{Versions & Verdicts} Linda’s Chorba M’katfa (Red Soup with Vermicelli)

A hearty soup full of tomato and coriander goodness; veggies to add texture. It’s filling, delicious and it’s healthy. 

Chorba M'katfa - TNSCC 1

Hi, Linda! Surprise! 😀 It’s your second time here in V&V! I hope you like my post!

****

I have mentioned before that I shy away from trying foods from different cultures as I am scared not to get things right the way they should be. But finally, I started exploring.

Linda is one of the blogging friends who inspires me a lot. She is just too good to help me with anything I don’t know or anything which I am confused about. This is not the first time I am featuring her for V&V and I am sure this will not be the last. I have tried some of her recipes, being Batata Koucha as the first one. It was really delicious and it was also one of my cousin’s favorite beef dishes. She has so many mouth-watering recipes that I want to try. Hmmm… 😀

I received Dioul sheets from a lovely friend and I knew that was the right time to use them.

IMK, Sept 2015 7

Dioul sheets are very thin sheets made with semolina. They are very thin, yet they are not as sensitive as Filo sheets. They are super, super crunchy and oh so good!

IMK, Sept 2015 8

Linda mentioned in her one of her posts about this Chorba being paired with Bourek. So, to complete the Algerian experience, I also made Bourek to pair with the delicious Chorba.

Bourek - TNSCC 3

The Boureks were so good. In fact, I used all the Dioul sheets I received for Boureks. They are really tempting and very hard to resist!

Now, back to the Chorba.

The Chorba screams comfort! It was so delicious and filling. The house smelled really amazing with all that flavors cooking in. I didn’t know I’d love the smell of coriander that much! It was just so wonderful. I just can’t put everything into words – you just have to try this yourself. 😛

Chorba M'katfa - TNSCC 2

Chorba M’katfa (Red Soup with Vermicelli)

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup white onion, chopped
  • A bunch of fresh coriander
  • 1 tbsp paprika
  • 1 liter of water
  • 1 tsp Harissa paste
  • 100g chickpeas, soaked overnight
  • 1 cup zucchini, chopped into small pieces
  • 500g canned peeled plum tomato, canned
  • 50g fine vermicelli
  • Cooking oil
  • Fresh coriander leaves, to granish
  • 1 lemon, to drizzle
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Instructions:

  1. In a blender, puree your canned tomatoes. Set aside.
  2. In a large pot with medium heat, add about 3 tbsp of cooking oil (I used sunflower oil).
  3. Add harissa, paprika and chopped coriander. Stir to cook for about 5 minutes.
  4. Add in 1 liter of water.
  5. Drain and rinse the soaked chickpeas, add them in. Also add in chopped zucchini.
  6. Add in the pureed tomatoes. Mix to incorporate.
  7. Cover the pot and cook for about 40 minutes.
  8. Remove the pan from the heat and add in the vermicelli.
  9. Set aside for about 20-30 minutes or until the vermicelli is cooked.
  10. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  11. Serve the soup hot into the bowls, sprinkle with a few leaves of coriander and drizzle with a little of lemon juice.

Linda used artichoke hearts and green peas. You can see her recipe here: Chorba M’katfa, Red Soup with Vermicelli by Linda @ La Petite Paniére

This Chorba is best paired with Bourek. You can find the recipe here.

Note: If you feel that your soup is too thick, you can add water little at a time.

Chorba M'katfa - TNSCC 3

I hope my friends at Fiesta Friday #102 will love this delicious Chorba and Bourek. Thanks to our dear Angie and to our amazing co-hosts, Elaine and Julie. Hugs to you for doing a great job!

Wishing you a day full of smiles! 😀 😀 😀 And happy weekend!

****

I am also sharing this at Saucy Saturdays | Happiness is Homemade | Totally Terrific Tuesday | Turn It Up Tuesday | What’s for Dinner | Throwback Thursday |  Melt in Your Mouth Monday | Recipe of the Week | Turn It Up TuesdayLou Lou Girls Fabulous Party | Cook Blog Share | Cook Once, Eat Twice | Foodie Friends Friday Daily Dish | Foodie FriDIYTickle My Tastebuds Tuesday |

****

Featured at: Turn It Up Tuesday Link Party #123 | Cook Blog Share 

name2

twitter pinterest instagram googleplus facebook

 

69 thoughts on “{Versions & Verdicts} Linda’s Chorba M’katfa (Red Soup with Vermicelli)

  1. Juhls, this looks so good and talk about comfort food! I have become a bit of a coriander addict but I didn’t really care for it much when I was younger. There is something magical about it. I wish I were there to try this deliciousness!

    And thanks for bringing this by Throwback Thursday, too! We hope to see you next week, and be sure to follow our Pinterest!

    Mollie

  2. This soup sounds so comforting and delicious, it reminds me of a Harira that I make, I will have to give your version a try! Thanks for sharing at What’d You Do This Weekend?!

    1. I am so happy to know that you loved these, Sarah! The soup and the Boureks taste really fabulous! I must say that they are two of my favorites now! 😀

  3. my mouth is seriously watering. you had me at coriander then you went all harissa on me and i almost passed out. can not WAIT to try this. i need a friend that gives me exotic food gifts like those sheets!!!! Thanks for linking up at Saucy Saturdays.

    1. I am so thrilled that you liked what you see, Christine. I hope you let me know when you try this recipe. Thank you for stopping by and I wish you a fab weekend. 🙂

  4. Hi Jhuls! I actually holding a challenge at the end of every month..I’ll be really happy if you could judge this month’s challenge..There are 12 recipes that will be linked in…If you are free and also interested please let me know..

    1. Hi, Lina. That sounds fun and it will be an honor… so I say YES! 😀 Thank you so much for thinking of me. And I want to know about that challenge, too! Now, let’s sit down and talk about it! 😀

      1. Hi Jhuls! Thank you so much for accepting my invite..So this is the first month of the recipe challenge. I had listed out 12 rare recipes and asked other food bloggers to choose one, make it and share their experience and the recipe. To connect everyone together I’ll be making a post on 24th with a linking tool which will be open until the 31st of Jan. So they will be linking in their posts. I wanted you to judge those posts and pick out the three outstanding recipes. I would want to announce the results by the 2nd week of Feb. That’s pretty much it. I really liked the way you comment on certain posts so I thought you would make an excellent judge for my very first challenge:) https://lins239.wordpress.com/2016/01/01/who-has-taken-what-and-what-is-remaining/ this link lists the participating food blogs and which recipe they have chosen. Check it out when your free..

    1. Thank you for your invitation, Helen. I have linked up two recipes – two of my recent favorites, I must say. 😀 Thanks for stopping by as well. Have a lovely week!

  5. Thanks for two great recipes, and for introducing me to these dioul sheets. I hope to be able to find some! Any clues as to what kind of shop might carry them?

    1. If I am not mistaken, they are also called Brick Doughs. According to my friend, they are on sale in Montreal. As to the shop, I am not sure about that. Maybe they can be found in any French groceries? Thanks, Hilda.

  6. I love this chorba recipe Jhuls. I remember seeing it when Linda posted to before. And I think I am intrigued by the Boureks even more! I have never seen Dioul sheets before and now need to look for them! These two together look like a great combination!

    1. They are indeed a good combination. Since I finished my Diouls sheets, I need to find them as well, too. 😀 Or I might eat the soup with a toasted bread if I can’t find some.

  7. Wow Jhuls! Love both those dishes you’ve brought to the fiesta. I like that the dough is not as bad as the Filo sheets. That soup looks amazing too, I love the addition of the vermicelli and that red color is so extra vibrant in the soup. Both those must have gone down so well together. Linda is an amazing cook too, as are you Jhuls. Happy Fiesta Friday 🙂

    1. Thank you for your kind words, Loretta. Both dishes were really good. I feel that I want to make them again, but I ran out of Dioul sheets. 😦 Maybe I’ll take the soup alone. And I agree with you about Linda – she’s an amazing cook! 😀 Happy FF102!

  8. Wow Jhuls, thank you so much for trying my recipes and for sharing too. You did an amazing work and I’m feel so honored today. Thanks a lot for your trust and confidence. You’re a very keen student 😀 Have a wonderful weekend! 🙂 xxxx

    1. I think I’ll convert myself into Algerian, Linda! 😀 Thank you so much for sharing those amazing recipes. And I am really happy that you liked my version. I hope you are having a lovely time. x

  9. This soup definitely screams comfort food! Very intrigued with the Boureks. I’ve never heard of them but can definitely see a lot of dishes you could use them with. So happy you shared with FF! Have a wonderful weekend Jhuls.

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts...

