carrot, sliced

Sauce:

  • 1 tsp chili paste
  • 2 tbsp dark soy sauce
  • 1 tsp rice vinegar
  • 1 tsp Sugar
  • 1/4 chicken broth
  • 1 tsp cornstarch
  • 1 tsp sesame oil

Directions:

  1. Slice the beef thinly and against the grain.
  2. Combine egg white, salt, and cornstarch then mix with beef. Set aside.
  3. Mix all sauce ingredients. Set aside.
  4. Add 2 tablespoons of peanut oil to heated wok/pan and stir-fry the beef until no pink is visible. You can also fry beef in batches. Remove the beef from the wok/pan and transfer to a bowl/container. Set aside.
  5. Add the remaining 2 tbsp of peanut oil. Stir-fry chili peppers and peanuts until peppers turn dark. Take the peppers and peanuts with a slotted spoon and transfer to the beef bowl.
  6. Take the wok from the heat and mix in garlic and ginger.
  7. Place wok back on heat, add carrots and broccoli.
  8. Return the beef back to the wok with vegetables. Stir-fry for about a minute.
  9. Pour in the sauce mixture and stir-fry to combine all ingredients.
  10. Serve with white rice.

I hope you enjoy this dish. Be full and happy partying. πŸ˜‰

And ohhh, advance greetings to Michelle for her birthday on the 29th. I’ve learned that she has something for us. πŸ˜€

name2

Find me on Instagram, Twitter, Pinterest, Google+ and Facebook.


I am taking this dish at Fiesta Friday, hosted by the Amazing A. πŸ˜€ Thank you, Angie, and co-hosts.

I am also sharing dish yummy dish at

Recipe of the Week

Sweet & Savoury Sunday

Β Showcase Your Talent Thursday

75 thoughts on “Kung Pao Beef

  1. I had not eaten takeaway Chinese in over a decade and had a major craving recently… Lets just say the order was a complete fail – so bland and tasteless it mostly ended up in the bin! I have resorted to making my own again – much tastier if a bit less authentic! Your kung-pao-beef is making me hungry! Thanks for linking to #CookBlogShare

    1. Takeaway foods are mostly full of salt and oil. But I do admit that I love it though. πŸ˜€ I just had Chinese takeaway the last weekend and it was still amazing. There are times that you gotta make your own, too. πŸ™‚

  2. I’ve started eating red meat again after a long time not (had crazy cravings and discovered I was anemic) so this is going to be made and soon. Thanks for linking up to #tastytuesdays

  3. Oh my goodness gracious, this sounds amazing! I love kung pao anything, pinning to try. Thanks for sharing at What’d You Do This Weekend? I hope you will join us again this Monday!

  4. Oh, Jhuls, you have outdone yourself – I cannot wait to try this recipe! And you made it look so mouthwatering. You can’t get Chinese food of this caliber any place I know!

      1. Jhuls, I was so inspired that last night0 I made this with chicken since I didn’t have any beef in the house (and it was Good Friday) and it was absolutely excellent! My son came home and pretty much finished it off – I was wanting some left over for today, but no luck there!

        1. Hmm, you give me an idea to make a chicken version. πŸ˜€ Thanks a lot for trying this out and I am so very much happy that you and your son liked it. ❀

  5. No, no I’m a big Fan of rice and I’m addicted to P.F.Changs restaurant here πŸ˜€ I don’t cook too much rice at home but trust me outside, this is what we order all the time ❀

  6. Great Kung Pao dish Jhuls! The beef looks so tender and juicy! For many years the only dish related to Kung Pao I’ve ever had is Kung Pao Chicken. Now the Kung Pao family expands! You can also give a short to Kung Pao Tofu πŸ™‚

  7. Oh I love Kung pao too Jhuls!! It’s one of my favourite chinese meals to eat! πŸ™‚ I get those cravings too… mostly for east asian food too! How funny is that?? πŸ™‚
    Your Kung Pao looks beautiful and so yummy that I might have to make some this weekend! πŸ™‚

    1. I really love Chinese dishes. I could eat Chinese dishes everyday. πŸ˜€ My first favorite is Orange Chicken, what’s yours? I think that would be my next Chinese dish project. πŸ˜€

  8. I totally understand your situation. We all like to be appreciated.
    I too crave for Chinese food from time to time and don’t like to eat from outside due to the high oil levels! This looks nice and easy! Goes into my ” to try list”. I will of course use chicken instead of beef as I don’t eat red meat! Happy FF!

    1. I also love Kung Pao Chicken and I am sure your chicken version would be as delicious as the beef. πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by, Su. xx

  9. I DID have a Chinese craving Jhuls, so thank you for that! Wow does this look so juicy and saucy and just darn GOOD. I can almost taste it through the screen…but sadly, almost doesn’t count lol

    Happy FF πŸ™‚

  10. This dish looks AMAZING! I’ll definitely be making it soon. Thanks so much for bringing it to the party! πŸ™‚

  11. Hi Jhuls – sorry that you are not getting the recognition that you deserve at work. At least here in blogland, we really appreciate you – from your handy hacks to introducing new bloggers. Your amazing sweet dishes and your gorgeous savoury ones – we love them all!! This one looks particularly mouth watering and would satisfy all sorts of cravings at once! I will have a large portion please!! Thanks for bringing it to the table at Angie’s – Happy Fiesta Friday!!

    1. I know, Selma. I am happy to be a part of this wonderful community with such amazing people just like yourself. Thank you, Selma. And I will gladly give you a large portion of this. πŸ˜€ Thanks for co-hosting again. (I missed co-hosting with you!) Hugs! πŸ™‚

    1. Haha, for a messy person like us? It is indeed hard to be organized. I missed you, friend Lori. ❀ You are doing good with what keeps you busy and happy these days. πŸ™‚

  12. This looks awesome Jhuls! I had kung pao chicken when I ordered chinese take away last and it was really yummy, but I guess they had pineapple in the sauce because I end up with a swollen mouth and tongue, oops! Gotta try your version, no pineapple in site!!

    As for organisation, in my previous jobs I was very organised – since I did schedules and organised everybody else I kind of had to be! But now? Not so much! You saw my filing system for unposted recipes on instagram afterall haha

    Thank you for the birthday wishes πŸ˜€

    1. Oh, yeah… you are the one who can’t eat anything with pineapples. How come you have allergy? 😦
      The good thing is we do try our best to be organized, it just doesn’t work 100%. πŸ˜€

  13. I’m organized at work, but not at home! It’s an actual problem. I end up having to do a massive cleanup every week at home. And, then, everything is good. Now, your kung pal beef looks absolutely scrumptious. Thank you for bringing it to FF and have a wonderful weekend! πŸ™‚

    1. I try my best to be organized but when you have lots of stuffs and you can’t fit them anywhere, that’s a problem. 😐 Thanks a lot, Kaila. xx

    1. Oh, Angie. I’d be happier if I live next to you so I could enjoy your unique and yummy foods. πŸ˜€ Thanks, Angie. I wish you an amazing day! Hugs!

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

