King Fish in Turmeric and Coconut Milk

This dish is very popular in our family. If not using king fish, we use a low-priced fish. The taste is just the same, but using king fish is much easier when eating. πŸ˜€

King Fish in Turmeric & Coconut Milk

This dish uses the spice paste called ‘Sakurab’ which I have mentioned multiple times (for my old readers) that this comes from a root vegetable with the same family as the spring onions. The root vegetable used in this dish has stonger taste and smell compared to spring onions and they are have mostly the white part rather than the green. It is mixed with ginger and red chilis to finish the paste.Β Here’s how it looks:

'Palapa' or 'Sakurab'
‘Palapa’ or ‘Sakurab’

This paste was made by my Aunt September last year (yeah, this paste has a long-life). She was one of my Aunts who was closest to our family. She made this especially for me. So you could say that this dish is quite special to me. We haven’t seen each other for seven years until last year. She passed away early this year. Like my Mom, she will always be special to me.

King Fish in Turmeric and Coconut Milk

Ingredients:

  • 4 slices of king fish, cleaned and washed
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1 cup coconut cream
  • 1 1/2 tbsp of ‘sakurab/palapa’ paste
  • 1 tomato, sliced
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • spring onions, for garnish
  • salt, to taste

Β 

Instructions:

  1. In a cooking pot, saute onions and tomatoes in medium heat. Add the ‘sakurab/palapa’ paste.
  2. Add fish andΒ coconut milk. Cook for 7 minutes.
  3. Add coconut cream. Let it boil for a few minutes. Add salt to taste. Turn off the heat.
  4. Add spring onions.
  5. Serve with white rice.

Notes:

Canned coconut milk/cream can be used.

If using fresh grated coconut, follow these steps:

Prepare 3 bowls and strainer.

Bowl 1: put 2 cups of grated coconut and 1 cup water. Squeeze, squeeze, squeeze until you get a very beautiful coconut cream.

Get Bowl 2, top with the strainer, pour the coconut together with the another 1 cup of water and squeeze until the coconut is dry. Set aside. Take note to save the coconut.
Now, you have the used grated coconut. Go back to Bowl 1 and put the used grated coconut and add 1 cup water and again, squeeze, squeeze, squeeze…

Get Bowl 3, top with the strainer, pour the coconut together with the coconut milk and squeeze until the coconut is dry.
Now, you can throw the used grated coconut.

Clearly, you have the coconut cream and milk on a separate bowls. Set them aside until ready to use.

Palapa or Sakurab paste can be substituted:

You will need:

  • Β½ cup white part of spring onion, sliced
  • ΒΌ cup chopped ginger
  • 2-3 bird’s eye chili (or add more if you want screaming spicy)

Put the ingredients for palapa in a food processor and pulse for 1 or 2 seconds. (Not longer than that because you are not making it to a full paste-like spices.) You can also use mortar and pestle for this or you can put them in a ziplock bag and pound. Set aside until ready to use.

King Fish in Turmeric & Coconut Milk 2

This dish is best paired with rice. I don’t know the right words to describe the dish except that this is so tasty and will always be a favorite of mine.

I hope you enjoy all enjoy this dish. Have a lovely weekend to all. πŸ™‚

name2

twitterΒ pinterestΒ instagramΒ googleplusΒ facebook

I am sharing this at Fiesta Friday #87, hosted by Angie.Β For this week, we are all co-hosts. So you know what to do when the party ends, come back and vote for your favorite entries. Meanwhile, click the link above to join the party. Have fun! πŸ˜‰


I am also sharing this flavorful dish at

Recipe of the Week | Happiness is Homemade | What’d You Do This Weekend? | Melt in Your Mouth Monday |Β Showcase Your Talent Thursday | Foodie Friends Friday | Foodie FriDIY | Kitchen Fun and Crafty Friday | Saucy Saturdays |Β Munching Mondays |

47 thoughts on “King Fish in Turmeric and Coconut Milk

  1. I’m in love with the thought of making that palapa paste! I can see me using it on everything! My family is from the bahamas and we eat boiled fish for breakfast. It’s a soup with potatoes and onions. But the best part is a hot sauce called Old Sour. It’s made from sour orange juice, lime juice and Bahamian bird peppers. This reminds me of that and brings back so many memories! I still have a jar in my fridge because it lasts forever and I use it on my fish! Thanks for sharing with Saucy Saturdays!

    1. Ohhh! Fish for breakfast sounds amazing! πŸ˜€ I would love to try that one day. The palapa paste seems like to last forever as well. Awesome, isn’t it?? Thanks a lot for stopping by. I hope you are having a fantastic time. πŸ™‚ xx

    1. Hi, Miss Dinie. Hmm, I don’t think you can find Sakurab in the Chinese store as it is only well-known and widely used in the province areas in the Philippines. But I have mentioned on how to make substitute for that. Also in the notes. πŸ˜‰ Thanks for stopping by and showing interest in a spice paste that is so dear to me. Have a lovely time. xx

  2. Oh wow this looks and sounds so delicious! I love using coconut products and I can just imagine how good this dish is x #recipeoftheweek

    1. Ooops! That’s embarrassing. 😦 Sorry for that, Liz. I’ve written this post when I was at the airport and completely forgot to edit that part. Thank you so much for noticing and for letting me know. It’s now updated, I guess. πŸ˜€ If you can’t see beef and potatoes, then it’s done. πŸ™‚

  3. I’m sorry for your loss Jhuls. I know what its like to have an aunt that’s very close to you. I have an aunt who lived with my family for a while from the time I was born and I feel like she’s my second mom. This recipe looks incredible, the broth sounds so delicious and comforting.

    1. She’s closer to my Mom and to my brother, but she had extended so much help to our family… So yeah, she was like a second Mom to us. Thank you for sharing your story, too. And thanks for stopping by. Have a lovely week and happy FF! πŸ™‚

  4. Jhuls, I’m so glad that you are able to continue to enjoy this paste even after your aunt’s passing. It’s a great way to keep her close to you, and it sounds like she really meant a lot to you. I’m so sorry for your loss as well. On a brighter note, this dish looks fantastic. I love the bright colors and all the flavors. Happy FF, and I hope you have a fabulous weekend! πŸ™‚

    1. She was one of the aunts who took care of me when I was young and she was very close to us. She was there when my Mom needed advice or any help. Ahhh! They were really close. I miss them both. 😦 Anyway… thank you, Kaila! Glad you liked the dish. Hope you are having a good time. Happy FF! xx

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

